We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking on the outside, but..............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Mission Bay
Ranked #101 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Whittier, United States
1 review
“Nice looking on the outside, but..............”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is attractive but the room itself was lacking. The pull-out drawer was broken. There was a dried contact in the cradle of the phone and the TV was "snowy" on most every channel. One person said it was fixed and another said it was a Time Warner problem & wouldn't be fixed anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good Morning,

I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am sorry to hear that the t.v was snowy for some of the channels during your stay here with us, we had an issue with our cable provider and it has been fixed, sorry for the inconvenience. If you have a moment I would like to know which room you stayed in so we can have our maintenance team repair the broken drawer you mention.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    232
    109
    35
    26
See reviews for
284
135
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Pros: Best western Mission Bay San Deigo is a decent hotel. The location and service is good. The complimentary continental breakfast is good too. The hotel has a huge parking lot, which is a plus. Cons: i found a big cockroach in the bathroom. The carpets were dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Abid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the challenges you experience during your stay. If you have a moment I would love to know which room number you stayed in so we can take care of the issue. We are currently in the process of replacing the carpets, because of guest comments like yours. Thank you.

Thank you so much for your compliments to our hotel, location, parking and breakfast. Here at the Best Western Mission Bay, we aim to make every guest stay a great experience and I will use your feedback to verify our rooms are in full working order.

When you return to San Diego, please feel free to contact me directly for all of your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 x 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Found a brown recluse looking spider in the bathroom. Remote did not work. Huge gap under the door to the out side. Noise from the laundry room next door started early. No parking near the room. Blah, blah, blah, blah. This is making me use up 200 characters to do this review. I like short and sweet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

I am sincerely sorry for the maintenance issue you experience during your stay. If you have a moment I would love to know which room you stayed in so we have the opportunity to fix the problem right away.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. I am confident that if given another chance we will be able to show you a wonderful hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz.

Thank you again for your review.

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I feel the location is not so convenient close to shopping mall and restaurants. Because we do not have a private car, it would cost us $20 go to restaurant for dinner. The bus #105 can take us to OLd Town. I really enjoyed the breakfast, which save 3 of us some money. Besides, the charged of room rate is quite reasonable compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sports101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am happy to know you were happy with our breakfast and rooms. Though our property is not next to a shopping mall, we are within walking distance to shopping center and restaurants. We also have public transportation that will take you a transit station.

We hope you come back and stay with us again. If you need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff were for the most part, outstanding, especially the buffet breakfast lady. She treated my 4 year old granddaughter very well and even though she was very busy, she was very nice. The room was ok for the price and not far from all the usual tourist sites. If you just need a clean bed and room with the free buffet breakfast, this will work.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank bisonrichard46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Good Afternoon,

I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am happy to know you had a great stay and were happy with our location, room and breakfast.

Thank you so much for your compliments to our Breakfast staff. Here at the Best Western Mission Bay, we strive to deliver superior customer care and clean room and I'm glad we were able to provide that for you.

When you return to San Diego area, please feel free to contact me directly for your reservation needs. You can reach me at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Thank you again for your review,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I got a king size bed room. It was just me so I had plenty of space. The wifi was fine and I had a corner room. Climate control was easy, nice shower, powerful toilet, everything clean. I stayed 2 nights, so I left a $3 dollar tip for the 1st full day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ariel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am happy to know you had a wonderful stay and were happy with our amenities, location and cleanliness of our rooms.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon! If I can provide with any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Sincerely,

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I really like this hotel....it is close to everything (ie. mission bay, sea world, old town, little italy, the airport, downtown, etc...). It is also right off the freeway which is convenient. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is very good. The staff is also kind. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 641shellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mission Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us here at the Best Western Mission Bay

I am happy to see that you were thrilled with the room cleanliness, location, breakfast and staff. Thank you so much for your compliments to our staff, I’m glad everyone was friendly and helpful. Here at the Best Western Mission Bay, we strive to deliver superior customer care and intend to do that through our excellent team members.

Please let me know when you return to San Diego, as I would be happy to assist you with reservations. I can be reached at 619-275-5700 ext 393 or Lprado@hotelpros.biz

Thank you again for your review!

Leidy Prado
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#139 of 279 in San Diego
1,473 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mission Bay

Property: Best Western Mission Bay
Address: 2575 Clairemont Dr, San Diego, CA 92117-6602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mission Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Mission Bay is a family-oriented, pet-friendly property centrally located in the heart of San Diego, just minutes away from all San Diego has to offer. We are a SeaWorld Vacations Preferred Partner hotel and our rooms feature soothing decor, quality furnishings, and modern amenities for entertainment, business, and traveling convenience. With Spanish-Mission inspired architecture and contemporary style, the Best Western Mission Bay’s spacious accommodations are within walking distance of beautiful Mission Bay. Relax on San Diego’s 70 miles of beautiful sandy beaches, enjoy an invigorating sail, explore Mission Bay’s 14 miles of peaceful paths, go deep sea fishing, play a round of golf or view a spectacular sunset. Our 99 room hotel delivers an inviting mix of warm, Southern California ambiance and modern efficiency. Enjoy lifestyle enhancing services and amenities – Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High-Speed Internet, Fitness Center, Business Center, Cable TV with HBO Programming, Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Spa, Activity Desk and Free Parking. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker, iron and board, AM/FM alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. With easy access to all attractions, visit SeaWorld San Diego, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Old Town San Diego, the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, downtown San Diego, and Seaport Village. Watch the Padres take the field at nearby Petco Park, or see the Chargers play at Qualcomm Stadium. Attend an event at the San Diego Convention Center, soak up the sun and surf at Pacific Beach and Mission Beach, take a shopping trip to Tijuana, Mexico, or take a sail from one of the many marinas along the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing