We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe and Scarey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Ranked #234 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Unsavory neighborhood,nudie bars etc...
Unclean walkways.
Food only soso.
Felt unsafe in parking lot.
Someone tried to enter our room around 7:00 A.M. Was not room service, the man tried to enter from the sliding glass patio door.
A definate lack of security.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BarneyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

I just recently returned from a 10 day trip to CA. We flew into San Diego and spent our first night at the Days Inn. I was looking for a reasonably priced suite because we have 4 kids. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable! It was also very spacious. I checked every Intenet site on every hotel in San Diego and feel like this hotel was a very reasonably priced room. The location was ok as well, although it may have been hard to find without our GPS. If you have a car, it is in a good location. The only complaint that I have is that the A/C did not work well in the room. It was cool enough that we just opened thte back door and it cooled off enough to sleep. This is not a 4 star hotel, but was very satisfactory for a place to lay your head!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlpGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Our stay at the Days Inn was horrible.

We came to California for a long-awaited and anticipated vacation with my mother and son. Since we were flying in late, we wanted a place to stay when we got in. We arrived to a very rude front desk attendant, who was giving rude and sarcastic remarks. We were so tired after 12 hours of flying, and then having to rush to the hospital because of a problem my mother encountered on the plane; we couldn't even think straight. By the time we arrived at the hotel, roughly 1:30 AM (4:30 AM on the east coast where we flew in from), neither my son nor I was in the state of mind to do anything but sleep.

We received our room key, and drove across the street to our
'suite'.

We needed to unload our luggage, so we unloaded the suitcases and walked to the elevator. We walked into the elevator and pressed "3", and immediately thought of the amusement ride in MGM studios , Florida called "Tower of Terror", where you get into an elevator, and the elevator drops from the top floor. The elevator creaks, groans, and shudders all the way to the third floor.

Outside there were prostitutes fighting, yelling and causing a commotion. We thought "this is going to be a great stay"!
Our room was pretty clean, but dated, and my son said that the pull-out bed (which we had to pull out ourselves) is extremely uncomfortable. The shower was broken when we arrived, and all we could shower with was scalding hot water, so we called the front desk, who sent a repair man. This man came, and repaired the shower, and when my son still did not understand how to change the water temperature, the man walked into the bathroom, slammed his wrench on the toilet, and started explaining how to use the shower in a raised tone of voice.

The people were very noisy, and the room next door was constantly receiving phone calls, which we heard. We had a view of a used car lot, and there were vagabonds living in a VW trailer outside the hotel on the street. One night, as my son was going to get some ice, a prostitute walked out of a room, looking extremely high. All around the hotel were strip clubs, flaunting "Totally N***!!!, XXX" etc.

Needless to say, we did not feel safe getting in at night.

The breakfast consisted of two choices out of about 5 things. There were burnt scrambled eggs, small (perhaps 6" in diameter) pancakes, two-bite-muffins, cold cereal, and on the first day they had no toast for the eggs. After you got your food, there were no seconds.

Obviously, we would not be staying at the Days Inn again. It was very over-priced for what we got and what we didn't get. Do yourselves a favor, stay somewhere, anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jguiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We picked this hotel to be close to relatives we were visiting after attending a conference at the Convention Center. We traveled often and also overseas, never had such bad experience with management ( or the lack of management) as this one. We got back to our room late one evening, the room was not cleaned. Had to call front desk twice and after almost an hour the towels finally arrived at 11pm. Next morning, we asked to speak to the manager and was told that no manager is available on weekends and had to call or come back on Monday. We proceed to have their free breakfast. The breakfast area was like a zoo. Trash overflowing, food items ran out. It's apparent that the owner does not care about thier guests, hire as few staff as possible, demanding high prices for being close to Sea World, let the guests stuff as many people as possible in one 'suite'. The pictures on the web are deceiving. Noisy from early morning on, the ground is not maintained. We do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbqed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

If you are looking for a clean, peace & quiet place-- not worth the money for this barely maintained, run-down, poorly managed hotel. Breakfast is free but the overflowing garbage cans, water-down apple juice, the spill-over cereal on the counter poured back into the dispensing machine are all too gross. The ground is run down, trash everywhere.
Guests packed the 'suites' with kids. Nothing against kids, but run around on the balcony by the pool at 7:30am. For that, I can stay at home and sleep in.
The hotel try to squeeze in as many parking as possible making the one-car space driveway so narrow and dangerous to back out.
When you try to complain and ask to speak to the manager, the front desk will tell you to come back on monday as there's no manager on duty on weekends. You be the judge. No manager on the 2 busiest days of the week at a 150+ room hotel.
I didn't read the comments before booking this. Will never return to this dive.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank judgeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Just returned from a fantastic 3 week stay in California. Our last night was spent in Days Inn near to San Diego Airport. When booking the hotel we checked that there was a shuttle to the airport. We arrived late on Thursday night and asked the girl on reception could we book the 6.30 shuttle, she informed us that all of the shuttles were booked until 9.30, and that we would have to get 2 taxis to the airport. We wouldn't have booked this hotel had we been told this. It was now 11pm, we then went to bed, we eventually got to sleep at 3am, there was constant noise, people shouting, partying, arguing, doors getting slammed and heavily knocked on. It only stopped at 2.45am with the intervention of security and the threat of the Police. The next morning (3 hours later) I checked out of the hotel and complained to the guy on reception, he apologised and knocked $40 off my bill. I told him that their intervention should have been a lot earlier.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gripper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We have just returned from a 11day trip to the Coast of California and our last stop was the Days Inn & Suites - Sea World/Airport.

The hotel is great and the service was good. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The outside was getting some routine painting, which was nice to see. The rooms were spacious and VERY CLEAN!! Overall I would say this hotel was top notch, I am extremely fussy!

They had a continental breakfast spread that could of had a little more of a variety, but it was included in the price, so heck it was good.

The pool & hot tub were ok, however we did not use it, due to the overcast and breezy weather.

We paid $60 per night for a room which we thought excellent value. And was close to everything..Mission Bay, La Jolla, the downtown, the waterfront...the San Diego Zoo.....everything within 5-10 minutes. It was great.

The only downfall.....the airport is close (which is a plus for travel) but bad for the noise of the planes.

A+ Across the board.

I would stay again at this hotel if ever back in San Diego!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shannon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
2.5 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Hotel Circle Near SeaWorld
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#96 of 278 in San Diego
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
2.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#146 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn and Suites Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn and Suites Sea World

Address: 3350 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4228 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites - Sea World/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $61 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn and Suites Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of Days Inn & Suites SeaWorld/Airport enjoy spacious, contemporary hotel rooms and suites that offer modern amenities today's traveler needs and expects while on the road. Take advantage of free high-speed Wi-Fi and and premium TV channels including HBO and ESPN. Enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfasts served each morning in our charming breakfast room, and relax in the heated pool and jacuzzi. Our San Diego hotel is located close to top attractions like the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park, plus we're the closest lodging to the US Marine Corps Recruit Depot. We look forward to welcoming you as one of our very special guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn and Suites Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites - Sea World/Airport
Days Inn & Suites - Sea World/Airport Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing