We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Easy drive from airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World
Ranked #227 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
289 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Easy drive from airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Picked up a rental car and 5-minutes later we checked in at the hotel.
lots of parking,WIFI woked fine.
Had room 136rigjt by the swimmingpool,and it idnt bother us.
Airconunit was okay,not to load.
Fast food and propper restaurants within walking distance.
Pool is okay,
Breakfat fom 6 , Us style...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    214
    242
    233
    204
See reviews for
559
173
59
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I got my room on Priceline, and was appalled when I looked at the reviews. Even made plans to bail if it was awful once I got to San Diego and checked in. However, I asked for and received a room on the 3rd (top) floor, and was very pleased to also be assigned a room in the building just behind reception (NOT the building near the pool) and at the far end of the building as well. As a result, I had no problems with noise from other customers, could only hear the occasional door slamming. Lots of kids running up and down the walkways on each floor, but nowhere near by room, since I was at the very end of the building.

The furniture in the room looked on the new side, and the bathroom was also clean and in good condition. The carpet looked like it needed to be cleaned and restretched, but nothing horrible. AC worked great! Frig and microwave were fine, coffee maker was broken - good thing Starbuck's was across the street! Didn't take advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast or go to the pool, so no comments there. Location was very convenient to restaurants, grocery stores, Starbuck's, freeway access, etc.

Reception staff very friendly and helpful at check-in, less so at check out, but no problems.

I wouldn't book this hotel deliberately again, but it really was perfect for what I needed - a safe, clean, convenient place to sleep while in San Diego.

Room Tip: For quieter room - ask for top floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_M_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, Manager at Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
B_M_johnson,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I'm so sorry to hear about your broken coffee pot. I'm the new General Manger and I will be checking all the coffee pots. I hope you will be able to visit San Diego again and will think about staying with us. Please feel free to contact me if you will be needing a room again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed here June 22nd-26th and we had a great time. We are two girls that were just looking to experience San Diego for the first time and this was a good place for us to rest our heads. The beds were comfortable, the staff was great. If there was any problems, they were there right away to assist. The room we stayed in smelled of cigarettes (mind you, we were in a non smoking room) and we were right by the elevator so it was kind of loud. All and all like the title says, it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresamsantoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I picked this hotel because they Advertised free airport shuttle beginning at 6 am. Also called to confirm. When I checked in was told shuttle didn't start until 6:30 am. Too late for me. Was also told they would give me breakfast early on the phone when I checked again again said no. Told me the taxi they used to airport was $11 but taxi wanted $ 16 when I got to airport. Ac unit in room ancient. Poor choice for price. Never again

Room Tip: Don't stAy here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demandingdivatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Belfort, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights in that hotel.

Positive Aspects: Well located, nice swimming pool, large parking

Negative Aspects: The Mexican lady at the front desk was agressive, not polite, not even answering when we were asking a question. She gave us a room under the standard we had paid for. Each time we were asking something we had an agressive answer (if answer was given) and very dark looking at us.
I think that people like her shouldn't work in commercial activity if they don't respect a minimum
customers.

The place does not look safe, I wouldn't advise it for families.

Regards,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Make sure to read the reviews in here. We showed up late on Wed night planning for a 2 night stay. We checked in and got to our room. When we opened the door we were blown away by the funky smell. The room was filthy, carpets stained, bathroom had pubic hair on the toilet and bath tub. Walls were dirty especially by the light switches. Our room was located right next to the pool where people were drinking, loud and pleanty of cuss words were coming out. This is definately not a family hotel, it's more like a crack hotel. We immediately packed it up and went back to the front desk and told them by no means are we staying here. The front desk acted like this wasn't the first time this had happened and refunded us with no problem. What ever you do, don't stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Not a bad stay, despite the problems the room had.

The good: nice big king bed, two TVs, plenty of space.
The bad: leaky air conditioner (still worked, but just wouldn't go below 78F), a couple of dead power outlets.

Breakfast is included, but basic, and the pool was tidy enough. Really convenient location if you're heading to SeaWorld, the Zoo or Little Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TindersUhOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#142 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Point Loma
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World

Property: Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World
Address: 3350 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4228 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites - Sea World/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites - Sea World/Airport Hotel San Diego
Days Inn And Suites - Sea World/Airport
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing