We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but off the beaten track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Ranked #160 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Yardville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place but off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

This hotel was great overall except a little pricey. But others were even more expensive. I looked at many others before picking this one.

We came to San Diego to visit family and see the sites. This hotel is located in the Golden Triangle, an industrial office park area for high tech companies. The area was quiet as a result and not much close by. Getting to any of the sites of SD took about 30 minutes driving.

The hotel room was great and had a refrigerator. There was a nice hot breakfast buffet every morning. Although we did not use it, the pool looked beautiful. There is free coffee in the lobby all day and there was free high speed internet in the rooms.

My only issues with the hotel were the distance from tourist attractions (not the hotel's fault) and the expensive room price. I got a Residence Inn condo (2 BR, 2 BA) in LA for less than this room.

Would I stay again - no reason not to but I would probably look for something closer to the tourist areas.

  • Liked — Free high speed internet
  • Disliked — High price of room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NJDebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    86
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
40
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California and Beyond
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

I stayed here for two nights. As others have stated here, there are quite a few businesses (e.g. every insurance company seems to have a branch nearby) and it gets full, quickly. The rooms were nice and there's a Quiznos nearby which is helpful since they do not serve any lunch or dinner (breakfast, yes). Would I stay here again? Probably not. While on business (which seems true for a majority of the guests) the lack of even a simple dinner menu is a deal-breaker. The hotel is in the middle of a huge industrial park so strolling to a nearby restaurant or cafe will require a car.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishgod1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2004

We stayed 2 nights, 9/10-11. The room appeared renovated: new bed, fixtures and carpet. Our room was clean and service was fast. If anything could use improvement at this place, it would be the hall lighting, carpeting, and door paneling. They look like they're from the 70s. Updating these would make it visually more pleasing. The location is not bad either. It's right by I-805, and is a easy drive to most tourist attractions. For the money, this is a great value.

Helpful?
1 Thank NYFamilyonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2004

After going through a horrid experience at Motel 6 Downtown, we found this place which took us in. Wonderful customer service...beautiful king suites...and a delightful experience overall. Highly recommended and not that expensive.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2004

Stayed here Sept 20-22, 2003. Hotel is located in a business park and is very quiet at night. Location is a short drive to University City and La Jolla. Rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable. We plan on staying here again in the future

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus oh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2004

Just remodeled. Nice pool-heated--and hot tub. A one minute walk is Karl Strauss Brewery. Good food and beer. Got room on Priceline for $48 a night.

Helpful?
6 Thank bucks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.7 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley

Property: Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Address: 9650 Scranton Rd, San Diego, CA 92121-1758 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sorrento Mesa Hotel provides unparalleled service and a broad range of amenities to make every stay exceptional. Guests at this hotel near UC San Diego can spread out and relax in our over-sized rooms, which feature luxurious bedding, a large well-lit work desk, and free high-speed internet. A new state-of-the-art lobby offers flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy a convenient Sorrento Valley hotel located minutes from Sea World, UC San Diego (UCSD), Miramar Air Station, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Del Mar Race Track and Torrey Pines Golf Course. Relax after an event filled day in our outdoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. At the Courtyard Sorrento Mesa hotel near UCSD, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing