We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency is a good thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Ranked #162 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistency is a good thing!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I like staying at Marriott Courtyard! I've stayed at this chain in Alexandria, VA, Detroit, and North Carolina. The consistency is comforting when I'm traveling a lot. While the service hasn't been consistent, everything else has been. Here, service was excellent! The layout of the rooms is convenient, beds are comfy, I like the desk for doing a little work in my room. At this Marriott, the food was pretty good. I had a fried egg and bacon sandwish with avocado that was so tasty. Thanks for being my home away from home!

Room Tip: Shuttle service picked me up from my office each day! I really appreciated that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daiseymae66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Daiseymae66,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.

I'm thrilled to hear that we met your expectations in what you've come to expect from your other stays at Courtyard hotels.

I look forward to sharing the comments with our staff at our next daily meeting.

If there is anything else I can personally assist you with for future reservations at our hotel, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    88
    34
    9
    13
See reviews for
48
41
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights to attend a nearby wedding. The hotel was attractive and had a friendly staff. The room was a good size and having a separate room for the bed in the larger room was a nice touch. Windows in all rooms are double sets so you can get a silent night's sleep.

Room Tip: Get the suite. It's usually $25-$50 more per night but gives you two rooms. One for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rick H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel while attending a wedding in the area.

I'm thrilled to hear that our hotel and it's staff exceeded your expectations and you were able to have both a productive and relaxing stay with us.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and if there is anything I can personally assist you with for future reservations when traveling back to San Diego, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a decent hotel. We came here to visit the Del Mar Fair, it was very close and had no issues with traffic. The room was clean and spacious and even had a patio. There isn't much within walking distance as it seems to be in the middle of a business area, but we had a car so that wasn't an issue for us. There is a cute little outdoor area near the pool with couches and a fire pit. The pool was in use each time I looked with families. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello AllisonCA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire team and appreciate your valuable feedback about the location of our hotel.

If there is anything I can personally assist you with for future reservations at our hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I had a great experience! The front desk staff was exceptional. I had a package delivered via FedEx and they went above and beyond to make sure I got it. Good location for offices in Mira Mesa and easy access to La Jolla. They had plenty of parking even on a sold out night. Even being sold out, they still gave me a late checkout. They delivered beyond my expectations!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoshCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello JoshCory,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, the Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us to ensure we are meeting and exceeding our guests.

From your comments, it appears that we exceeded your expectations from the level of service our Front Desk staff provided. I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire team here!

If there is anything I can personally assist you with in regards to future stays at our hotel when traveling to the San Diego area, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally.

Sincerely,

Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for business over the past weekend. The room was spotless and appeared to have been recently renovated. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful recommended nearby restaurants. The hotel is in a business area but there was a fun microbrewery across the street that we would not have found if they had not recommended it. Great food and great beer in a relaxing atmosphere. For the price, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello lyndakos,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us at the Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa. You feedback is extremely valuable to us.

I'm thrilled to hear that our hotel and staff met and exceeded your expectations and were able to recommend the wonderful Karl Strauss brewery located across the street from us.

Your feedback will be shared with the entire team at our next daily meeting and we all look forward to your return trip to our hotel.

If there is anything I can do personally to assist you with future reservations, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A wow in service. We did stay for just one night. Service was great since registration to check out. They made sure we had everything we need and assure a great experience while in La Jolla. Christine at the lobby went further suggesting ud restaurants and even making reservations and making sure we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fpaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Fpaillie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review about your stay at the Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa.

I'm thrilled to hear that you thought our hotel had amazing service and went above and beyond to ensure your short stay with us was a great one. Thank you for mentioning Christine as one of those employees that stood out and she will be recognized when we share your comments with the entire staff.

The team hear looks forward to your return visit to our hotel and if I can ever be of any assistance for future reservations, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This Courtyard hotel was not a bad place to stay. I ended up staying here as I had a certificate from Marriott to use and this was the nearest hotel to San Diego International Airport without going into Mexico. I arrived late due to my flight and obtaining a rental car. When I arrived, the man who served me was excellent and even recommended a good place to eat at a late hour. He also helped me get toothpaste as I could not carry any on the flight. The room was clean and the bed was great to sleep on as I fell asleep within 2 minutes of my head laying on the pillow. Since I had to leave early in the morning, I did not try out anything else, which I rated as I did. Overall, I had a very positive experience in comparison to past Courtyard experiences throughout the chain.

Room Tip: Don't arrive here at a late hour, otherwise, the parking near the hotel entrances is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTonyabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear MichiganTonyabbott,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

I'm thrilled to hear that we met your expectations during your stay and from past experiences at previous Courtyard hotels.

I look forward to sharing your comments about the staff service and overall amenities with the team.

If I can ever be of further assistance for future reservations at our hotel, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally.

We look forward to your return trip to our hotel when visiting the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.7 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley

Property: Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Address: 9650 Scranton Rd, San Diego, CA 92121-1758 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sorrento Mesa Hotel provides unparalleled service and a broad range of amenities to make every stay exceptional. Guests at this hotel near UC San Diego can spread out and relax in our over-sized rooms, which feature luxurious bedding, a large well-lit work desk, and free high-speed internet. A new state-of-the-art lobby offers flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy a convenient Sorrento Valley hotel located minutes from Sea World, UC San Diego (UCSD), Miramar Air Station, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Del Mar Race Track and Torrey Pines Golf Course. Relax after an event filled day in our outdoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. At the Courtyard Sorrento Mesa hotel near UCSD, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing