We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NOT stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Ranked #166 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed September 20, 2012

$189 per night and this is what I get. Ugh. A few good things about this hotel but so many bad things. There is an upgraded lobby, but that only gives the appearance of a modern hotel. The building is old. The carpet doesn't need to be shampooed; it needs to be replaced. I wouldn't even walk bare-footed in my room. Carpet in elevators and hallways is even worse. There is no soundproofing whatsoever. They did not honor the Gold Elite benefits; how is that even possible? And in a place with balconies where you want fresh air, they allow smoking in the courtyard of all things, so there is no fresh air to be found anywhere. The whole hotel stinks like cigarettes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNichols528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello KNichols528!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us in September. We take all feedback from our travelers, especially our Elite members, to heart and it gives us an opportunity to improve in the areas certain travelers deem not up to standard. With the quality of the rooms, I did want to let you know we are going to complete a room renovation which will be completed by the middle of November.

Again, I do apologize that your stay was not what you've come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott and would like to speak with you to resolve some of the issues that came up during you stay. Please reach out to the hotel at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Charlie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I can't say enough about this hotel and its spectacular staff. As frequent travelers and Gold Marriott Rewards members, we were upgraded to a lovely "junior suite" upon check-in, which was much larger than the average Courtyard room. Though it may not be the newest of properties and is showing some signs of wear, we found the rooms and common areas to be clean, comfortable, and spacious. The lobby had undergone the usual Courtyard remodel and was a warm, welcoming space to work and relax with a drink. The large, sparkling whirlpool was especially lovely after a long drive. What truly made our stay most enjoyable was the helpful, friendly staff. From the front desk to the staff at the restaurant/bar, we were always greeted with a smile. They went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable, even going so far as to allow a late afternoon checkout for me (as I was working from the hotel as my wife was onsite with a client). We always felt very welcome - which can't always be said about staying at a hotel.

We have not always been pleased with the sterile, highly business-traveler oriented, unfriendly confines of the Courtyards we've statyed at, but this one is among the best we've patronized. I'd definitely recommend to both business travelers and vacationers alike. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the inner courtyard. Many rooms have patios/balconies, and it seems quieter on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraMadreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello SierraMadreTraveler!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your September stay with us on TripAdvisor. It's your feedback that helps us maintain the high level of service travelers, like yourself, have come to expect from a Marriott property.

It sounds like your stay with us was both relaxing and productive and I couldn't be more proud of the staff for taking care of you so well.

I also wanted to let you know that we will be finished with a complete room renovation in November 2012, which will eliminate those "signs of wear" you noticed during your stay.

If I can ever be of assistance on future stays at our property when traveling to the San Diego area, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally anytime.

Sincerely,
Charlie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Easily the noisiest hotel I have encountered in decades. The hotel is deceiving as it has a beautiful entrance and lobby that looks brand new. However, this facade hides an old worn out hotel poorly constructed where noise abounds. They did have location as we were attending a wedding at the Karl Strauss Brewery just across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hello jwwcpa!

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us in September.

I'm terribly sorry our hotel did not live up to the expectations that you expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel while traveling for a wedding.

The good news is we are in the process of beginning a complete rooms renovation in the winter and will help to update the "old worn" out feeling you felt our hotel had.

Should you decide to give us another chance after the renovation and on your next trip to the San Diego area, I'd ask that you reach out to me personally to assist you with your reservation needs.

Sincerely,

Charlie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed over Labor Day weekend and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel for the good price we got. It is convenient, right off the 805, though in a more business area so you have to drive to eat, play, etc. The lobby and courtyard were nice places to sit and congregate with friends so good for a group. The grab and go breakfast included was only fruit and cereal, but you could buy other food and they serve Starbucks in the lobby. Only reason it did not get 5 stars is the size and layout of the bathroom in the rooms - only 1 sink and a very small sink/mirror area which was tough with a family of 4. Beds were comfy queens and rooms were clean. Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard rather than the parking lot- though it may be noisier with the pool, etc, it was a nice place to sit as first floor rooms had patios with chairs on the courtyard. Best of all was the staff - Everyone from front desk to housekeeping and the maintenance crew had a smile and a hello when you saw them and never seemed bothered by any request. We would definitely stay again on our many trips to SD.

Room Tip: Rooms off inner courtyard have patios or balconies with chairs facing pool/courtyard. Can be noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hello travelingagain08!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at our hotel in September!

I'm very pleased with how pleasantly surprised you were at the quality, location convenience and service of our hotel and staff. I will be sure to share your comments about how everyone on our staff, no matter the department, had a smile on their face and greeted you when you saw them.

We will be undergoing a complete room renovation in the winter, which I think you'll be even more pleasantly surprised at how great our hotel will look after.

If I can be of any assistance with future reservations at our hotel on your next trip to the San Diego area, please feel free to reach out to me directly and I'd be more than happy to assist you.

Once again, thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Charlie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Courtyard is very conveniently located for Del Mar, La Jolla, or San Diego. The place is clean enough, and comfortable, but it was full of noisy little kids running about, playing in the lobby, shouting in the hallways, just totally oblivious and indifferent to the other patrons. Where were their parents?
Last time I will stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello LosAngelesChuck,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us in September.

I apologize for the noise caused by the kids running around our hotel making your stay not as relaxing as it should have been. While we do everything we can from an operational standpoint to limit the noise, we do have to rely a little on the parents to be aware of their surroundings and the other guests staying in the hotel. However, this weekend we had several sports teams staying with us and we do our best to allocate certain floors or sides of the building to them.

Please know that what you experienced is not the norm for our hotel, as sports teams only come in 3-4 times a year and should you choose to give our location another chance to meet your expectations, please reach out to me directly and I would be more than happy to assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely
Charlie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This Courtyard is a great location near the 805 freeway. It is very quiet with very nicely kept grounds, a pool, and relaxation areas. Staff was very courteous and we had a very nice and fast check in. Nice lobby with plenty of comfortable seating. A car is a must if staying at this property.
Free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCourtyardSD, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello Lalotp!

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us in August. I'm very happy to hear that overall, your stay with us was a great one and a good value.

I apologize about the printers not having ink and have spoken to the Managers on property about how we can ensure going forward that we aren't waiting till a guest informs us that they've run out of ink.

We are pleased to announce that we will be undergoing a room renovation in the winter and will have a brand new room product in December. We are excited about this enhancing our guests’ stays with us and hope that you can come visit us again once it is complete.

If there is anything else I can assist you with for future reservations at our hotel, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly!

Sincerely
Charlie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I picked this hotel because it was in a convenient location for my business visit. Otherwise, I did not pick the hotel because there is not many you can do at day/night. The hotel was clean and staffs were decent, but nothing exceptional. I guess this is what you expect for a business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassi717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley

Address: 9650 Scranton Rd, San Diego, CA 92121-1758 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $104 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sorrento Mesa hotel provides unparalleled service and a broad range of amenities to make every stay exceptional. Guests at this hotel near UC San Diego can spread out and relax in our over-sized rooms, which feature luxurious bedding, a large well-lit work desk, and free high-speed internet. A state-of-the-art lobby offers flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy a convenient Sorrento Valley hotel located minutes from Sea World, UC San Diego (UCSD), Miramar Air Station, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Del Mar Race Track and Torrey Pines Golf Course. Relax after an event filled day in our outdoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. At the Courtyard Sorrento Mesa hotel near UCSD, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing