We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Ranked #159 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, with 3 rooms. Tommy, at the front desk, was great checking us all in with at least 2 calls holding! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location is great - we were 30 min from zoo and across the street from a Karl Strauss pub!
I did find that the bathroom needs a bit of an update with a rocky toilet and slow moving drain in tub. I also asked that someone clean the back middle entrance - both days there was something spilled in front of door and bird poop around - while it was not cleaned while we were there - Tommy assures me it would be cleaned!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    88
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
47
40
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Nice hotel close to the 805 off Mira Mesa. Lobby was recently redone, which is nice with a food area for purchase. Also, some booths have their own TV. Pool and spa, unfortunately was too cold to go in. Property was in nice shape. Their were two large mattress trucks parked on our side of the property which made it difficult to park near our room. Seemed to be abandoned, they were empty and just sitting there. Difficult to back out because of this. Also, rear entrance is chained off and there is only one working entrance to the property which difficult to enter if you turning left across traffic. There is no turn lane and near a light.
Good pricing under $100 per night if you are willing to prepay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
672 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel is a little oddly laid out but there are several entrances to the property. The staff was very friendly referring to me by my last name as though I had been a guest there many times before (first time) The cafe that is inside the hotel has decent prices, and there was free coffee (mornings only) and water available. I found the location to be convenient as there are several restaurant choices not too far away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The gym looks nothing like the picture--there was literally moisture in the air it was so humid. 3 sets of weights. Terrible.
Fluorescent lights in all the rooms. Energy efficient, yes. Relaxing, not so much.
The lobby area was totally re-done and looks fresh and modern... But I don't spend all my time there!
I will stay elsewhere next time in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenntish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Nice, clean hotel. Check in was quick, cafe was good in the evening for a sandwich and a glass of wine. Morning coffee available. I was just in and out for one night, so didn't really use any of the other services at the hotel but would book again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anibas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here after a long day at Sea World. The hotel was about 15 minutes from Sea World. We checked in and the agent sent us to the wrong door to park near. We ended up having to go in and back out of a different door to find our room. Aside from that the room was really nice. We enjoyed the pool area and hot tub. I think our 2 year old like the hotel more than Sea World :) Nice hotel to bring your family to.

Room Tip: First floor would be preffered. There are pool rooms that have balconys that go out to the pool on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachtraveler345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

I travel to La Jolla for business 1-2 times per month, and always stay here -- it's across the street from my office so the location can't be beat. The hotel itself is fine, nothing fancy. It's clean, quiet and safe. Not a lot of places to walk to, but you can find tons of cheap to mid-range restaurants within a 3 mile radius.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.7 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley

Property: Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Address: 9650 Scranton Rd, San Diego, CA 92121-1758 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sorrento Mesa Hotel provides unparalleled service and a broad range of amenities to make every stay exceptional. Guests at this hotel near UC San Diego can spread out and relax in our over-sized rooms, which feature luxurious bedding, a large well-lit work desk, and free high-speed internet. A new state-of-the-art lobby offers flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy a convenient Sorrento Valley hotel located minutes from Sea World, UC San Diego (UCSD), Miramar Air Station, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Del Mar Race Track and Torrey Pines Golf Course. Relax after an event filled day in our outdoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. At the Courtyard Sorrento Mesa hotel near UCSD, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Sorrento Mesa/La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing