We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Ranked #170 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Standard room”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This room is what you would expect from a normal Comfort Inn or Suites. We got a handicapped room for some reason, so the bathroom was quite large. The floor didn't seem to be angled correctly, or the drain wasn't working quite right, so water just flowed out on the floor while you were showering. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheUSA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about your recent stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful property in Mission Valley. Accessible rooms are just like our standard suites except they are a bit larger for wheel chair access. The shower floors in these rooms have to be flat but are designed to keep the water contained. I directed our Engineering staff to inspect this room and they performed some adjustments. I very much appreciate your comments! They enabled us to maintain our high quality standards. We hope you were also able to enjoy our tranquil grounds, swimming pool, breakfast buffet, and central location during your stay. We look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Ming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    121
    90
    61
    60
See reviews for
231
70
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had two rooms for one night here, just staying over with some family after a college graduation ceremony. It was Memorial weekend, so understandably full of lots of families with younger children. The rooms were clean; I appreciate the sheets covering the blanket and the fitted bottom sheet on the bed. Two areas in the room separated by glass doors. Two TV's,
wi-fi, small frig and microwave:) Our internet rate was very reasonable for the area, especially considering it was a suite. They do charge $8 for parking; most we have stayed at in the Hotel Circle area don't. The downtown hotels in San Diego almost all charge for parking, and charge a lot more. This is a pretty central location to get to all of San Diego's attractions. The breakfast was fairly standard, but is a good convenience to have to get something to eat in the AM before taking off to do touristy things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to submit your nice comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad you and your family enjoyed our suites with two separate living/sleeping areas and all their standard extra features. A survey of competing hotels in our immediate area found most do have a parking charge as we do, but we feel our competitive rates, unique room suites, and central location more than offset this. It is nice to know you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet. We are constantly adding new items and try to offer changing daily selections. Many of our guests also like that they can choose to eat in the breakfast room or on the adjoining patio overlooking the pool. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy both and that you will choose to say with us again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Ming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 with 3 young kids.
The room was fair sized, the staff were great and very helpful.
The facility's were clean, breakfast was good, especially the waffles!!
The pool was quiet.
All in all its a cheap hotel which is worth what we paid.

Helpful?
Thank jroo19
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed our hotel, especially your room, the free breakfast buffet, and the swimming pool. Our staff is very professional and has great dedication taking care of our guests so it is nice to know they were helpful. I know how hard it can be traveling with three young children and wanted to mention we also have “Kids Suites” available which are similar to our regular suites except they have bunk beds in part of the suite that is normally the living room. The kids and parents love them because the French doors can be closed to make the children feel as if they have their “own room.” We very much agree with you that we are able to offer quality and value with reasonable rates. We also hope your family was able to enjoy all the nearby attractions San Diego has to offer and that you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Long Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Room had strong musty smell, Had two televisions one of which would not work, info says they have free wifi but signal was so weak that I couldn't even get the google page to come up. Voiced concerns when checking out and was told that the general manager was gone all week. Left several messages to have manager call me and she did not. I finally called her and talked to her on the phone and was told there was nothing she could do. I was only asking for a small discount and she said " I do not give discounts or comps"." Since I didn't complain the night before, there was nothing she could do". However, she would like me to stay there again so she could show me they take care of their customers. FAT CHANCE
My advise is that there are much better dollar values in the San Diego area, check around if you're planning a trip to this area. Be aware this hotel also charges an $8.00 parking fee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your comments about your recent stay with us. Our staff is committed highly to our guest’s satisfaction and always tries to be a thorough as possible, but on occasion things can be missed. When that does happen, the staff is eager to correct any problem we may have overlooked and to make it right. We wish we knew about your concerns prior to checking out which would have given us a chance to address them. However in the interest of guest satisfaction, I willingly offered to discount your parking fee, but to also provide you a better rate on your next visit, both of which you refused. I do hope you reconsider staying with us again so you can see that our convenient location, competitive rates, free breakfast buffet, and outgoing staff more than offset the standard parking charges for hotels in the area. We do value your business and appreciate your comments.

Elizabeth Ming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hi,

I spent a total of 5 nights distributed over 3 different stays at Comfort Suites in May 2013.

The hotel is in a good location in San Diego's Mission Valley district. It's on the same street as the Hilton (so it's in a good neighborhood) but unless you want to waste your cash on a stupid brand name, I am sure you won't have anything to complain of in terms of enjoying 'comfort in a suite' - hence the name.

The bed with its sheets was extremely comfortable. The room had a nice couch, 2 flat screen TVs and a nice looking bathroom. Microwave, fridge and a coffeemachine also included.

I was positively surprised to find out that they had a small exercise room with a running machine and a multipurpose exercise machine. I suggested to the management that it would perhaps be a good idea to include a rack of dumbbells - and they actually went out and got some! :)

After working out, it was great to take a dip in the pool and the hot bath right next to the pool. The overall architecture and design integrates nicely with the pool area and you really feel like you are escaping from all the stress outside.

The people working at the hotel such as Frederik at the front desk and Elisabeth, the manager, were very friendly and warm :D

5 stars!!!

Oliver

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Our staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! All of our employees take great pride in their work and are always honored with positive guest comments like yours that reinforce their commitment of quality service to our guests. We are happy you noticed that we like to provide our guests the best in quality and value while still offering extras. It is nice to know that you were comfortable in our suites and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the pool, spa, grounds, and exercise room. We very much appreciated your suggestion about adding hand weights for exercising and thought it was a wonderful idea! I trust you also had the opportunity to enjoy our extensive free breakfast buffet as well.

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Elizabeth Ming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, VIC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms were sort of clean except for the used condom behind the couch. Anyway, rooms are a little small for 5 people, three kids between 7 and 12. Good location to seaworld and zoo which is what we were there for.
Staff friendly and the pool was good with spa.
I would recommend to stay here if you had 2 adults and 2 kids but no more. The pull out sofa bed takes up too much room in the lounge area.
Laundry utilised as well, which was good.

Room Tip: We were at back, no noise from freeway at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whistle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments that allow us to continually improve our guest satisfaction. Our cleaning procedures do include moving furniture however we apologize that we missed something. We are glad that you found how close we are located to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, and all the other attractions, and had time to enjoy or pool and spa. Most of our guests traveling with children comment as you did that our on-premises laundry room is very handy. I hope you and you family also had the opportunity to enjoy our free breakfast buffet. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I wasn't for sure on this hotel after reading a few reviews. I decided to give it a whirl and it wound up being pretty good. The $8 parking fee to park in the hotel lot is a freaking joke. It was close to where I wanted to be so I pulled the trigger. Check in was good and room on backside was quiet. Personally, if u are going to be on the backside of the hotel, ask for second or third floors. Trust me- looks dicey back there. Bed was really good and had separate sitting area with its own tv. Breakfast was good also.

Room Tip: Second or third floor in the rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your comments about your recent stay with us. We always strive to provide the best service and value we can for our guests and it is only when people comment to us can we continually improver our guest experience. The back of our hotel is lighted and there is a steep hill that non-guests cannot access, plus we have our own security for the added peace of mind for our guests, so safety should never be a concern. We are glad you found out how convenient we are to downtown and all the San Diego attractions and that you were able to enjoy the ever-changing variety of our free breakfast bar. Another guest favorite secret you found was our suites with separate rooms, dual televisions, microwave and refrigerator. While I do understand our advertised parking fee may at first seem unusual, the fact is most the surrounding hotels have parking fees as well but we always try to compensate for it by offering great rates, quality, cleanliness, and superior service. My staff and I look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#145 of 278 in San Diego
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area

Property: Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Address: 631 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3512 (Formerly Comfort Suites Mission Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling on business or spending time with family and friends, Quality Suites' convenient location is close to everywhere you need to be in San Diego. In the heart of San Diego's Mission Valley, 10 minutes from Downtown and most major attractions. Winner of Choice Hotels' Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. Free hot deluxe brekfast buffet daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites San Diego
San Diego Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing