We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$241
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$205
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$313
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$218
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveler rating
645
375
140
42
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
375
140
42
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicefree shuttlefreeway sidefront deskmcrd graduationmarine graduationpancake machinesan diego airportbreakfast rooman early flightfree breakfastunderground parkinghot tubrental carroad noisedesk staffspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay on our first trip to San Diego, and, yes, you CAN do San Diego without a car. When we arrived, (picked up at the airport),we booked the shuttle ( what attracted us to this hotel, along with included breakfast) for the next two days to the zoo and Seaworld. Ryan was helpful in telling us how to get around once dropped at the transit station. We took the trolley to Petco Field for a game one night and down to Seaport Village, and, best of all, Coronado Beach by ferry. Walk into Old Town and get a taste of Mexico and culture. A lovely place to stay, and thank you to Fernando and Alex, the shuttle drivers. If we'd had one more day, we would have gone on the Midway and back to Coronado.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the pool, but only came back to the room to sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24cruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased that our shuttle was able to accommodate you and your party during your stay! Here at the Holiday Inn Express we work hard to ensure that all our guests have the best experience and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are pleased that our staff was able to assist you.
We want to thank you again for your business and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've been staying at this Holiday Inn Express Old Town off-and-on for 8 months. The location is outstanding--very close to Old Town San Diego, USS MIDWAY, San Diego Airport and Commuter Terminal, SeaWorld, and (for salvage enthusiasts) Maidoff Brother's Nautical Antiques. Their breakfast is terrific, rooms always spotless, but what keeps me coming back is the staff!

Kylene, Vangie, and Brian (Roarke) man the front desk and are quick to help out with anything from extra room amenities, to restaurant recommendations, to tips on how to get the best deals on tickets for SeaWorld and Legoland. They've even gone so far as to print out directions for non-local destinations--better service than even the priciest of luxury hotels. They're also terrific for groups, letting some of mine use their lobby, breakfast room, and patio spaces with ZERO hassle (and more impressively zero notice). Fernando, their shuttle driver, is similarly helpful with directions and off-route stops.

Yasmine Zaya is the most engaged manager I've ever seen--I regularly see her checking up on guests and their experiences. I frequently book large groups at her hotel, and she's been able to make and change reservations without any hassle. It's the attitudes of her and her staff that keep me coming back to this HIX.

I spend about 120 nights/year in hotels, and this is by far my favorite! Vacations, business, families, students, fraternities, you name it--all will do well to stay at this Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: The hot-tub suite is worth the extra money. The hotel is extremely well insulated, so any room is perfectly quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. First, we would like to thank you for your return business with us over the last 8 months. We are very thankful to have returning guests like you. We are very pleased that our staff and amenities were able to accommodate you and your guests during your stay. Here at the Holiday Inn Express, we work hard to ensure that all our guests have the ultimate hotel experience and we want to thank you for your feedback.
We train our staff to work directly with our guests, we are happy to hear that they were very helpful. Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and I can not adequately express how impressed I am with this hotel and its staff. What makes it great is that its conveniently located in Old Town San Diego with a free shuttle to the airport, and to local main attractions (i.e. Seaworld, Old Town, MSS Midway, etc), they provide breakfast and have great rooms. All of this is to be expected of a great hotel, what takes the Holiday Inn Express at Old Town to another level is their dedicated staff including Yasmine, Kylene, Vangie and the entire staff go above and beyond for whatever is needed. We needed last minute changes to our reservation, they made it happen. We needed access to one of their spaces in the late evening hours, they made it available. I am just so impressed with the entire staff at Holiday Inn Express at Old Town and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Get one of the corner suites...they are incredible!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

First of all we want to thank you so much for your return to our hotel! We are so pleased that your stay was great in every way. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we appreciate your comments as this helps us be responsive and make sure we are delivering the best experience possible for our guests. We are so glad that our staff was friendly and able to help in any way possible. We thank you again for a great review and hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was great because our primary need was to be next to the airport, and our goal was just to rest for one night and not to do sightseeing. The hotel is neat and comfortable, but if you want to do sightseeing you should better get another hotel. As we had the afternoon free, we took a taxi to the San Diego Zoo (highly recommended) and the hotel had a free shuttle back. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the zoo, but only once at about 9am. Free shuttle also to the airport, you should just arrange with reception.

Room Tip: I read some travellers complained about the highway noise, but I really did not hear a thing. Maybe because our room was facing the other way.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are glad to hear that our shuttle service was able to accommodate you. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the best service that I've ever had in all my travels. The staff was the most accomodating and helpful group that we have ever had the pleasure of being around. They not only gave us the best tips on dining and travel but their shuttle service was also better than I've ever had. We were there for our son's Marine Corp graduation and time was very short on getting to our plane to leave the last day. They had everything all set up for us and were there and waiting. They picked us up and got us to every point we needed to be at in good time. They were all so very friendly and I have never felt so comfortable that I did there. They were a great group of people and I would stay there again JUST for that reason. Thank you to all of them. Josh, Alex, Kylene, Vangie, Dolores, Ferando, Roark, and a few others that I cannot remember their names. They made our stay there just so much less stressful that it would have been otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us, and sharing your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that our staff provided great service and that our location was convenient for your say. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff - they love what they do, and they had a great time taking care of you. We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again next time you visit beautiful South Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews