We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #48 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I will start by saying- for us the location was perfect- within walking distance to Old Town (3/4mile) and about the same in the other direction for a little group of restaurants on India St. This hotel offers a free shuttle to and fro the airport, Old Town, SeaWorld and the Zoo, and a few other places within reason.
We chose this location due to it's proximity to Old Town and the fact that it has a free shuttle to SeaWorld and the Zoo. We only rented a car for 2 of the 8 days we were visiting. We prefer not to drive in California- (they be crazy) lol
Our room was very clean, they are small but for 2 of us it was fine. The bathroom was very clean. The room was clean and we were away from the freeway so that noise did not bother us. We weren't even bothered by the street noise.
The breakfasts were standard HIE fare. Decent enough and included- can't beat that.
We were unable to take advantage of the pool or the hot tub- it was a bit too chilly, but they looked clean, maintained and inviting.

I still don't understand why the coffee pot is in the bathroom- that's just disgusting and I will not use it if they are located there. I never use the in room coffee pot though... ew. I don't care how clean it the hotel is.

My only beef is regarding the shuttle. Taking cues from other reviews- we attempted to let the evening crew know we would need the shuttle in the morning. They told us to just ask for it the next morning. WELL... apparently the evening crew follow through a bit more- and while pleasant, I find it hard to believe that they don't know to log us to reserve the shuttle- or inform us of their basic schedule (leaves for the airport on the hour and any sidetrips- etc) because we got chastised by the front desk lady for not reserving. WHICH IS WHAT WE TRIED to do... THE NIGHT BEFORE! We were not in any hurry. We should have been informed- they depart at X time(s), please schedule accordingly. We didn't have immediate expectations to be shuttled on a whim. It was then that the big binder was brought out and we were penciled in for a certain time. Which is how it should have been the night before. Which was fine- but I didn't think it appropriate to chew us out for something that an employee failed to follow through on.

Long story short? The staff (both morning and night) at this otherwise- great spot needs to BE CONSISTENT with the manor of which they communicate details of their shuttle. Also try taming down the briskness of your tone. I realize you've probably had irate- I WANT IT NOW kind of guests, but if you don't allow that-you won't get that and if everyone was consistent- you wouldn't have that issue. It would be good to know upon check-in that for the most part- it leaves for the airport on the hour, Old Town shuttles are easiest- since it's literally down the road. (we never used it for this- as we preferred to walk) SeaWorld and The Zoo have their designated drop off/ pick up times, but must be requested (reasonably so). I found the lack of communication on this subject to be quite irritating. However, all of the shuttle drivers were friendly and courteous. The desk staff- it was a mixed bag of either super pleasant, sour smiles or omg- please don't bug me now attitudes.
Other then that, I would have given them a 5.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. Thank you for sharing that our shuttle service had some positives and negatives. We will do out best to alter these issues. Thank you for your extensive comment, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. We selected this hotel because it is close to the cruise port and there is a free shuttle pickup from the airport and also to the cruise port. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and arranged for our morning transfer to the port. We also found out that the hotel offers a free shuttle to, and from Old Town. We took advantage of this and were driven by a very helpful and friendly young man. I'm sorry that I don't remember his name but he recommended a very good Mexican restaurant, Miguel's, and we had a delicious lunch. We were driven to our destinations by three different drivers, and all were so nice. The hotel room was small, but clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was clean and bright. We were very happy with our choice of this hotel, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us, and sharing your feedback! We are so happy that you had a great time staying with us. We are glad that our shuttle services were convenient and that we were able to accommodate all your needs. Thank you again for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business in the second week of February 2013. The hotel itself is squeezed in between I-5 and San Diego Avenue on the hill. However, they made the most of the space with a large detached hot tub, a reasonably sized and well equipped exercise room and breakfast room. The rooms were small but clean. Standard Holiday Inn but no complaints. Breakfast was included with the room as was free wireless internet which worked smoothly. If your expectations are set for a Holiday Inn and not the Ritz, this particular Holiday Inn Express should be a pleasant surprise for its value. I had a room with a double bed and it was priced at $110 before taxes. This seemed like a very good value to me. Granted the hotel is not downtown by the convention center but it is a very short distance from downtown San Diego, across from the airport, and close by to I-5 and I-8. I walked to Old Town for dinner which took about 15 minutes. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They made a couple of recommendations for restaurants in Old Town and reassured us that the walk to and from Old Town was safe (which it was). The free breakfast was fine - eggs and bacon, biscuits, cereal, bagels, juice and coffee. The cinnamon rolls were quite good.

All in all a very good value in San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side of the hotel (San Diego Ave) to get a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we appreciate your business. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that our staff provided great service and that our location was convenient for your say. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night & the area didn't seem the best however that changed in daylight. Only a 15 minute walk to San Diego Old Town with plenty to see, do & people watch. Room was clean & spacious. Breakfast was pretty good. One piece of advice don't have the room opposite the breakfast room if you want to sleep. All in all great value for money & Seaworld shuttle great.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judethmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are very sorry you experienced loud noise in the a.m; however, we are glad that our shuttle service was convenient. Thank you for giving us feedback because here at the Holiday Inn Express this helps us be responsive and make sure we are delivering the best experience possible for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This stay was December 2011. Have had a busy 2012!
Loved the all inclusive breakfasts! Great value and delicious offerings. A young man, can't recall his name, but let me use his inet when the one in the lobby was busy. His Mom was a personal assistant for a sports team. He'll know who he is! :0)
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there! Very pretty landscaping,pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siumae2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and was able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We thank for your business and look forward to accommodating you again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN is very close to the airport but not really inside the San Diego Old town. It is an easy walk to the Old Town about 12-15min. if the weather is OK which is the case most year around in San Diego. The hotel provides an airport shuttle which in my case took 20min. to arrive after my phone call to the hotel.
Breakfast in the morning is hot and includes almost everything you need.
The hotel is very close to highway 5 but it is very quite at night.
The Hotel has all you need for a business overnight stay. The rooms are a bit small but clean and well organized. If you are for good Mexican food, the area is a paradise. Old town is also loaded with many souvenir shops and the atmosphere in general is very nice.
If you are staying for fun and would like to explore the many nice tourist attractions you will need to get a rented car. Compare to other hotels in the area the price was very reasonable

Room Tip: For someone looking to be inside the San Diego Old Town , it is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gideon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We appreciate your feedback and glad our site was convenient for you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a very nice place with very clean rooms. It's location near San Diego International Airport is most convenient. However, the Restaurant serving breakfast has very limited space. Most mornings it was crowded, guests crammed together in such a small place was a bit embarassing and inconvenient. For parents with small children it was as somewhat a nightmare. Breakfast menu should also be reviewed, I suggest it be given a European touch atleast unlike the current which is fully American continental.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YONAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are unfortunate that you did not enjoy our breakfast and we are sorry that it was a little crowded. We thank for your business and look forward to accommodating you again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Address: 1955 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2105 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $98 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing