We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #40 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. We selected this hotel because it is close to the cruise port and there is a free shuttle pickup from the airport and also to the cruise port. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and arranged for our morning transfer to the port. We also found out that the hotel offers a free shuttle to, and from Old Town. We took advantage of this and were driven by a very helpful and friendly young man. I'm sorry that I don't remember his name but he recommended a very good Mexican restaurant, Miguel's, and we had a delicious lunch. We were driven to our destinations by three different drivers, and all were so nice. The hotel room was small, but clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was clean and bright. We were very happy with our choice of this hotel, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, and sharing your feedback! We are so happy that you had a great time staying with us. We are glad that our shuttle services were convenient and that we were able to accommodate all your needs. Thank you again for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    329
    120
    42
    27
See reviews for
391
266
68
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business in the second week of February 2013. The hotel itself is squeezed in between I-5 and San Diego Avenue on the hill. However, they made the most of the space with a large detached hot tub, a reasonably sized and well equipped exercise room and breakfast room. The rooms were small but clean. Standard Holiday Inn but no complaints. Breakfast was included with the room as was free wireless internet which worked smoothly. If your expectations are set for a Holiday Inn and not the Ritz, this particular Holiday Inn Express should be a pleasant surprise for its value. I had a room with a double bed and it was priced at $110 before taxes. This seemed like a very good value to me. Granted the hotel is not downtown by the convention center but it is a very short distance from downtown San Diego, across from the airport, and close by to I-5 and I-8. I walked to Old Town for dinner which took about 15 minutes. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They made a couple of recommendations for restaurants in Old Town and reassured us that the walk to and from Old Town was safe (which it was). The free breakfast was fine - eggs and bacon, biscuits, cereal, bagels, juice and coffee. The cinnamon rolls were quite good.

All in all a very good value in San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side of the hotel (San Diego Ave) to get a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we appreciate your business. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that our staff provided great service and that our location was convenient for your say. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night & the area didn't seem the best however that changed in daylight. Only a 15 minute walk to San Diego Old Town with plenty to see, do & people watch. Room was clean & spacious. Breakfast was pretty good. One piece of advice don't have the room opposite the breakfast room if you want to sleep. All in all great value for money & Seaworld shuttle great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judethmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are very sorry you experienced loud noise in the a.m; however, we are glad that our shuttle service was convenient. Thank you for giving us feedback because here at the Holiday Inn Express this helps us be responsive and make sure we are delivering the best experience possible for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This stay was December 2011. Have had a busy 2012!
Loved the all inclusive breakfasts! Great value and delicious offerings. A young man, can't recall his name, but let me use his inet when the one in the lobby was busy. His Mom was a personal assistant for a sports team. He'll know who he is! :0)
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there! Very pretty landscaping,pool.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siumae2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and was able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We thank for your business and look forward to accommodating you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN is very close to the airport but not really inside the San Diego Old town. It is an easy walk to the Old Town about 12-15min. if the weather is OK which is the case most year around in San Diego. The hotel provides an airport shuttle which in my case took 20min. to arrive after my phone call to the hotel.
Breakfast in the morning is hot and includes almost everything you need.
The hotel is very close to highway 5 but it is very quite at night.
The Hotel has all you need for a business overnight stay. The rooms are a bit small but clean and well organized. If you are for good Mexican food, the area is a paradise. Old town is also loaded with many souvenir shops and the atmosphere in general is very nice.
If you are staying for fun and would like to explore the many nice tourist attractions you will need to get a rented car. Compare to other hotels in the area the price was very reasonable

Room Tip: For someone looking to be inside the San Diego Old Town , it is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gideon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We appreciate your feedback and glad our site was convenient for you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingola, Zambia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a very nice place with very clean rooms. It's location near San Diego International Airport is most convenient. However, the Restaurant serving breakfast has very limited space. Most mornings it was crowded, guests crammed together in such a small place was a bit embarassing and inconvenient. For parents with small children it was as somewhat a nightmare. Breakfast menu should also be reviewed, I suggest it be given a European touch atleast unlike the current which is fully American continental.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YONAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are unfortunate that you did not enjoy our breakfast and we are sorry that it was a little crowded. We thank for your business and look forward to accommodating you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay. It is Old Town, very close to a lot of the San Diego attractions. The staff was very accommodating. They checked us in very quickly and made sure we had everything we needed. The room was rather small but very clean and it was pretty new. The staff gave us a restaurant guide and the shuttle took us to dinner and picked us up when we were done. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you and that the shuttle was able to transport you to and from dinner. We thank for your business and look forward to accommodating you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2105 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing