We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time staying at this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Ranked #48 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time staying at this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have been staying at one particular hotel for the past 30 years in San Diego old town. I decided to try something new and stayed here. All I can say was the customer service went over and beyond expectations. The room was clean, very clean. The only downside was that I could not stay longer, but I definitely will be with my family again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    286
    106
    38
    26
See reviews for
325
228
53
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night on August 9, 2012. When we got to our room, we weren't happy with the location (facing the 5 expressway) so asked to be moved. We left the first room for the second within 10 minutes. The second room was fine; no problems with the hotel at all.

The night after we checked out, August 10, while in Huntington Beach, I remembered that I left my laptop in the first room we checked into. I immediately called the hotel in a panic and told them I left my computer in the first room we stayed in. The employee put me on hold, came back and said they had it, even confirming it was in a black case. He confirmed that we had checked into the first room, but actually stayed in the second. He said they would hold the laptop for a month - they could not forward it to any place other than our home - and since we were on the first day of our trip, I thouight that was fine. I did wonder why, if they knew they had a laptop and where they found it, they did not contact me. I was at the hotel for a day, plus they had my phone, email, address.

Upon returning home, I called the hotel, spoke with Susie, and explained that I had left my computer and now I was arranging to have it shipped. She asked if she could call me back to get my address and a credit card to charge the shipment. I guess I assumed she was checking the hotel's Lost and Found to confirm that they did have the machine. When she called back, I gave her my address, and she said she'd ship it. A week goes by and I still have no package. I called the hotel to get the tracking number and Susie told me that, no, she didn't send me the laptop, just the case. I was incredulous because at this point two employees had confirmed that they had the machine.

I spoke with Yasmine, the general manager, who told me she would ask the staff who were on duty on 9/10 when I called to see who took the call and that I should give her a day or two. When I had called I was so panicked I didn't remember who I spoke with (might have been Jose, however). I never heard from her again. I called back the day before the Labor Day weekend and left her a message, saying I expected a call back by Tuesday. No response.

In addition, I have emailed the Holiday Inn Express Customer Care center, but have also not received a response. I emailed a second time tonight, 9/12/2012. And, I never even received the package they sent that supposedly contained just the case, which was a cheap thing that I wouldn't have bothered to have shipped.

This incident is disappointing and infuriating. I don't recall ever receiving such shoddy service from a hotel, which is ironic because while we were there they could not have been nicer. Somewhere along the line, they had my property in their possession and then they 'lost' it. And to not even get the courtesy of a follow up call from the manager is inexcusable.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susieq98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Susieq98,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We are sincerely sorry your experience with us was unsatisfactory. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend. The reason I'm giving it a 3 is because we could hear everything the people above us were doing, when housekeeping vacuumed, when they took a shower and when they walked around. I have never stayed at a hotel where I could hear the people upstairs. The other problem we came across was, there was hair in the bathtub that was NOT from us. It was in the bottom of the shower and on the curtain when we got there. VERY disgusting. I know others have stayed and showered in that room but I don't need to be reminded by their hair in the tub. The location was great, my husband is a Marine and it is right across from MCRD. It is also a short car ride away from Old Town and Downtown. I'm not sure if we would stay there again given the few problems we had. The breakfast was good, typical continental breakfast. The parking spaces that are for the guests above ground are tiny. We have a pickup truck and we couldn't park there, they do have a parking garage. Overall it was an OK hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask to face AWAY from the freeway and ask to be on level 2 so you don't have to liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USMCwife1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for Labor Day weekend, as most hotels already booked. Great property very easy access / secure parking / free breakfast / reasonable rates / clean / comforatable beds / internet access / would definately stay here again and recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grt_8woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Quebec
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We liked our stay, classic Holiday inn express, clean and practical,no big luxury. It is close to Old Town attraction. The hotel is located in a safe residential area and conveniently close to the highway.
We would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marine30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Can't say enough about the outstanding service we received. Everything from check-in to check-out, was wonderful. The shuttle service was ready and waiting at all times we needed it. Every driver was friendly and fun! The free breakfast was tasty and apprecieated. Housekeeping did a great job every day. Close to the highway, but never heard any traffic with the a/c on. Take advantage of the Old Town Transit Center to get downtown. Would definately recommend to MCRD graduation families.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey2112Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
255 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived at the airport after 11pm, so the shuttle wasn't available. We caught a taxi that evening to the hotel, but the hotel provided shuttle service back to the airport in the morning. Even though close to the airport, it is a longer ride than we expected back & forth from the airport. The hotel is quite close to the interstate highway, but we were given a room away from the highway & it was quiet for us. The room was clean & the staff were all friendly. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the interstate highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Old Town Inn
#18 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Address: 1955 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2105 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing