We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Ideal beach location”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed at the Catamaran for 5 nights in September 2010. The hotel is in a unique and desirable location. It is unique in that out the front door you are a 1 block walk from the Pacific Ocean, a fantastic beach and the PB / MB boardwalk while out the back door you are steps from the sands and calm waters of Mission Bay. You really are spoiled for choice and the phrase best of both worlds springs to mind.

If you want for some reason to head downtown from here then there is a bus stop across the street and you are within walking distance to many eateries and bars.

We have stayed in PB many times. This hotel itself is spot on. Lobby is a site to behold, performing parrots in the courtyard and the adjoining grounds would not seem out of place in a Hawaiian Island. The onsite gym is among the best I have experienced in relation to one provided by a hotel. The pool and hot tub and great as is the comfort of the surrounding loungers.

In terms of the room, we stayed in the tower as opposed to the lower rise rooms which are dotted throughout the property. I have no issues with our room. Spacious, clean, nice balcony with a view to die for.

Do not mistake me for equating this with a 5 star property because it is not. The thing is though that if luxury accomodation is what you seek then MB and PB aren't truely the places for you. The best you can get in terms of luxury would be the Tower 23 or the Pacific Terrace. However be prepared to pay 6 star prices for what is truely (in any other beach location) 4 star properties at best.

If money is no object and/or you don't mind paying a premium then one of these 2 would be your preferred option. However, if you are happy with a solid 3 star in a great location for considerably less then you will not be disappointed with the Catamaran

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,304
    959
    345
    135
    91
See reviews for
1,363
986
131
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

we ended up here after we left our first hotel because of the noise. There was a mix up with our booking and they upgraded us to a suite to make up for this minor inconvenience. the resort stay was perfect for us and we wished we had stayed here from the start. the resort is right on mission bay and only a block from the ocean. you can walk to restaurants easily. the hotel itself is great, for kids and adults. there are parrots, koi ponds, ducks and boat rentals, as well as beautiful grounds and a nice patio, bar and restaurant area. the pool and hot tub were great even though it was November. staff were helpful and the room was incredible. we thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeToKall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Very nice hotel and spa. We had a small problem when we checked in, our room was not made up so they upgraded us up to another room on the top floor. Totally over the top compensation for that, but it made for a really nice weekend. My husband and I both got massages at the spa and I would definitely recommend going to the spa to sit in the sauna or whirlpool even if you don't purchase a large service. Some of the decor in the rooms needs a little updating but the grounds were gorgeous and it was fun to be right on the water.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sofieah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Reviews we read about the hotel were so-so, but our experience was great. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pool is great, location is excellent. The room was fine, even though some reviews said the walls were thin, etc. We were pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. Breakfast at the restaurant was very tasty. The hotel is about 15 minutes from downtown and the airport and easy to get to by car. Would be nice if parking was included, but almost all the hotels seem to charge for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinMan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piscataway, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I was at The Catamaranr resort for business with a co worker, who happens to be a friend as well. We stayed 2 extra days for "play", so it was really a combined trip. The place was perfect for us. I had never been to San Diego and loved the Mission Beach/ Pacific Beach side of San Diego. This resort was in the perfect place for us. Downtown is a little far, Coronoda also a little far. We didn't care tho. Room was clean, view from ours was amazing, pool/beach (on Sail Bay) are great....Restaurant not worth using in our opinion. Concierge extremely helpful in renting us a car for the day.
Locally we loved the Eggery for breakfat and lunch, the beach Bar (Lahaina) for sunset and beer, Kono Cafe for lunch (ask where ocean front seating is). Rented bikes up on the beach beacuse it was cheaper, dont use hotel rental. Check out a place called the wave house (south of hotel on beach). No one had mentioned to us until the last day and we had fun watching the surfers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettingmarriedat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great location on Mission Bay with only a 1 block walk to Mission Beach. Rooms in the Tower need sprucing up. Interior door did not dead lock properly since the return was practically falling off, the exterior balcony door didn't open without a lot of muscle power and the screen balcony door was completely off track. Maintenance did offer to change my room. Exterior was lush and tropical...loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

What a great find! Terrific location. Amazing landscaping and a very well run hotel/resort. You couldn't find a better value for your money and amenities - be sure to check out the outside bar area for happy hour. Room was large, well furnished and relaxing. Restaurant was great and we just had fun!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Bahia Resort Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
3,848 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing