We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sean Blickfeldt

Our banquet was perfect

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 18, 2019
We planned an event at the wonderful catamaran and it couldn't have gone better. Dave Hopper was our banquet captain and he was pleasant and very helpful and easy to work with. Looking forward to working with him again in the future
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review
Responded Sep 19, 2019
Thank you for sharing your experience of hosting an event at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa! We are pleased to hear that our staff provided excellent service throughout the planning process! Thank you again and we hope we get the opportunity to host another one of your events!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$353
$309
  • Expedia.com
    $309
  • Hotels.com
    $309
  • travelup.com
    $348
1.3 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$339
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $339
  • Algotels
    $322
  • Booking.com
    $339
2.5 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$346
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $346
  • Skyscanner.com
    $294
  • travelup.com
    $578
1.3 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$119
  • Booking.com
    $131
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Expedia.com
    $134
5.0 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$194
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $188
2.5 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$193
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $170
  • Skyscanner.com
    $168
  • Trip.com
    $227
4.3 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
$161
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Expedia.com
    $189
5.0 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
$93
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Priceline
    $129
5.5 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$424
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $424
  • ZenHotels.com
    $408
  • Expedia.com
    $424
7.4 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Skyscanner.com
    $1,100
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
8.1 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (7,054)
Filter reviews
7,055 results
Traveler rating
4,781
1,273
540
258
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,781
1,273
540
258
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mission bay dave hopper banquet captain exotic birds oceana restaurant tower room the pacific ocean bay front bahia belle garden view great resort bit dated parking garage family vacation sea world la jolla luau
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,911 - 1,916 of 7,055 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2019

An awesome venue for drinks and eats anytime (especially with Banquet Captain Dave Hopper at your service) also great for a night or two with a room on the bay!! Beautiful view, awesome location, great service!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xtinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the sweeping views of Mission Bay and our staff provided excellent service! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

We decided to do a staycation/ bday at the Catamaran this year! We are so glad we did! Not only is it an amazing property the staff is incredible as well! A big thank you to Dave Hopper who we felt went out of his way to not only accommodate us but made our stay that much more special. We appreciate your recommendations and advice!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank jasona853
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your staycation, Jason! What a great way to celebrate your birthday! We are pleased to hear that Dave provided excellent service - we are lucky to have him on our team! We hope you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

This place definitely has unique quirks that make it special - awesome landscaping/plants, the largest koi I’ve ever seen, numerous happy ducks, cool woodwork/furniture - but it has some def flaws, which also probably keep it on the affordable side! Our room was old, in the original section, was dark and kinda smelled musty. Pool was also surprisingly small for a hotel this size and did not have a good view, but the bar tender was nice and poured perfect vodka soda. Bay view was nice, but not sure why the deadline on top return was so early (5pm). If this place does renovate, (as it desperately needs) I hope they don’t lose any of their eclectic charm. I prob will not stay here again, opting for somewhere with a better pool and better beach access.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank CarolinaMoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Polynesian-themed resort that offers casual elegance with palm trees, lush vegetation, tiki torches, koi ponds, waterfalls, and exotic birds. We appreciate your feedback regarding your guestroom and have shared this management. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back for a much improved stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

My wife and I plus another couple we've known for many years made a five night trip to the friendly and relaxing Catamaran Resort. The hotel was I feel quite the bargain, with quiet and clean rooms at very reasonable rates. The grounds are breathtaking and must be seen first hand to be appreciated. The restaurant was top notch, and the staff could not have been friendlier. Jeanelle took wonderful care of us for breakfast and lunch every day. The spa was also top shelf, with the best workout facility I've encountered in quite some time. My wife received what she claimed was her best massage ever. The Pacific Beach area has quite a few other excellent restaurants as well. While Pacific Beach is just gorgeous, the beach on the bay right at the hotel was our preference. It was clean, quiet, and just so peaceful there! We promised ourselves before leaving that we will be returning within the year.

Room tip: Get a room on the bay side for the best views.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank WWG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thank you for your continued visits to the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa. We love seeing guests return year after year, always leaving with the most positive of experiences. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our signature restaurant, Oceana Coastal Kitchen! We appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

The name of this hotel is a bit misleading. Based on what we saw on their web site, our impression was that the Spa was included . . . it is not. You will have to pay extra for this amenity. The grounds are beautiful and I can understand why this would be a great venue for events and weddings. The rooms are nothing special (we booked 2 rooms in the Tower) and are badly in need of updating. It's like going back in time to the 1970's. The bathrooms are a grade above Motel 6, but certainly not resort caliber. One of our rooms had zero toilet paper (nothing on the roll and no backup . . never saw that before). Water pressure and temperature were adequate. The floors in the bathroom and kitchenette were vintage 70's linoleum tile. As were the appliances in the kitchenette. I totally see the value of a kitchenette for families trying to save on meals . . . but it all looked so cheesy. The rooms are spacious, and the beds very comfortable. The TV is placed perpendicular to the beds, so if you like to watch TV in bed, you will have to crane your neck. The closets are spacious, but the closet doors with mirrors slide on a creaky / sticky metal rail which is apt to come off the rails . . . which is what happened in one room necessitating a call to maintenance . . sigh. The carpets are very old and seemed damp. The view from the 7th floor overlooking the bay and ocean was gorgeous. A few other oddities: One room had magazines propping up the dresser for stability. The hallway carpets were dirty and did not seem to be vacuumed regularly. The luggage racks were metal and rusty. Fan in one of the bathrooms was not working. Wristbands were required when using the pool (good grief!). Pool side service not available (after Labor Day). In summary, this may be an ok venue for families and students on break who just want to hit the beach, but falls far short of what constitutes a modern first class resort.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleDJ2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the lush tropical gardens and the sweeping views of Mission Bay and the Pacific Ocean! We appreciate your feedback and it has been shared with management. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews