We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shea F

Rum Social

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 28, 2019
My family and I had quite a marvelous time at the rum social. Delicious rum based drinks, I had a great mai tai and some of the fam were raving about the rum and colas. Delicious and FRESH handmade sushi by Charl, amazing mojito ceviche, and they continuously brought out amazing appetizers such as crab cakes, chicken Pate, Brie cheese filled bombs, and cheese Chile and bean tortilla triangles. BANQUET CAPTIAN DAVE HOPPER was an amazing server and quite the gentleman. Great man with lots of personality. He elevated our experience and was extremely accommodating. Fernando was an amazing bartender and hooked it up with a plethora of generous drinks. Victor was a very very kind man serving delicious appetizers. All around absolutely pleasant experience!
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review
Responded Aug 29, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Rum Social hosted by Oceana Coastal Kitchen! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Malahat craft cocktails and delicious bites! We love hearing how impressed you were with our staff! Thank you again, and we hope to see you at our next event in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$353
$309
  • Expedia.com
    $309
  • travelup.com
    $348
  • Tripadvisor
    $309
1.3 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$339
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $339
  • Algotels
    $322
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$346
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $346
  • Skyscanner.com
    $294
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$119
  • Booking.com
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $134
5.0 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$194
  • Hotels.com
    $188
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $188
2.5 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$193
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
  • Official Site
    $170
  • Trip.com
    $227
4.3 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
$161
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Expedia.com
    $189
5.0 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
$93
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Priceline
5.5 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$424
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $408
  • Hotels.com
    $424
7.4 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
    $1,048
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
8.1 miles from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (7,055)
Filter reviews
7,055 results
Traveler rating
4,781
1,273
540
258
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,781
1,273
540
258
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mission bay dave hopper banquet captain exotic birds oceana restaurant tower room the pacific ocean bay front bahia belle garden view great resort bit dated parking garage family vacation sea world la jolla luau
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,936 - 1,941 of 7,055 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019

This places rocks. The staff is very friendly. We had a great meal at the Oceana Coastal Kitchen. Debi provided exceptional service and the filet mignon were phenomenal. Couldn’t have asked for a better meal. We will be back.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent visit to Catamaran’s signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, Mark! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience. We are looking forward to you joining us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

I’m a PB local but I haven’t made it into the Catamaran to enjoy drinks and a meal until today. I was so impressed with the food, drinks, and especially the service. My friend and I ordered bloody mary’s, and they were perfectly spicy and delicious! The fish tacos were lovely. We were so impressed, that we decided to consider the Catamaran for my granddaughter’s wedding which is coming up. The banquet coordinator here, Dave Hopper, gave us a tour of the ballroom as a potential reception spot. He is so knowledgeable and kind. The Catamaran is lucky to have him! We look very forward to working with him soon!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Ingsurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the delicious classic fish tacos at Moray's! It brings us great joy to hear that Dave left a lasting impression and we agree, we are lucky to have him our team! Thank you again, and we are looking forward to you joining us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We went to the Catamaran's Sunset Luau and were amazed! The food was great with the roasted pig and all and the Hawaiian hula dancers and flame twirlers were out of this world! Emma checked us in with her happy smile and Kristina cheerfully lead us to our seats. All the staff is friendly and helpful. It was a good night!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Summer Sunset Luau at the Catamaran Resort Hotel & Spa! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the event and our staff provided friendly service! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

My family (including three, hard-to-entertain teenage boys) attended a luau hosted by The Catamaran on August 6th, 2019, as VIP ticket holders. We were greeted warmly, seated at a beautifully decorated table with bay view, and treated to a buffet that included endless Polynesian foods that my entire family enjoyed including foods for kids too! The entertainment was exciting including a fire display towards the ends that really got my kids' attention. I noticed in particular that the crew of the show was really energetic and sincere - five star food and entertainment. The Catamaran staff - Emma, Rebecca, Beth, Sydney, Lindsey, and Kristina - made sure to welcome us and even check on us during the evening to explain specialties of the meal and highlights of the performances. Even just yesterday my son (15) told me it was one of the highlights of his summer 2019. Thank you Catamaran for making us feel like family. You can't beat the location here if you are coming to San Diego.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for attending one of our summer sunset luaus here at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa! We are overjoyed to hear that it was the highlight of your son's summer! Thank you again, and we hope everyone has the opportunity to join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We had such an amazing time at the luau! It was a wonderful show, the dancers were amazing! The food was delish, and the staff ( especially Lindsey Emma) were so helpful! Thanks for a memorable evening!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jeannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr-Ryan-Wilson, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for attending one of our summer sunset luaus here at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, Jeannette! It is a fantastic evening filled with delicious food and live entertainment that will transport every guest straight to the Hawaiian islands. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews