We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time at the Catamaran at Mission Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Nyack, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing time at the Catamaran at Mission Beach”
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Catamaran is located between Mission and Pacific Beaches. You can walk to restaurants/bars/shopping plus the Pacific Ocean and the Bay. It is 5 miles from downtown San Diego and 2 miles from La Jolla Beach. I thought it was a great location. We stayed in the tower, which was very nice, although you did need to be on a higher floor to appreciate the view and the closeness to the ocean. We didn't eat at the hotel, but it looked nice. The reception desk was very nice. We opted for the $13/day self parking which was fine. Parking is tough all over the beach area so it was nice to be able to just park and then walk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmo717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,242
    951
    343
    134
    89
See reviews for
1,324
975
127
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This is as close to a Hawaiian or Tahitian vacation as you can get without leaving the US. The location is unrivaled, being right on Mission Bay, a block from Pacific Beach and walking distance to local shops. We had a "garden" room close to the lobby so it was quite convenient. The room was clean, nicely furnished and had standard amenities. We enjoyed the Luau and were very impressed with quality of entertainment. Renting watercraft for fun on the bay was quick and easy. The dining is great unless you are on a tight budget. This was our second stay and our favorite San Diego resort.

Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TomFromTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Main Line
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed in the Catamaran for a trip that actually combined work (academic conferences) with a family trip. While one spouse went off to a conference, the other watched the kids (ages 5 and 7). The view from our balcony window was breathtaking. The proximity to the beach and to restaurants couldn't be beat. We loved the Catamaran's lush garden and tropical birds. We rented bikes -- including a tandem bike -- one day and cycled around Mission Bay, happily, for the kids, finding a playground nearby. We'd all love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiceaOrientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, UT
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The Catamaran has a lot to offer, starting with exceptional and friendly service and very comfortable rooms. Being an older establishment, the fancy facade that is often present at high-end resorts wasn't there - instead, what the Catamaran has is authenticity. The staff are genuinely nice and pleased to help, the beds are the most comfortable I've experienced at a resort, the on-site food and drink selection (and once again, service) are exemplary.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I would NEVER recommend the Catamaran Resort and Spa to anyone: 1. The Resort is not Baby/handicap friendly. The parking is far from the rooms and the parking garage only has stairs which resulted in many trips carrying our stroller/baby up and down. 2. We realized our room on the 12th floor was crawling with bed bugs when we were awoken our first night itching and scratching. Although most of them smaller in size we killed half a dozen the size of coffee beans. The attendant on duty did let us change rooms, but moving all of our belongings in the middle of the night was aggravating. I also considered the move a downgrade as the room was similar in amenities but the view went from an ocean view to one of the parking garage. We gave the new room on the 9th floor a good once over before moving in and although clean of bed bugs, our peace of mind was shot and was tough getting any rest that night. 3. Although we hadn't noticed the first night after moving rooms because of our tiredness, the second night we realized our heater was not working which resulted in our baby getting sick and not being able to sleep. What should have been a relaxing vacation turned into a nightmare! 4. We decided to stay at the Catamaran Resort and Spa and spend a little more money thinking the guests would be more responsible, and obviously this is not under the control of the hotel but there was considerable noise and partying going on in the hotel. One morning as we were going for an early morning walk on the beach we were taken aback by the smell in the elevator filled with throw up from too much partying the night before. 5. After all this management did nothing and only said we should have said something earlier when we complained at check out. We did say something but they obviously didn't care since we had paid through hotels.com and already received their money. 6. There were some nice things about the resort: the location, the overall appearance of the hotel, right across the street from the ocean, but we felt the negatives heavily outweighed the positives.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tanneraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Catamaran Resort Hotel. Feedback from our valued guests is of paramount importance to us. Our guests’ input provides us helpful information that assists us in better serving our guests.

I would like to begin by apologize for the condition of your guest room upon check in. Unfortunately, bed bugs have become an issue that has afflicted hotels indiscriminately. Prior to your stay we had already implemented aggressive procedures aimed at detecting and eliminating such issues. All housekeepers have been trained to search and detect the presence of bed bugs as part of their daily room cleanings, and standard operating procedures have been implemented to treat rooms when bed bugs have been discovered or their presence is suspected. In such a case, the room and all adjoining rooms are put out of service, all linens are disposed of and a professional exterminator is called to treat the rooms. Afflicted rooms are only returned to service following this treatment and the exterminator’s recommendation.

At this time I would also like to address your concern for travelers who are disabled or traveling with children. The Catamaran prides itself upon being a family destination for 50 years. Should any of our guests require assistance transporting their things from their car to our guest rooms, it is our pleasure to provide assistance. We also have ADA approved rooms and are happy to make arrangements for any of our guests with special needs.

Finally, it should be noted that we take all our guests comments into consideration regardless of the source of their reservation. In fact, this particular guest’s entire stay was refunded upon checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at this resort for 5 days. The staff at the resort were very accommodating. We stayed in the tower on the 11th Floor. Our room had one kingsize bed, nightstand and desk. Room was small but it was clean. We called down to the frontdesk and asked for a small room refrigerator which they delivered within 1/2 hour. We had a great view of the city and ocean off our balcony. First time for us to visit San Diego. We were very pleased with our stay at the Catamaran Resort Hotel. The concierge desk was helpful in reserving the Trolley Tours for San Diego, which picks you up at the resort. This tour was well worth the money for us. My husband prefers staying at hotels with continental breakfasts but there is an IHOP in walking distance. We enjoyed the bar 2 nights out of 3. Bad attitude of bartender working there on the 3rd night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy1Pennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Nasty, nasty bed covers made you wonder about the entire room and whether anything could be touched or not. Opened the screen door and heard lots of people partying and drinking and talking loud. It seemed to be the place for wedding receptions with lots of drinkers. Finally, could not stand the room any longer and called the front desk. A VERY nice African-American lady said "no problem" I will call you back. She called within 10 minutes and asked if we would come to the front desk for keys to our new room as she was the only person at the desk (11:10p.m.). We gladly obliged. We had been in the tower on the 2nd floor, but now we were relocated to the 8th floor. It was so much better and although I could not help but think creepy crawlies were going to come out, we did manage to sleep. In the daylight the next day we found this room quite odd. There was a queen size bed, one little nightstand and only one electrical outlet where you had to move the table and lamp on you knees to get to it. We had a partial ocean view (nice) and by the time we left we were thinking the hotel was not that bad, but in desperate need of remodeling.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing