We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved our stay at the Catamaran” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #23 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay at the Catamaran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed here over the 4th - it was busy but definitely enjoyable. The location, room, amenities,grounds and staff were great! It's a great family location - I was travelling with an 8 year old and he was able to meet friends in the pool, at the arcade and on the beach. He enjoyed the grounds and was able to run freely almost everywhere. Each guest received a free boat cruise on the bay - we used ours to watch the fireworks upclose! They had a luau on their beachfront property where you could join in or just watch, they had a BBQ on the beach on the 4th and they had bicycle rentals on site. You could also walk to Belmont park from this hotel. Overall, we had a great stay - it was confortable, clean and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    832
    314
    126
    82
See reviews for
1,105
798
97
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed here as a friend had stayed a few years previously. We paid $220 a night plus $13 per day for parking. The room itself was fine, clean and comfy. The hotel has only one bar which is not enough for the size of the property. It just became too busy in the evenings and felt more like a night club with people jostling for space than a relaxing bar. Did not use the hotel restaurant as the menu was a bit OTT for the property. Ate in the bar area a few times, which offered Pizza, burgers, sandwiches etc.

The hotel is NOT on the beach, it is on the Bay. The beaches and bays are all non smoking and drinking alcohol.

We were in room 550 in the tower and you will see from the photo, not the best view but I guess every room on that side of the tower had the same view.

The grounds are lovely and the ducks were tame!

Overall, the staff were good and friendly, however I would not stay here again for the lack of amenities compared to the size of the hotel. It is very well suited to families so if you are a couple I would suggest somewhere else. If you like a range of restaurants to walk to in the evening then stay down town in the Gas Lamp area as Mission Bay / Beach does not have that much to offer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Catamaran for 8 days on a family reunion trip with my husband and teenage son, my husband's 3 brothers and their family. I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations after reading mixed reviews on this site. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with ponds, ducks, trees, and flowers and are very well taken care of. I enjoyed talking to the talking parrots that live near the hotel lobby when they were on display and seeing all the families of baby ducks. I had requested a quiet room and we got a room with 2 double beds on the second floor (not in the tower) with a mini-refrigerator and coffee maker in our room. The grocery store is only a couple of blocks away and we purchased breakfast goods and some boxed lunches there to save money. Our balcony overlooked one of the ponds. It was a very peaceful location. My son enjoyed the free video games, air hockey, and billiards. We all liked the hot tub and pool. The location on the bay and just a block from the ocean was perfect. The hotel is also short distances from local attractions with Sea World being just 15 minutes away, the San Diego Zoo 25 minutes, Old Town 20 minutes. We rented a car and parked in the hotel's parking garage - parking is $13/day, but all the hotels in this area charge for parking as they are so close to the beach. We enjoyed the free nightly boat cruise on Mission Bay (Wed - Sat) where we saw the fireworks that Sea World shoots off every night. There are lots of places to eat along the boardwalk and along Mission Blvd within walking distance. One minor point is that the front desk didn't volunteer information about the free cruise when we checked in - I had to ask for the tickets which I found out about online. The front desk also didn't tell us about the spa, business center, or restaurant so they could do a better job upon check in so you know what is available on the property. One thing - the business center has a computer, fax, and printer available for guests use, but they charge $5 for the week and close at 5 pm. We almost didn't get our boarding passes printed because the center was locked, but there was another person still using the computer so she opened the door for us so we could get in. (Free wireless if you bring your own computer.) We called the hotel and got a better rate than what was advertised online and stayed for $129/night. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This was our first time traveling with three small children...three under 6 years old. The Catamaran could not have been more perfect. Convienance was a huge issue for us. This hotel was perfectly located next to the Bay and beach. There are many shops and restaurants located within a couple blocks. A grocery store was only two blocks away. Let's be frank...the room wasn't the most wonderful, but everything else made up for it. We had a pool view, which was nice and not loud at all. The room was a little small, but so was our budget. We only paid $149 for three of our four nights. It also smelled a little musty, buts seriouly what do you expect for a hotel located on the beach? Also, after being in the room with the patio doors open, you didn't notice the smell at all.

Our kids loved the grounds...they were beautiful. Very tropical, extremely tidy, and well layed out. The flora and fauna were spectacular for a hotel!!! The kids loved the pool and hot tub. It was busy at the pool like others had remarked, but if you are traveling with kids...this you wouldn't mind at all. In fact, our six year old made several little friends and they played in the pool together. The staff was very nice and helpful. We wished we could have stayed longer.

If you are use to high class, super fancy hotels, this might not be for you. But, if you want a great place for a good value...definately consider this hotel. Parking is hugely convienant too, even if you have to pay for it. We never had trouble finding a spot close to our building.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom3under6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, california
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This hotel honestly is not worth the price you pay. If you want a beach view actually it's a harbor view then pay some more money somewhere else because this place sucks. I stayed at the Sheraton the night before and the room was splended. I had a view of the moutains but the service and space was great. The room I stayed at in the Catamaran had a list of problems: the sofa bed was broken, the sink in the living room had a leaking faucet, the carpets were filthy, the room smelled, the bathroom sink was clogged, the bathroom floor was nasty, the tv provided everything at a cost (especially if you have young children who want to whind down by watching tv at night, get ready to pay $3.00 per show that lasts only 20 mins). This place was just horrible. We paid $509.00 a night and it was not worth a penny.

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL. When I complained to the staff and manager, they promised to get the stuff taken care of while we were gone for the day, when I came back nothing was done...ridiculous..

I HATED THIS HOTEL or aka RESORT>>>>really they addded palm trees, a waterfall and call it a resort...SUCKS!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanwallq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We were looking forward to our stay with our three young children given all the amenities and activities they have for children as well as the proximity to the ocean and the bay. However, we arrived to be told that our room was not cleaned yet at 4:00 pm and it would be 5-10 minutes. Over an hour later and many occasions of being told to check back in a few minutes, we finally got into our room at 5:15 PM. Keep in mind, check in is at 4 PM and we had driven 6 1/2 hours with three small children, including a 6 month old. Relieved to finally have our room key, we stepped into the room only to find a huge wet spot on the carpet where apparently the refrigerator had leaked and no one had cleaned it. We asked to talk with the manager who said to go wait in the room and he would call us with an alternate room arrangement as they were pretty full and he need to search around. Over an hour later, we decided just to unload our things as we still had not heard from him and our children were starving at this point. When my husband went back down to the front desk, the manager just said he was sorry he had been too busy to look for something for us yet. We ended up staying in that room and throughout the stay, the wet carpet began to smell awful. Needless to say, we cancelled the reservations we had for another upcoming trip in August, and all they had to say was "Well, we hope maybe you will reconsider". Highly unlikely!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammlAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The Catamaran has something for everyone! With the free video arcade directly off of the pool, my children (ages 6, 8 and 9) were able to vary their activities often with little to no effort from my husband or me. The poolside bar and grill abundantly enhanced our level of luxury. The birds were also a huge source of entertainment for my children! With Pacific Beach, quality restaurants and water/outdoor sports equipment rental within walking distance, even on site, we did not move our vehicle for four full days! The rooms are extremely well insulated, we were unable to hear children next door or footsteps from above.
For the price this resort provides great comfort, satisfaction and charm!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof3girlsArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#25 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing