We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for families”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took our two boys to the Catamaran for vacation in late August. Very nice resort, friendly service, great pool. Amazing location -- right on the bay, ocean is one block over, lots of restaurants that are walkable, plenty of activities within a 20-40 minute drive (Sea World, Zoo, Safari, Legoland, downtown San Diego, etc.). Two things kept it from a better rating -- bathrooms could have been a tad cleaner (acceptable nonetheless) and kitchen could have been more updated (we had a suite). Highly recommend for families.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe_in_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,303
    958
    345
    135
    91
See reviews for
1,362
985
131
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had paid in advance on line and when I arrived the front desk could not find my reservation. The desk manager came over immediately and took over. She was so professional and courteous the entire time. She made sure I was satisfied with how it was handled. Later that evening went outside to grab a late night snack and drink and the waitress, Jen, was the nicest wait staff I have ever met. So friendly and attentive that I will spend each night of my stay outside in her area. Very family oriented and I have to say, I am here on business and was a little leery about staying here but what a great choice. I will stay here all again.

Room Tip: This hotel offers all kinds of rooms. Taker your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6dkehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

First trip to San Diego! We stayed 3 nights 8/20 - 8/23/14 room 525. We got upgraded to a suite that directly overlooked the bay, which was awesome, but the room had a funky smell and we thought it just needed the AC on, but still continued to smell it in the bedroom. Other than that, the room was clean and nice. Beautiful location directly on Mission Bay with plenty of activities going on day and night and also a boardwalk that went all along the bay and we had a terriffic view of the laui from our balcony! There are complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas for use, but definetly need to have more for the size of the hotel. Pacific beach is across the street and it has a boardwalk as well that runs all along the ocean with lots of activities, food and shops. Recommend Kono's Cafe for breakfast right by the pier on the ocean. Short walk from the hotel. Beautiful area and close to airport. Take a drive to the Coronado area as well and watch the Navy jets fly over!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcbkedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is our fourth year staying and we always have the royal experience. The staff is amazing and very professional. They always ask where on the property we would like to stay. We stay in the garden view first floor area. It's so nice to see weddings happening on the property as well. The fitness room is perfect and looks over mission bay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a great stay at the Catamaran in July. We stayed for a few days while we were waiting to move into our cottage in La Jolla Shores.
Pros:
- We loved being on the Bay. The beach was lovely and clean. We were there in the summer but still managed to get an umbrella and/or beach chairs when we needed them. Excellent offering of paddle boards, kyaks, sailboats etc to rent. There is a long and windy bike path between the hotel grounds and the beach. Runs for miles. We loved going out for walks, early morn runs or bike rides (which you can rent directly onsite).

- Beautiful grounds. Very lush and well cared for. Loved the ponds with the Koi fish and lots of ducklings. Perfect for little people to run about.

- Location - easy walk to the ocean side if you wanted surf and a more lively atmosphere with lots of restaurants to choose from and of course a short drive to many attractions.

- Free yoga on the lawn a few times a week! This was a huge bonus for me. Such a lovely way to start the day!

- Service was top notch. From start (with our booking) to finish and everything in between (room cleaning, restaurant, fitness centre etc) we could find no fault or need for improvement with the staff. Everyone goes above and beyond with a smile. We were incredibly impressed with the honesty of the woman (Maria) who cleaned our room. She found a $50 note on the floor and put it under our shoe so we would find it, with a note! We of course thanked her with a big tip and made sure to let mgmt know.

Cons
- Rooms need a major upgrade. We stayed in the tower in a bay facing suite. The room was a good size with balcony and small kitchenette. Everything worked but was quite tired looking with a 70s decor. We are spoilt as we live in SE Asia so you can stay in a top notch hotel for a fraction of the cost of what you pay in the US but really have to say that the rooms (or at least ours) is in need of a serious renovation. The carpets and the bed spread looked very used - but the sheets and towels were in good condition. The furniture on the balcony was not inviting at all either. We had a problem with the aircon at night (just wanted it on while the kids went to sleep bc some noise from the activities outside) but after a call a handyman was sent immediately. Also had an issue with the sliding glass door coming off the rail but it was taken care of as soon as we called. Since we spent more time away from the room the decor was not a huge issue but we expected more for the amount of money that we spent and is really the reason for not giving this a 5* rating.

Overall we loved our stay and really praise the staff for all being extremely friendly and professional.

Room Tip: We would have loved a beachfront suite but they were all booked. Didnt see them from the inside but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My daughter held her wedding at the Catamaran on August 23, 2014. I can't say enough about this resort. From the beginning stages of planning to the day of the wedding the staff was exceptional to work with. Sylvia always responded promptly to questions, made sure all items were covered, and orchestrated the final day making sure everything was seamless.
The catering staff was spot on making sure the guests needs were met and service was perfect. Finally, the food was literally the best food I have had at a wedding. Having the wedding at the Catamaran was the best decision we made.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I support a number of C Suite Executives, and I had the privilege of meeting with Melissa Armstrong, Sr. Sales Manager several years ago to view the Catamaran Property in anticipation of booking a meeting there. And although the meeting was subsequently cancelled, the Catamaran has remained a property of excellence. Melissa continues to keep in touch, and keeps me informed of what is going on at the Catamaran. She graciously extended an invitation to me and a guest to one of this summer's Luau's and it was spectacular! We had a great time, and felt like we were on the islands! Don't miss this property when visiting San Diego!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Bahia Resort Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
3,848 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing