We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TPSA Annual Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“TPSA Annual Conference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was a great place for the conference....staff is wonderful, meeting space works well and the food is wonderful.

Victoria Hartwell - Convention Service Mgr, Phil Thomas - Director of AV, Hollis Lunar - Banquet manager were amazing people to work with. They know there job and are very good at it.
Ralph and Shelly - banquet captains ensured the meals were ready to go so everyone could enjoy.

It's a wonderful place for a meeting - staff are friendly, easy to work with and you'll find that they really want your business.

Room Tip: It was wondeful to just look out and be on the beach and see the water and sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieMcCarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    935
    337
    131
    89
See reviews for
1,288
948
126
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The facility was a perfect size a location for our conference. Easy to get to from the airport. The staff was always available and when we needed something the staff was there immediately. Staff always kept us informed of the plan and timing of everything which made this one of the best conferences we ever had in the 14-years of our organization. Every level of service from the front desk, Bell Capitan, Audio Visual and Catering just did what had to be done to make this a great experience. The best compliment was coming from our members saying "this is a great venue". Really nice to be able to enjoy a conference and not have to worry about the little things.

Room Tip: The view from the tower over Mission Bay is well worth every dollar spent. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Catamaran for a few days in September, and I have to say I was a little bit disappointed. The first room we were put in was a little dingy, so we upgraded to a suite on the beach. The location is great and the beach on the bay was beautiful, but the room was a little bit in need of updating. There were lots of families with kids there, and I think maybe it would be good for a family as the suites have a lot of space. The staff was also quite helpful and friendly. I just think for the money I would rather stay someplace a little more updated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I had a room overlooking Sail Bay and next to the jogging path. It was very convenient to the main building where our conference activities were located and the parking garage. I would not classify the Catamaran as a luxury hotel, but it was very nice and clean. There are great restaurants there and within walking distance.

The Catamaran's greatest asset are it's staff. Everyone I had the pleasure of meeting was exceptional. All were very friendly and went out of there way to meet my needs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nubian2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We just completed a 10 day stay. We have visited the San Diego area many times and usually stay in LaJolla or downtown. We decided to try the Mission Beach/Pacific Beach area for something different. We were not dissapointed with our selection of the Catamaran! We had a first floor garden room with a beautiful view of the garden, its ponds, flora and ducks. I have to say the staff was very friendly and most attentive to any needs. This begins with Kristin at the front desk when you check in. Our housekeeper, Luz, was great, flexible in planning her work and attentive, with a smile, to every request. We finished every day in Moray's lounge with great service and friendly conversations with Bill, Sean and Denyse. We had breakfast every day at Atoll and dinner one evening. Service and food were great. The Sunday brunch is phenomenal. Again our friends Brendan, Bill, Hector and hostess Blanca were extremely attentive to our requests. We also enjoyed several of the local restaurants recommended by the staff. My wife had 2 sessions at the spa and thoroughly enjoyed them. (sorry I do not have the names of the folks). The beach was great, quiet waters on an ocean bay. They put out lounge chairs and umbrellas every morning. Pool and hot tub were enjoyed as well. Unfortunately, the pool bar was not open during the "off season". The exotic birds were great as were their trainers. We definitely will return, hopefuly next winter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I would return here in a second, first the resort is on the Bay and across the street from the ocean, walking distance to everything. It is beautiful, clean, convenient with outstanding service. I have been too many high end spa's (or think they are) this spa delivers, from the lounge to the amenities and certainly their therapists. While there we learned that other therapists from the area go to Catamaran for their treatments! This is a beautiful place in an earthy way.(not glitz)..waterfalls, ducks, turtles, parrots beautiful flowers and streams with fish. The outside patio has seating with fire places for a cozy evening. We stayed for 5 nights during February 2014 in the tower on the 7th floor, I will say the architecture is dated...but far from being worn, it is beautifully kept. We plan to return to this resort. The restaurant is also outstanding if you do not feel like going out ...believe me there is no need too. Try the cucumber cocktail, it is quite refreshing...may I suggest the grilled pineapple for breakfast. Everything we ordered was amazing and the service never stopped. Thank you Catamaran for a wonderful trip. The only item I would change is the bicycle shop does not open until 10...I would prefer 8

Room Tip: If you have children that need to be in bed or over the "party all night" age, I suggest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcstarza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Catamaran in September 2013, and were really happy with our stay here - the location is its best asset, it sits right on mission bay so I would highly recommend paying extra for a beachfront hotel room. Breakfast, service and things to do were all great, my only negative is the decor of the hotel - our room was a suite which had more space than we even needed it was fantastic however in desperate need of some modernisation (slightly outdated however I don't know how compares to others in area).

Room Tip: Pay extra for beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing