We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“Thank You!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We come to San Diego every year to visit with friends the week before Thanksgiving. We always stay @ the Catamaran and we always have a great time. I want to personally thank Denyse from the Hotel bar. She always makes us feel welcome and always has a smile on her face. We will continue to come back year after year. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if they are renovating...during the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for your note and pointing out Denyse from Moray's Lounge. She has been here for several years and is one of our best bartenders, to be sure. The warm, welcoming nature she shows you and all of our guests comes as no surprise. We are fortunate to have her as part of our team. We hope to see you again soon at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    935
    337
    131
    89
See reviews for
1,288
948
126
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I attended a wedding at your property in October and had a great experience. There was a room block for our group, and I had an amazing experience dealing with Melissa Armstrong in the sales office. I hope that I get to experience this hotel for another wedding in the future. I would bring my family back and recommend this hotel to friends and business colleagues. Thank you for great service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Fun location in San Diego with good access to local eateries and fun things to do. I was in meetings pretty much the whole time so I did not get to hang out that much. The grounds were nicely kept although the decore is a dated Hawaiian look. The property is steps away from the bay and across the street from the Pacific.

Down sides: the room I had was a bit dank, beds and linens were sub-par. The table in my room was sticky and I had to wipe it down. I was in the "200" building, which I do not recomend, although it was great access to my car. The tower rooms looked bettter.

The layout of the property was like the "Winchester House." Very hard to navigate...halls that you had to go up then down, walkways that terminate into an office, pool area with no direct access rooms, etc. By the time you figure that out, its time to leave.

I sound so negative on this place....but really not that bad. I couldn't give it a four, but it deserves more than a three. I'd actually stay here again for mettings, but not for my vacation.

Room Tip: Not 100-200 building. Try the towers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TahmiJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we're happy you enjoyed our unique location among beaches, restaurants, and entertainment. We apologize you had to wipe down the table in your room, an unacceptable oversight by our housekeeping team. We also apologize you had trouble navigating through the resort. We do provide a resort map as part of your room key packet upon check-in and hopefully that assisted you in getting around but we will look further into adding some additional maps or signs. We appreciate your review and we hope you'll join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

During our recent Thanksgiving stay at The Catamaran Resort on beautiful Mission Bay, CA we were delighted to find that Charlotte Corvi and Courtney Guillory had placed us in a wonderful bay front suite. You wouldn't believe the views from our room!! You MUST plan to stay for the Sunday Brunch. It is the best brunch we have ever had and we always dine there when staying at The Catamaran. If you like sushi and great service you have to check it out!! Even the bellman was great, nice, helpful and strong (our luggage weighed a ton). Thanks Scott!! The spa is even a wonderful, peaceful haven. I had a massage with Ty and it was so nice and relaxing. The warm towels were the icing on the cake for me!!

Room Tip: Bay front are the best, but there is also a high rise building that, I'm sure, have amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here recently for several nights. Competent reception staff. We had a standard room, the room overlooked the parking garage, although beyond that we could just glimpse the bay. In our opinion, the ceilings on our floor of the tower made the corridors seem rather dark. The lift had some type of curtaining covering the walls. We felt our room would benefit from a refurb, in particular the bathroom, where the floor tiles had seen better days and the bath outlet and showerhead need some attention. The bathroom was wallpapered on some walls. The bed was comfortable.The room was kept clean and equipped with toiletries and plenty of towels. The young lady who served us in Moray's Bar on our first evening was very pleasant and helpful. The grounds are very pleasant with lots of trees and shrubs. I wish we had been in a position to pay for an upgrade, because I imagine the rooms on the other side of the tower to have a much better view. It is easy to get around by public transport, the bus number 8 takes you to the old town transit centre and we easily visited the USS Midway and Balbao Park from the Hotel. 7 dollars for an all day pass on the bus and trolley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Staying at the Catamaran was a welcomed retreat after long days of driving from one end of San Diego to the other for soccer games this last weekend. The room was very comfortable for myself and 3 others, 2 of which were teenage boys. The grounds were very well maintained all weekend long despite kids of all ages running amok. The staff was more than just helpful, they were very accommodating and gracious. I loved the fact that if anyone staying there needed an umbrella on Saturday because of the rain, the staff had umbrellas available at the entrances and you could just help yourself. Very relaxing even thought the weekend was chaotic. I will be back and my parents will be making arrangements to stay there September 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My entire soccer team stayed here for the NOMADS soccer tournament and we loved it! Charlotte was extremely helpful with booking rooms in advance and helping with revising and modifying reservations as needed. The grounds are amazing with footpaths, ponds, waterfalls, fish and birds. They have a bike rental on the property which was a great way to spend an afternoon cruising up and down the beach walk. The restaurant and bar were both beautiful, accommodating, and reasonably priced. I would caution that they sold out quickly and any additional rooms which became available we had to pay the full rate rather than the discounted tournament rate (which was significantly more) so be sure to get all the rooms you need early!

Room Tip: Some rooms have beach access; otherwise if you are in the tower, the higher you are the better the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We look forward to seeing you in September and the forecast looks great, so hopefully there isn't a need for umbrellas then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#26 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing