We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #17 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Tucso
1 review
“Great people”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Three of us came for a conference and had the great fortune to have Denise as our waitress three times! She was friendly, knowledgable, and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable, even finding a lost item from the previous day! The menu and food were good, the grounds, hot tub, and pool were wonderful, the room was a little dated but always clean and comfortable. Our car battery was dead when we went to leave and the man from hotel security who came to help us was terrific. Overall, very pleased with the stay and very much appreciated the great staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about Denise and they have been passed along to her. We're happy to hear you had a terrific stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    970
    349
    138
    92
See reviews for
1,396
991
131
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our room 613 looked right out onto the beach amazing views ,well appointed rooms kingsize bed spotlessly clean and the fridge was great for keeping a few beers cold. Great base for walking out to local shops and restaurant's. Staff were very friendly and helpful and even had cheese and wine sent to our room as it was our wedding anniversary lovely touch thanks girl (Kristin O, Ana, Iva and Kristin ) it was a lovely touch. The gardens were beautiful kept with fancy duck ponds here and there with giant coy carp fish and not forgetting the parrot collection

Room Tip: 613 beach facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxamtxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent one night at the Catamaran with 4 friends, in town for the Chargers game. We got two rooms overlooking the pool, which was fine as we weren't exactly there for romance. The rooms are average at best. I agree with the other commenters that the rooms could use some upgrades. The grounds around the resort are great, you forget that you are actually in a city (even though the city center is a distance away). The parrots are a nice touch. The beach outside the resort is perfect for relaxing, though we didn't swim in the ocean. the pool and hot tub were nice. Considering the price, which included breakfast when you book through the hotel's website, I would definitely think about staying at the Catamaran again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that look out over the ocean, but they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

3 nights spent here at the end of 2 week holiday visiting various parts of california. This was an anti climax at the end of our holiday!
Overall the worst of afew hotels we stayed in, rooms very dated and feel quite drab.. all fixtures and furniture very dated which does not give a luxury feel... bathroom very small and basic, tiny sink area as a kitchen! Patio furniture also rusty.
Room smelt very musty and old on arrival- not great.
Staff friendly and nice room views but needs a major renovation as not up to current standards, sure it was nice in its day but needs money spending on it. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshire_review_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great resort and what a great time was had by all. We attended a wedding and found the staff most welcoming and friendly. A special thank you to Melissa Armstrong for her above and beyond assistance, and she made our stay one we will never forget.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which served our purpose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

As a little girl I always imagined I would get married on a beach barefoot in the sand and that dream came true recently for me at the Catamaran. The setting was perfect and we had family fly in from all over the country and even some from Australia. Everyone kept telling me how much fun they were having and what a perfect wedding it was.

The staff at the catamaran were so amazing to work with. Melissa Armstrong was so helpful and really made me feel like a VIP bride. She is amazing and wonderful to work with. Courtney Guillory helped me with all my rooming lists and was amazing at helping with all our change requests. My day of coordinator Taylor Nassar was my life saver. She helped me more than I thought I was going to need it. If you are planning a wedding use Taylor as your coordinator, she is so sweet and made sure everything ran smoothly.

Also wanted to call out to the two bellhops, Alan and Scott, they were so helpful and we had a lot of stuff to move around and they were always right on point ready to help.

Best wedding every and I am so glad we picked the Catamaran. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyJean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great property..flawless execution and service. thanks to Melissa Armstrong we had five star experience and wonderful memories of Mission Bay and our family reunion. the wedding on the beach was a perfect setting for a casual but spectacular ceremony. Not often you can have the combination of sandy beach and great weather in San Diego for such an event. tom rea

Room Tip: very nice on the bay ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahia Resort Hotel
#32 of 278 in San Diego
3,898 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#23 of 278 in San Diego
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk,Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing