We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location and staff!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The Catamaran is in the perfect location in Mission Beach. The resort is on the bay and its across the street from the ocean. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. Another plus is a Ralph's grocery store is no more than a 10 minute walk. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is excellent! The walkway around the bay is really nice. The hotel room was very clean but the decor needs updating...they have a retro feel from the 80's. Overall, i would recommend the resort...you just can't beat the location!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomiebondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,207
    944
    340
    133
    90
See reviews for
1,304
963
127
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived until checking out we were treated with the utmost professionalism and courtesy by the well chosen and well trained staff. Our room was in the tower and the view was amazing. Tracey Amernick and the banquet staff created two gorgeous wedding events which we witnessed from our balcony. We saw them in action and everything was impressively orchestrated. No wonder the Catamaran is such a popular wedding venue and not just for the view.
Can't wait to return. Until then, we can picture the view of the Bay in our minds.
Frank J and RR

Room Tip: Tower rooms facing the Bay have amazing views even on lower floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: As good as I've seen anywhere. Encourages towel and linen re-use and has recycle container.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_J_andR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Second time I have stayed here...fantastic experience both times. Friendly staff, great location and excellent value for money.

We arrived late and were tired. It was a lovely surprise to find out that we had been upgraded. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

For my birthday my sister took me to the Catamaran Hotel Spa to get away for a mini vacation. It was one of the most relaxing days I've had in a while since it's hard for me to get away from my little ones. I loved the tropical ambiance of the hotel from the moment we walked in and I saw the beautiful waterfall/pond in their main lobby. Even though it was a little bit of a walk to finally find the spa it was well worth it. We checked in before our appointments so we could enjoy the day by the pool/beach. We were checked in very promptly and given a nice little tour of the facilities then escorted to our lockers. My sister had a facial while I had a massage from Sara. The massage I had was extremely relaxing and made me feel like a new woman. After our treatments we just lounged around the spa and by their pool. The pool was a little too busy so we mainly stayed by the jacuzzi inside of the spa. Once it was time to go we took showers and got ready for dinner. I really liked the fact that the receptioist Nicole remembered my sister and I without having to ask for our names again. Their staff was very attentive; including the young lady in the locker rooms (I can't quite remember her name but she had short black hair). I definitely recommend their spa espeically if you live in the area!

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel, I live in La Jolla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beautiful resort, great accommodations, and a room with a koi pond outside the patio. Very enjoyable, food and drinks at the restaurants were great, wonderful views and very friendly people. Cruised in the Bahia Belle around the bay at night, very fun. Would highly recommend staying at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the bay, or the tropical setting around the koi and duck ponds really add value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMAEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

While in San Diego for our granddaughter's college graduation we stayed at the Catamaran Resort. There were 13 of us including two very young children. This was the perfect spot for a family with different interests. The grounds are beautiful. It is located on the bay which makes it nice for paddle boarding, sailing, etc. There are rentals of bikes and other "toys" on or near the property. The staff is friendly and very helpful arranging transportation etc. We really enjoyed the Macaw show. You really feel you are on a tropical vacation when you step into the lobby, or stroll through the grounds.

Room Tip: A garden view room on a higher floor in the tower will still give you a wonderful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiouchi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a recent family vacation at the Catamaran. Can't beat the location: you have a choice of two beautiful beaches, bay and ocean! The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. The grounds are gorgeous, with beautiful plants, meandering streams, and to add to the tropical feel, they have exotic birds. Ashley is one of the bird keepers, and she took the time to tell me all about the birds. The staff there are very friendly. We will return for more visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing