We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Park Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower23 Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pacific View Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Diamond Head Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Haven(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,269)
Filter reviews
4,269 results
Traveler rating
2,624
1,024
376
146
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,624
1,024
376
146
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmission bayexotic birdsdave hopperoceana restaurantbanquet captainthe pacific oceanbay fronttower roombahia bellegreat resortgarden viewbit datedparking garagesea worldfamily vacationla jollaluau
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,251 - 3,256 of 4,269 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfect second stay! This visit some work, some play.
Love the spaces -inside and outside. Ground kept immaculate. Love the staff - friendly pleasant, respectful , and helpful. Food excellent. Quite, pleasant, & very comfortable. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013. We arrived after a long flight from the UK and a 3.5 hr journey from LA, the lady on check in was extremely helpful and friendly, showing. Us where to get a drink and some food. The hotel rooms are resort-style with a nice spacious bathroom and sink area. There is also a fridge and a table area. We had a ground floor king room and could walk straight out to the pool area. The pool is great and always enough sun loungers and pool towels. The loungers on the bay are lovely too. The free Baha Belle cruise is worth doing. Hotel is about a 20 minute drive to the Gaslamp District - we had good burgers in a bar called Analogue on the main strip. There are plenty of bars, restaurants, shops, a Starbucks and a Ralph's within easy walking distance from the Catamaran. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if in San Diego.

Room Tip: They have some rooms overlooking the bay which are great but probably cost a lot extra
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMad1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We are locals and frequent the Catamaran bar since it is just down the street, so we decided to stay there for our wedding reception because of it's locality and view. We purchased a Bay View Suite for $282/nt on April 27th and was very dissapointed by the decor and furniture in the room. It was like stepping into a hotel room from the early 80's. The outdated wicker furniture and floral prints really detract from the otherwise beautiful resort. The landscaping and view are gorgeous! The spa is expensive, but worth it! For the money it is overpriced, but you are paying for the location, certainly not the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjminsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here with the wifey poo, toddler son, and mother inlaw. The hotel is located on mission bay, literally on the water. The grounds are well kept and had a tropical/hawaiin theme to it. There are koi fish, ducks, and parrots on the grounds for viewing, which my 2 year old loved. There is a nice fitness center overloooking the water and a a restaurant with the same view. The restaurant breakfast that comes with the breakfast package was just ok. The only slight knock on the hotel is that it could use some updating. The amenities in the room worked fine, but there needs to be some investment to replace the 1974 appliances and decor.

Overall, good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattysSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything was TOPRATE at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and it made our stay really special
That made our stay very pleasureable and we really had a good time. The high-light for me came when the Bellman named, Allyhn (Allen) was called and he arrived to haul all the suitcases, baby seats and double carriage. He came in a Good Spirit and joyfully loaded all the gear unto the carrier. All the personnel were very helpful during our stay but Allyhn epitomizes the outstanding employee that every organization wants to hire to promote their business. We thanked him for his excellent service and gave him a good tip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews