We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, dirty outdated and dangerous room.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, dirty outdated and dangerous room.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pros:
Grounds are well done, the birds and the lobby, the restaurant onsite was good. The location and view are great.
Cons:
We booked a bayview suite at $330 a night. Not cheap. We expected a clean updated room.
What we got was a rundown, dirty room. The carpet was so dirty that white socks turned black in hours, there was sand and dirt in the corners, the tile in the bathroom was chipped and cracked, the sofa was torn, the pull out was all lumpy and the wall paper in the bathroom was held in place by rusty staples. The pull out bed had bugs in it and had to be changed. There was a large spider hanging from the ceiling that my husband walked into. The one time I went to the front desk to ask for help with their wi-fi, the man had the immediate tone that it was my fault, then went on to say about 5 times that their wi-fi was working so it must be my computer. Not a helpful attitude. At check out the lady asked how my stay was, I mentioned the above things to her....she said sorry but never offered a price adjustment or even a meal at the restaurant to compensate. This was a good hotel in the 90's but lack of room renovation at poor attitudes at the hotel have soured their reputation in my eyes. If I don't hear from the hotel I think I will contact my credit card company to see what they can do about a price adjustment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynneraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We were very disappointed to hear your stay was not as you had hoped. Your comments are not typical of our guest and we want to assure you we take these comments seriously. We have inspected all the suites and could not find any bathroom that was not in perfect condition. There could find no staples and that is defiantly something we would never do. We have spoken to our housekeeping department about checking the fold out beds more regularly, even if they are not used, to ensure they are perfect for each guest. We do offer free Wi-Fi and have limited staff on to help people who have issues with their operating system so I am sorry if there were no technicians on at the time of your frustration. We hope you will give us another try as we can assure you this was not a typical stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    886
    327
    130
    83
See reviews for
1,209
898
116
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A lovely hotel, really big rooms, friendly staff. Only down side is its a bit far away from San Diego centre. Other than that, would return any time. :) Suggested to use public transport to the city centre as its a $40 cab ride. Same with Sea world. Right near beach and some fast food restaurants, also starbucks only minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madisontayhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Catamaran Resort for the holidays. Traveling from Texas it was nice to find a hotel that was close to everything. Once you get to the hotel you can park and leave the car. There are many restaurants and things to do withing walking distance of this place. The staff was very friendly. The hotel has rooms with kitchens so we were able to make a few meals and saved some money. You will not believe the views from this hotel, they are amazing. We will be back

Room Tip: We called the hotel and they gave us a better price than Expedia and we were able to request a King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The Catamaran is at a great location, close to everything you need. Good, clean, large rooms, great views from the balcony. Great food and service. The gym is fantastic and the Spa exceeded expectations.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhoencianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Over the past 25 years the Catamaran Hotel has become my 'go to' destination in San Diego whether for business functions or for vacations. The hotel excels in terms of physical location with immediate access to Sail Bay, the Pacific Ocean, San Diego's extensive bike trails and more within-walking-distance restaurants than one could visit in a month. The tropical grounds with an abundance of flora and fauna are expansive and are extremely well cared for. I have always found the staff to be competent, professional, and courteous. Many of the same staff have been on site for years. Conference and breakout rooms are plentiful. In my opinion the biggest down-side to this property is that some rooms could use freshening in terms of replacing the carpeting and replacing cracked floor tiles and porcelain fixtures. Other rooms would benefit with the addition of a small micro wave oven. Since I spend very few waking hours in my room and do not prepare meals there the positive attributes of this facility far outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: My preference is any sunny room with a view of Sail Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The resort is located on the bay and the beach is just on the other side. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Many things to do around the resort especially for people who like to go to night clubs (not me). The breakfast was affordable and great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AANomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed, with wife, for a week to attend a conference held at the hotel and a little extra 'down' time.

I felt when booking that the rooms were on the expensive side but as my conference was held in the Catamaran we didn't really have a choice of hotels – so I don’t know if the prices are ‘normal’ for the area of San Diego.

Rooms in the tower were large, reasonably equipped, comfortable but not luxury and could definitely benefit from some smartening up – felt a bit drab.

Excellent location within easy walking distance for restaurants and beach on the Pacific side, not to mention being right on the Mission Bay beach. Grounds are nice and it’s easy to walk/jog to the nearby path on the bay shore. Service was ok but not great and virtually none of the staff ever spoke unless directly asked a question, not even a ‘good morning’ – not that it spoilt our stay but was noticeable after a while.

The ‘in hotel’ restaurant was expensive and not fantastic but as there were so many just outside we only used it once.

Pool is a reasonable size with sunbeds - busy during afternoons, but never full during our stay.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for the location but probably not if I was paying!

Wanted to rate the Catamaran at 3 ½ as better than ‘Average’ but not ‘Very Good’, settled for 4.

Excellent food at the little Mexican take-away next door!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are big and have limited cooking facilities if you don't want to use resturants all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#28 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing