We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel, just a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel, just a little out of the way”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A lovely hotel, really big rooms, friendly staff. Only down side is its a bit far away from San Diego centre. Other than that, would return any time. :) Suggested to use public transport to the city centre as its a $40 cab ride. Same with Sea world. Right near beach and some fast food restaurants, also starbucks only minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madisontayhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,347
    970
    349
    138
    92
See reviews for
1,396
991
131
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Catamaran Resort for the holidays. Traveling from Texas it was nice to find a hotel that was close to everything. Once you get to the hotel you can park and leave the car. There are many restaurants and things to do withing walking distance of this place. The staff was very friendly. The hotel has rooms with kitchens so we were able to make a few meals and saved some money. You will not believe the views from this hotel, they are amazing. We will be back

Room Tip: We called the hotel and they gave us a better price than Expedia and we were able to request a King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The Catamaran is at a great location, close to everything you need. Good, clean, large rooms, great views from the balcony. Great food and service. The gym is fantastic and the Spa exceeded expectations.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhoencianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Over the past 25 years the Catamaran Hotel has become my 'go to' destination in San Diego whether for business functions or for vacations. The hotel excels in terms of physical location with immediate access to Sail Bay, the Pacific Ocean, San Diego's extensive bike trails and more within-walking-distance restaurants than one could visit in a month. The tropical grounds with an abundance of flora and fauna are expansive and are extremely well cared for. I have always found the staff to be competent, professional, and courteous. Many of the same staff have been on site for years. Conference and breakout rooms are plentiful. In my opinion the biggest down-side to this property is that some rooms could use freshening in terms of replacing the carpeting and replacing cracked floor tiles and porcelain fixtures. Other rooms would benefit with the addition of a small micro wave oven. Since I spend very few waking hours in my room and do not prepare meals there the positive attributes of this facility far outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: My preference is any sunny room with a view of Sail Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The resort is located on the bay and the beach is just on the other side. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Many things to do around the resort especially for people who like to go to night clubs (not me). The breakfast was affordable and great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AANomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed, with wife, for a week to attend a conference held at the hotel and a little extra 'down' time.

I felt when booking that the rooms were on the expensive side but as my conference was held in the Catamaran we didn't really have a choice of hotels – so I don’t know if the prices are ‘normal’ for the area of San Diego.

Rooms in the tower were large, reasonably equipped, comfortable but not luxury and could definitely benefit from some smartening up – felt a bit drab.

Excellent location within easy walking distance for restaurants and beach on the Pacific side, not to mention being right on the Mission Bay beach. Grounds are nice and it’s easy to walk/jog to the nearby path on the bay shore. Service was ok but not great and virtually none of the staff ever spoke unless directly asked a question, not even a ‘good morning’ – not that it spoilt our stay but was noticeable after a while.

The ‘in hotel’ restaurant was expensive and not fantastic but as there were so many just outside we only used it once.

Pool is a reasonable size with sunbeds - busy during afternoons, but never full during our stay.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for the location but probably not if I was paying!

Wanted to rate the Catamaran at 3 ½ as better than ‘Average’ but not ‘Very Good’, settled for 4.

Excellent food at the little Mexican take-away next door!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are big and have limited cooking facilities if you don't want to use resturants all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We came to San Diego for 3 nights for our Anniversary. The Check In was good, friendly staff and property very excellent, just some up and down but no biggie. We stayed in King Bay Suite which was an perfect choice, nearby the beach- nice view and very quite property. There was an hole on the wall, and stain on the carpet but didn't gave much importance about it as our schedule was so hectic, so we didn't bother to complain about it at the Front Desk. The free internet was great, had an issue with it on 2nd night as there was no connection..Concierge was very helpful, showed us the right place for Sea Food. There is also an nice gift shop, who also arranged our Disney World Tickets. The Atoll restaurant on the property was excellent, good food...Surely if we go to San Diego sometime, will stay at this place again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReignVictorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,898 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk,Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing