We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #15 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I live in San Diego but we were getting our house tented for termites. We booked a room at the Catamaran as a mini vacation getaway. The hotel is in a great location, bayside just across the street from the beach, and has beautiful grounds with ponds filled with birds and ducks. I highly recommend the American Breakfast package. The staff was wonderful and the room had a nice view of the bay. We hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Some rooms in the tower have a bayside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,190 - 3,196 of 4,021 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was a great hotel... a paradise in Mission Bay I was told from BlueVan Shuttle driver.

Service was excellent, the room was awesome. Good TV, good internet connection, so quiet, good contrast leisure vs. conference. It is nice to walk by exotic birds, duck, lake and palm tree's on your way from the room to the conference venue.

The conference venue has an excellent catering and magnificient view from mission bay beach.

I loved it! Stood there for one week. The lobby is a nice place to stay if you have a late-evening flight... no need to waste up time in the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms out of the tower on ground floor and in the garden are the best quality/price option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYD_Pilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have a meeting at this hotel every November. It's a great place to have a meeting if you keep from being distracted by the beautiful scenary! The hotel sits on Mission Bay in a quiet secluded setting that is beautifully landscaped. The Pacific Ocean is just across the street. Therre are lots of great resturants within easy walking distance and its a short shuttle ride to the airport. There is a wide variety of room types. All are OK, but some are definately better. The suites on the bay are nicest. The rooms in the tower are like most hotel rooms. The rooms in some of the other buildings are a little more dated. This would be a great get away spot for couples or a family.

Room Tip: The bayside beach suites are nicest! The tower has reliably updated and nice hotel style rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTHogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Catamaran resort. I took advantage of the bike rentals and enjoyed the neighborhood and the beach. The dinner at Atoll was wonderful. The staff is attentive and friendly. The bed was uber comfortable. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knitwitmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Catamaran for a conference. I was so pleased with everything from check-in to check-out. Staff was super friendly, the grounds immaculate, and the food tasty. We had a suite and it was clean and had everything that one could need for a great stay. The beach was beautiful and it seemed that they had an activity for everyone, although I did not have time to enjoy it!!
Many great restaurants within walking distance and the views were beautiful. The waterfowl and parrots that reside there are beautiful and very well kept.
The spa was super warm which felt fab after a day of sitting in meetings. Very quiet at night for a restful sleep. Our room was kept super clean by housekeeping and well supplied. Would not hesitate to reccomend this great place to anyone looking to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: Have no other rooms to compare it to. Ours was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maricolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a week in San Diego, staying at the Catamaran Resort on Mission Bay. A short block from the Pacific Ocean. A wonderfully relaxing venue. The spa services are amazing, the Sunday Breakfast Buffet fantastic and the staff, for the most part, excellent. Easy to get to from the airport too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Catamaran has been around for a long time. The property exudes a tropical feel and is across the street from the beach. There is a tower with a view and 2-story buildings throughout the property. The best place to stay is in the 2-story building facing the bay. We stayed several times on the ground floor with easy access to the boardwalk and the bay.

The resort needs a good makeover as the rooms are old and do not have the most up-to-date amenities.

Nice restaurant and great breakfast. The pool is nice, but not really large.

If you can get a deal during off-season, go ahead and splurge for a nice room.

Being is Pacific Beach, there is a lot to explore up and down the coast too. We always go to the SD Zoo or Sea World.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
4,004 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $156 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk,Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing