We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“san diego” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“san diego”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Loved the grounds with all the plants and bird life! The staff were all very friendly and helpful as well. They always had a hello and a smile when you would walk into the lobby. The room had private views of the bay which were nice and quiet. The bed was amazing! A pillowtop mattress that made me not want to get up even though there was an ocean I wanted to get out and see every day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vb091781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    925
    335
    131
    87
See reviews for
1,265
941
125
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The bay front suites have a great location, close to everything. Pull out couch will give you a poor night sleep if you are over 40. Food and happy hour is a wonderful 3-6 pm.
The grounds are beautiful,bird show was fun. Lots of fun activities for all ages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa Az
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place was my cup of tea. Loved it:) It was the best of both worlds from the bay out back to the Ocean about a block away. Lots to do and play with. all sorts of fun rentals at great prices. Great restaurants. The Sunday morning brunch was just beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewels2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I and our 21 month old stayed at the Catamaran in August '12. It was the perfect place for us. We stayed in a bay-view suite in the towers. The grounds are beautiful and our daughter loved seeing the ducks, fish, turtles, and all the animals on the property. The breakfast was wonderful and we ate outside with the beautiful views. The only complaint I would have would be the decor of the furniture - it does need some updating. And the carpets do need to be replaced. But for the location and price, we were more than comfortable (our bed we SO comfortable - not too soft - just perfect). We loved seeing the fireworks every night from our room. I like the walking path that is just behind the hotel for walking/running/biking. The happy hour was also great and they let our daughter be in the bar area which was nice for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovemylabs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The service was fantastic, and the location was absolutely perfect, giving us quiet mornings at Mission Bay and afternoons and evenings at Mission Beach. The facilities over all were wonderful, but I felt our room needed some work. There was an AC leak that dripped in the closet, and the screen door on the patio was a bit of work to maneuver. Those were small complaints, however, as it was clean and comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful to a person. We would definitely return. I'd give it 4.5 stars if this rating system permitted.

Room Tip: If I had to do it again, I would choose the waterfront rooms. They're more expensive, but it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one week of combined business and leisure. The hotel offered a beautiful sub-tropical garden with ducks and birds. The breakfast restaurant is facing beautiful Mission Bay side walk. The hotel lobby offered a welcoming waterfall to fish pond.
The front desk staffs were helpf check-in and check out processes were quick and smooth. Concierge staffs were also very helpful even though he looked always busy with so many guests' requests and traffic in the hotel lobby.
The room, however, looked a bit weathered. A nice and comfortable twin bedroom with kitchenette. Being a resort hotel, the hallway and the elevators were found dirty at most of the time.
Parking structure driveway needed extra caution for the vehicle maneuvers. Hotel guests can use room key to open the parking portals.
This hotel is located just a block away from Pacific Beach and there are many dining choices available within 5minutes walks.
It was a nice stay to enjoy San Diego Pacific Beach and MIssion Bay sands.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The lobby was stunning with a waterfall and large Koi fish. We stayed in a room around the pool on the ground floor with a "private garden". There wasn't much to that garden and it felt a bit claustrophobic with a high bamboo fence. Next time we'll get a room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful heated pool. Mission Bay was very calm with a nice breeze. We loved trying the paddle boards and 14 foot sailboat. Both were very affordable. We also loved taking the free trip on the large Mississippi River style boat down the bay. The concierge gave us a great tip to visit the amusement park while we were down there. Roller Coaster was fun for the kids. Don't miss the Wave House! La Jolla was a short drive north and we loved seeing the wild seals on the rocks. Amazing! There is also a fabulous affordable taco stand next to resort. We loved it for lunch.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the beautiful pool. Ground floor "private garden" was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FKWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#26 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing