We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$282
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$214
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$207
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$255
$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$323
$199
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,305)
Filter reviews
4,305 results
Traveler rating
2,642
1,036
381
147
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,642
1,036
381
147
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmission bayexotic birdsdave hopperoceana restaurantbanquet captainthe pacific oceanbay fronttower roombahia bellegreat resortgarden viewbit datedparking garagesea worldfamily vacationla jollaluau
Filter
Updating list...
3,582 - 3,587 of 4,305 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Recent stay(2nd visit to this hotel), provided us with another great room in tower facing the bay. We love the location, on Mission Bay and across from Pacific Beach. Traveling with 3 small children, they loved the parrots just outside lobby! And s great staff member who was one of keepers gave us a great show with them plus other info about new baby ducks on grounds. Weather wasn't great during our stay but kids still loved going out on bay to look for shells. Had a dbl queen room with kitchenette, very clean! While hotel does feel little dated it was clean, comfortable with everything in working order.
We did get a family special as cousin works there, little pricey for our wallets but still a great place and location!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank all101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at the Catamaran for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute I loved everything about the hotel, friendly staff, clean room, beautiful grounds. Our room walked out to the bay, my kids loved playing in the bay. Located just one block away from the ocean beach. We bought sand toys and souvenirs at the boardwalk. The very best food we had during our stay was the taco shop right next door to the Catamaran. La Playa Taco Shop has great REAL Mexican food at very reasonable prices. The chili relleno and the carnitas nachos were the best ever!

Room Tip: If you are not spending a lot of time in the hotel, tower rooms would be fine. If you want to spend time on the bay playing, walking, water sports, etc...I would get a room that looks onto the bay. Easy access to use the bathroom, get snacks, sunscreen, etc...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband's work booked the hotel since they were holding a conference there. He was booked a standard room. We decided to turn this into a family trip and upgraded the room to one with 2 queen beds and a small kitchen.We also requested a crib for our baby.
Upon arrival the property seemed really nice. Very lush with tropical landscaping, koi ponds, parrots and a variety of water fowl. The room was, however, quite dated (popcorn ceilings, a window a/c- heater unit) and the appliances in the kitchen were probably from 1965. Despite the dated look of the room, it was very very clean. There wasn't a speck of dust or a stain anywhere. The room was quite large as well. There were 2 queen beds that were very comfortable, a hide-away couch, a table and chairs, kitchen and breakfast bar. The kitchen came fully loaded with plates, cups, silverware, pots, pans, etc. which was really handy for us since we brought the kids. Daily maid service even does your dishes! The hotel staff was very courteous and made great recommendations for restaurants and things to do.
We did not take advantage of all of the amenities the hotel had to offer, and they have a lot. Next time. The hotel was in a great location. Right on the bay and across the street from the beach. There were a lot of restaurants and shops within walking distance. A very short drive to a ton of things to do: 3 miles to Sea World, about 20 minutes drive to the San Diego Zoo, the gaslamp area, the Birch Aquarium, Coronado and so much more!
The restaurant was good but a little pricey.The rooms were a little pricey too considering how outdated it was. Overall, based on location and the property in general, I would stay there again, especially if my husband's work covered a portion of the cost again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Lulu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Recently stay at the Catamaran Resort for three nights. Check in clerk was friendly and efficient. Was assigned to an unit in an older building on the ground floor facing the parking lot. The room appeared to be clean, however the bedspread appeared to be worn out. The room was good in size and despite being next to the parking lot, it was pretty quiet. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. Had a friend staying in the tower building and when I checked it out, it was ten times better than my room. His room appeared to be more open and it even had a full size refrigerator inside. I was definitely jealous and to think we even pay the same price for our rooms. Despite that, most of the employees I saw were friendly and professional. If I stay here again, I definitely would want a tower room. Even though its marked three stars, it should be 3 1/2 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

i usually stay at this hotel for the users meeting of a product we use at work, so this is my 3rd year staying here. The property is huge, the people are friendly, and the center garden/jungle with the birds is really wonderful to wander and explore. I've never been to the pool unfortunately, or the bar, but the restaurant is clean, the staff friendly, the food great, the beach awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden, but in the structure closer to the ocean. Rooms in the 100 block are a bit to noisy just off the parking.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews