We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, restful resort on Mission Bay (Sail Bay)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, restful resort on Mission Bay (Sail Bay)”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked this place sight-unseen for a 3-night trip after Christmas. So glad we did! Great location on a spit of land sandwiched between the ocean and the bay. Grounds are beautifully landscaped, with little surprises -- parrots, ducks, koi, tiki lamps -- plus a pool and hot tub. Ocean front room was worth the splurge. Great view of sunset from the Bayside walking path. Spa services were friendly and professional -- had a pedicure and decided to come back the next day for eyebrow waxing, half hour massage, and a half hour facial. Enjoyed room service for one breakfast. Great happy hour deal in the lounge. We walked across to Pacific Beach to eat most of our meals (The Green Flash, World Famous), and to enjoy the Ocean front walking path. For great, cheap food, we also recommend La Playa Taco Shop (3973 Mission Blvd) -- try the pozole and the HUGE serving of horchata. We've stayed several places in San Diego over the years. Overall, this resort is now one of our two favorite resorts in San Diego (the other is Pacific Terrace). Highly recommend Catamaran Resort!

Room Tip: Ocean front terrace room on second floor is pricey, but worth it. I would not have liked the patio r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzinSantaCruz_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,303
    958
    345
    135
    91
See reviews for
1,362
985
131
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I have not stayed at this location, but I did have a fantastic spa experience here. It was amazing! Spa is complete with extremely clean locker, relaxation, steam, and sauna room(s), The massage therapist was one of the best I've had. She made sure it was interactive, asking questions and giving instruction during massage, but not so much that it distracted from the relaxing experience. It was great, and the rest of the property was beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtntrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Apparently they hand out 4 star ratings to anyone who applies! Filthy, run-down roach hotel!!! Skip this place for a 2 star!!!! At least you'll save some $!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ministemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I can tell what kind of hotel
I'm in by the cleanliness of the elevator... Call me crazy, but it works every time. The elevator carpet looked like it had never been vacuumed, let alone cleaned. Combine that with the filthy sliding glass doors and popcorn ceiling in our room and you have a filth infested 5 roach special! Overpriced and run down. Do yourself a favor and try the Best Western on the beach! This place is disgusting!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinisterMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2011

really enjoyed our stay. the grounds are very pretty. small streams with waterfowl food is good at the restaurantS. wonderful prompt service. we personally like to be in the tower to take advantage of the views. having a kitchen in the rooms is a great way to save money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbone29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Yep, That sums it up. We arrived for a nice weekend at a resort that we had been to in the past. Looking for a quiet time we were greeted by a crowd similar to spring break gone wild. We were upgraded to a suite, probably because we paid over $500 for our weekend when everyone else there paid under $200.

The decor was outdated, but clean, so no real concerns there,

First off the water from the faucet was scalding hot on hot or cold. Both sinks, the one in the kitchen and the bath had the same issue. Obviously something was not plumbed correctly to get hot on the cold side. The shower however seemed to like to pulse from scorching hot to freezing cold.

Then after midnight there was major partying and screaming coming from the rooms below us and across the way. It was as if they were in our room. Now maybe we should have taken them up on the screaming at 2 or 3 AM asking everyone to go skinny dipping, but we were there for alone time. We called the front desk after midnight to complain and were greeted by a statement "well, it IS the weekend, what do you expect" and then after insisting they said they would send security. By the continuing partying and noise they apparently didn't send anyone that had any hearing out to see what was going on.

We complained again at check out and were told that they would make a note of it, but no apology or anything - until my review and response to their survey when I was offered a free basic room for one night and a refund for $100 on our stay. Yeah, right. A nice effort, but really a poor showing. I wonder what the restrictions are on using the room and am not sure if we will use it or not.

Room Tip: Assuming they fix the water issue and you aren't there on a party weekend get a beach suite or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarageBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I attended an event in San Diego which I recieved a group rate of $99/nt. The garden/pool view rooms are small and dated but have the latest 42" flat screens if you plan to hang in at night. The pool and spa areas are very nice. The exercise facilities, hot tub and spa services are worth the stay at this hotel. I was very impressed how well maintained and clean everything was. They truely have a resort feel and you are within a 5 minutes walk to the beaches on the ocean and bay. There is a restaurant and lounge area as well.

Room Tip: If you don't have to pay full price for your stay then I think this is the best value hotel in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpj028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Bahia Resort Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
3,848 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Property: Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few resorts on Mission Bay to not charge a resort fee! The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destination located on the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. With features including lush tropical gardens and private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers an ideal blend of fun and tranquility all year-round. Established in 1958, the Catamaran is a paradise featuring more than 1,000 varieties of exotic plants and animals from around the world. Palm trees, bamboo, waterfalls and koi ponds appeal to the senses, while playful parrots delight and intrigue guests. The Catamaran’s architecture, reminiscent of the traditional Colonial Hawaiian style, boasts accents including totem poles handcrafted in Bali, art pieces such as tapa cloth from Vanuatu and a beautiful front desk constructed of Black Koa wood imported directly from Tahiti. At the Catamaran, guests are checked into one of 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio that opens to stunning views of Mission Bay, the Pacific Beach neighborhood and coastline, or the hotel’s lush tropical gardens. All guests are provided a full range of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. On-site dining options include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, rated by Zagat as one of San Diego’s most anticipated restaurants of 2015 and featuring chef-driven surf and turf dishes. Next door to this signature restaurant is Moray’s, where guests can sip on a signature Moray’s Mai Tai, savor a local craft beer and enjoy daily happy hour specials. Both venues feature a blend of indoor and patio spaces, the latter lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms. Guests may also choose to grab a bite poolside at the Catamaran’s full bar and grill which serves up barbecue favorites during the spring and summer months. Another standout summer special is the Catamaran’s signature luaus, featuring live performers that guide guests through the cultures of the South Pacific as they enjoy a Hawaiian buffet. Those who prefer to spend their time on the water can opt for a cruise on the Bahia Belle, a replica of an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours around Mission Bay. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset from the top deck, or kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. The Catamaran Spa—the only beachfront spa in San Diego—offers a South Pacific-inspired menu of treatments including massages, facials, body wraps, hydrotherapy treatments and more—carried out with all-natural marine and botanical elements. Additional wellness amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, beach cabanas, an open air fitness center, seasonal outdoor yoga classes and more. Further vacation activities include rental paddleboards, sailboats, kayaks, surfboards, bicycles and Segways. The Catamaran is also located within the beach towns Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, where guests can stroll the boardwalk or the iconic Crystal Pier, play at the beach or experience a variety of cafes and boutiques. The resort is also within 10 miles of major San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing