We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews seem a mixed bag, we must have got lucky!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging to your Saves list
Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4767 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 35% Spring Savings!
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reviews seem a mixed bag, we must have got lucky!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

As everyone else has said, the location simply cannot be beaten. Amazing views out over the pacific from the sixth floor, including dolphins, just wow.
Allocated parking underneath the building was fine and being pretty much the only high rise in the area it was certainly easy to find.
Reception staff were very polite and helpful, as were security.
Pacific beach itself, loved it! I've read a few comments on various review sites saying it was a bit 'lively' and attracting a college age clientele as a negative aspect of the area. As far as I can see it added to the whole feel of the place, certainly no unpleasant rowdiness, in fact quite the opposite, very friendly and polite. Maybe this is because we were used to United Kingdom teenagers, sullen, miserable, sometimes aggressive, no doubt due to the endless rain they have to endure.
It was a short walk out onto the main street for a variety of shops and restaurants which i'll be reviewing seperatley (but the Baked Bear was awesome).
Our condo itself was excellent, clean, comfortable and well equipped for all out needs. Beds were lovely and the beach toys left by previous occupants certainly helped us enjoy our stay.
The pool complex, although a block and a half away (short walk out the back of the carpark) was also really good, well maintained and a lovely water temperature in the main pool (even if the spa was seriously hot).
Would certainly recommend Capri by the Sea to friends and would make it a regular haunt but for the 11 hour flight from the UK.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyandmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Let me start by saying you will love the ocean views. It doesn’t get much better than staying right on the water. Now for the unit; The place was dirty and run down. For 300 dollars a night you would think it would be nicer. The place NEEDS a paint job, new carpets a refreshed bathroom, closet. Baseboards are missing, toilet seat is disgusting. The bed in the master is foam and sunk in the middle. Time for a new bed! I would also fire whoever does the housekeeping. They do not know how to clean. I give this place 1 star and that’s only for the ocean view.

Room Tip: Corner units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

First let me state that this is not an hotel, it is a condo high rise for which at least two companies rent out units for the individual owners, which can be confusing when checking in. We rented through All Seasons Resorts. The building consists of 1, 2, and 3 br units all with ocean view. One feature that immediately struck us was that the hallways were outside and the bedrooms in the one bedroom have windows to the outside hallway. I suppose this type of outside corridor is not unusual in a California high rise, but it means that dirt from the concrete floor of the corridor gets tracked into the units. Also there can be a draft through the doors. There is no air conditioning in these units. They can get warm in the afternoon sun, but cool off at night.

My wife and I stayed there in March 2014 for 3 nights. The hotel is located in the hopping beach community of Pacific Beach. On the weekends it is a busy, fairly noisy area.

We experienced two different rooms: 804 (1 BR) and 712 (2BR). The first room's fridge failed during the night and the alarm on the fridge beeped all night and kept us awake. The manager moved us to a new unit in the morning. They were very helpful to us in making the move quickly and deserve credit for that.

The rooms all have a wonderful view of Pacific Beach right below the building. Given they are on the beach, they have a lot of security on the doors and a 24 hr security desk. They also have a lot of issues with sand getting tracked into the rooms, despite the hi-rise nature of the building. Both rooms had updated kitchen counters and bathrooms. The furniture varied but in 712 in particular it was worn and tired - lots of scuffing and scratches. The carpeting in 712 was very dirty and covered in stains. This was noted in a review of that unit from 2010. There was no carpeting in 804 and the floor needed a more serious cleaning than sweeping, as did some of the furniture. The kitchen equipment was limited and only2 towels for dish drying were provided. There were no beach towels in 712. Due to the individual nature of the ownership, the furnishings and level of upkeep seem to vary a lot. We payed for a premium room, which was supposed to be modernized.

If you are expecting a sparkling clean, modern, updated apartment, you will not get it. If you want a place right on the beach, with beautiful sunsets outside the window, this may be for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtravcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at The Capri by the Sea in San Diego.It surpassed our expectations.We found the condo unit to be very large,more than enough room, for 4 adults and one 10 year old.The unit was nicely furnished and bright,and the views from the large sliding glass doors, in the living room and front bed room were just fantastic. We were treated to the most beautiful sunsets that I have ever seen, from our room and the roof top deck.There was also had a place to Bar-B-Q on the roof top deck,which was a great addition to the place. The beach was clean and a great place to spend time with your family,we loved the pool and hot tub too.This is a marvelous place to stay,and I would highly recommend it to travelers, looking for a quality place to stay for any occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timetravler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Capri by the Sea is a beautiful Condo on the beach. All rooms face the beach. The pictures on their website dont do it justice, this place is GORGEOUS.

When you walk into your room, you have a big window wall viewing the Ocean. On the side walls are ceiling to floor mirrors which give you the feeling that you can see the entire ocean. 95% of the lights in the condo are dimmable. All the appliances are in great shape and the bed is super comfy. The couches fold out into beds. You could comfortable have at least two parents and three to four kids stay in the single bedroom condo.

Walls are thick and you cannot hear your neighbors from any angle.

The sunset at night is breathtaking. Then at night, they leave lights on the beach until about 11 it seemed like. Which is nice because you can go out and play games on the beach.

The surrounding area has a lot of fun shops to visit.

There are not any Grocery stores near Capri by the Sea. Costco is about ten minutes away. Which is great if you are bringing your family. If you are going for a romantic getaway with your spouse, I would recommend Food for Less on 4995 Shawline Street, San Diego, CA 92111 (Its about 20-25 minutes away). The closest Walmart does not have all the food options you may want (lunch meat, produce and minimal frozen goods). That Walmart also is right next door to Food for Less.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and couldn't hear any noise from people walking along the beach trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just returned from a long weekend in San Diego and were looking forward to our stay in Capri By the Sea. We had stayed there before and loved it. We still love the location and the views of the ocean. We love leaving the sliding door open at all times to snooze while listening to the waves and feeling the warm sunshine on our faces. We love the size of the condo and having access to a kitchen and dining room table. Our disappointments on this trip were the condition of the condo. It was old and outdated. The wallpaper was gross and the bathroom was ugly. Most of the appliances worked. Only the trash compactor was broken, but we had our daughter and son-in-law stay with us to use our pull out sofa. There were not enough linens for this bed and saw that to get extra towels, washcloths, sheets or pillows, WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY EXTRA!!! I complained and got nowhere, but Target has low prices on their pillows, etc.., so we gave them our business. I would be nervous about staying here again as the condition of the rooms are so unpredictable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in the condo 307 that looks newly renovated. All the condos at Capri have ocean view. The sunset in the pacific is simply amazing. Great location too: few meters from the beach, pier and surf rental. Quiet neighborhood. Terrace on the rooftop with barbecue. Outdoor and indoor private parking. Also have outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Located in a dead end street, so absolutely no traffic near the building.

The kitchen is fully equiped, we had a way more than we needed. There is also beach accessories available in the room such as chairs, sun umbrella, beach ball etc.

The sofa bed is comfortable.

Friendly staff.

We highly recommend Capri by the Sea. Very good quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lonetraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,673 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#19 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging

Address: 4767 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Capri By the Sea, an idyllic setting for your next active vacation or quiet retreat. Located just north of the historic Crystal Pier along the famous boardwalk that parallels an endless sunswept beach, guests enjoy carefree seaside living in spacious and modern 1- and 2-bedroom condominium suites. Each condo faces the ocean and offers stunning panoramic views through double-sliding glass doors and from private Juliette balconies. An endless number of dining, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife opportunities begin right outside your door and await you in nearly every direction. Three miles to the north lie the eclectic neighborhoods of La Jolla and San Diego Underwater Park. Three miles to the south you'll find Mission Bay, home to Mission Bay Park, picturebook marinas, and of course, Sea World. Wake up each morning to the sound of seabirds and gentle waves. Cook breakfast in your fully furnished kitchen, then relax in our private swimming pool or jacuzzi, or step out onto the sandy shoreline for a swim or some beachcombing. Return in the evening to prepare a meal on the outdoor grill or retire to the rooftop terrace to take in an ocean sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Capri by the Sea by All Seasons Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri By The Sea Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing