We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My husband and I found this hotel when we randomly stumbled upon it. We were stopping by all of the “trendy” hotels in effort to accommodate our wedding guests that were coming from out of town. We live a couple hours north, so we were searching for ourselves, our wedding guests and our wedding party (friends, etc.). This place is very unique – we loved it and so did everyone else.

Chris Bartholomew, Director of Sales set us all up with great suites and rooms and extended the bar hours so our guests could continue the night after the wedding. Everything was absolutely perfect – our room, the service, the food, the bar, the VIEWS, and most importantly the cost! We enjoyed our stay so much, that we went back - and Chris continued to make our stay a priority.

It’s not your typical hotel; if you’re looking for an interesting place to stay that will meet all of your needs – stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherdarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,281 - 3,287 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

We can't wait to go back ! Stayed in the newer part of the hotel. Balcony faces the beach watching military watercraft, pelicans, joggers, blissful location truly. Fred the bartender kept us company while we waited for our room to be ready, great hotel ambassador. Wonderful front desk staff, couldn't do enough for us. Big room, Granite tops, clean as a whistle. The pride in their City shone through, and staff took the time with us to be tour guides and make recommendations

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinneandtroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We booked this hotel with a last minute deal so, we weren't expected so much. But it was nice. We had a view on the boats, very quiet. The room and bathroom were very clean. They didn't charge us for a crib in the room (it's the first time). There are 2 pools with jacuzzi, their restaurant is nice also.
I would recommend this hotel but with the view on the boats (the other one is not so nice: parking lot and street)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Nice location, renovated bathroom....it doesn't really bother me that this place has some of thair of an older motel to it. Nice bed and TV. Not particularly well insulated rooms, can hear noise from above, side, stairs etc. Decent but not outstanding value for money. I'd stay there again, but not in a hurry to go back...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We first stayed at this hotel in May 2009. The new building and renovations were still underway at that time.

We checked in and were given a room with a view of construction fencing. We didn't want construction noise, and preferred at least some kind of view, so we asked, and were switched to another room. It was an older room, but clean. It was a ground floor room with a view of the marina. We thought it peculiar that the in-room refrigerator was in the bathroom (though the bathroom was nice). Our biggest complaints about the room were: 1. the noise of the marina gate constantly slamming shut and 2. the location right by the laundry facility. Overall, we weren't very impressed with our stay. When emailed a survey from the hotel, my traveling partner responded honestly. The manager apologized for the inconvenience and offered to help us with our return stay, if we'd like.

Fast forward to March 2010. As promised, the manager helped us with a nice room and a good rate. We were in the newest building, 3rd floor, overlooking the marina. Once again, we were near a marina gate, but this time it closed silently. My traveling partner is a stickler for cleanliness, so he checked the room. There were crumbs of food on the sofa, a sticky stain on the armrest of the chair, a sticky bathroom floor, ring marks on the bathroom vanity, and a pen mark on the sheets. We weren't thrilled, especially since the manager had helped us to book our stay (perhaps he would've made sure our room was clean?), but were eager to get out to the beach for sunset. When we returned from our evening out, I began to unpack our suitcases. I was shocked to find someone else's dirty laundry in our drawers! I'm not the finicky one, and I told my companion that we'd talk to the front desk first thing in the morning (as I was exhausted and just wanted to sleep).

When we headed out for the day, we spoke with Danny at the front desk. He was courteous and made note of our concerns. He said he would contact the housekeeping manager so it would be taken care of. We returned again that evening, and our room had been serviced (i.e. the bed made, towels refreshed, vacuumed, etc.). However, not ONE of our concerns had been addressed. Highly disappointing.

We checked out the next morning, and Danny was shocked to learn that our concerns hadn't been taken care of. We were offered 15% off our next stay as compensation, but I'm pretty sure we won't be returning. Too bad, because we love the location and the free parking.

Besides the cleanliness, we noticed many other things: The elevator in this building looked like a freight elevator, so we thought we had made a wrong turn (we hadn't). This was a new room, and there were paint marks on furniture, the sliding glass door, etc. Also, the front door should close securely for safety, however ours slammed shut to the point it hurt our ears. There was no way to keep the bathroom door open. The wallpaper looked as if it were put up hastily, as it seemed to be peeling in places. Overall, it looked as if this addition was put together quickly in time to open, rather than someone looking over all the fine details to be sure it looked great.

This hotel has potential, but it's just not quite there yet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertDweller1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Our military family of four got a great deal, "50%" off, for our spring break. Hotel has a new and old section. We were given a room in the old section, bottom floor, window/door facing parking lot. The room was small and a "window-type" A/C unit did the cooling, no couch or tables w/chairs. Now, if you can get over that, which we did, it is a nice place to stay. The beds were good and the room clean with no smells, and a little fridge was nice. The pool area was nice and cozy and the location is superb. Again, we had kids, and the pool was great as was the huge park along the bay directly across the street. The area leading to the island, and the island itself was in great location, not run down and felt very safe. We took a chance and stayed here as to not stay at Hotel Circle. It paid off as we felt the area was more "San Diego" than the strip of hotels off the highway. All the good sites to see were about 10 minutes further away, but a bad commute at all and the location on the water made up for it. The hotel staff was friendly and our overall stay was enjoyable. If you get a good deal on the "basic" room, you'll be happy as long as you don't plan to spend a lot of time there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MH-60_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Think doors right out to the parking lot versus in a corridor. DIm ligting in one of the bathrooms forced us to switch rooms. I travel extensively for business and leisure and normally wouldn't stay at a place like this. It was a good location for visiting SeaWorld and for hanging out in Old Town. Free parking is a bonus too. Overall would say our stay was just OK. Staff is good, but I'm used to much nicer, newer hotels and this is definitely an old, old location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#49 of 286 in San Diego
1,695 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#45 of 286 in San Diego
2,501 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 286 in San Diego
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $132 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, bedfinder AG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing