We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“lovely hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Need a car, but then its america you need a car for everywhere, nice rooms, lovely location. Loads to see and do. Great breakfast and lovely dinner, plus there are a few other restaurants you can walk to

Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMonty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,798
    976
    215
    59
    30
See reviews for
1,132
1,259
90
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Just returned a few days ago from our first trip to San Diego. We spent an entire week at the Island Palms and loved it! When we checked in, Brianna was wonderful when our room wasn't ready and upgraded us to an incredible junior suite. Whenever we talked any members of the staff, they were always extremely helpful and friendly. Our room faced the marina side and it was QUIET which allowed our us and our 10 and 12 year old sons to get a good night sleep every night. The beds were very comfortable and the room was beautiful. The location is convenient for hitting all of the tourist attractions which we did during our stay. Each evening my family would swim in one of the heated pools and then sit on our balcony. It was a relaxing way to end each day. I read reviews for hours before I booked this hotel and I'm happy to say that all of the positive reviews are true.

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a better view from your balcony. You can choose the marina or harbor si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is such a great place in a great location. Room was very clean and the view overlooking the harbor was the best thing to wake up to every morning. It is a quiet location so you can enjoy it. The pool area was clean with plenty of towels supplied pool side. There are bicycles to ride (for free) but they are first come first served with 8 bicycles--so plan your riding time. We enjoyed the bar---very nice and casual with a great view of the marina. There are local restaurants you can walk to less than 1 mile away.
Parking is $10 a day which is standard at most hotels in San Diego these days.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room with a view of either the marina or harbor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

From start to finish this was a very pleasant experience. The staff was great, the price was right and the location was prime. Fitness room wasnt really, more like a closet, but there was lots of coast to run on so I worked it out. Special shout out to Alison at the front desk, she did a great job and was most hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Skibum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I loved our stay at this hotel, we were upgraded to a huge suite room with a spectacular view of the marina. The food and service in the restaurant was brilliant the staff were helpful and attentive without being "in your face". I thought that the location was great and easy to get to and if you want to you can go for a stroll by the sea from the hotel. Parking was not a problem you can either pay to park in the hotel grounds or park in a lot across the road. We are already planning to come back.

Room Tip: We had a Marina side second floor room which I felt was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff upgraded our room to a suite room on the marina side. We loved it! . Huge room with a large bedroom and then separate living room/ kitchen. Nice walkways along the marina to the 2 different pool areas. Great stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice and the location overlooking the marina is great. The marina itself is ok, so overall this in itself probably doesn't justify the price of the hotel. It may be suitable for some but with a family, I think there are other alternatives at that price, which are least as good..

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nishalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#69 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,149 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing