We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here and we will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is such a great place in a great location. Room was very clean and the view overlooking the harbor was the best thing to wake up to every morning. It is a quiet location so you can enjoy it. The pool area was clean with plenty of towels supplied pool side. There are bicycles to ride (for free) but they are first come first served with 8 bicycles--so plan your riding time. We enjoyed the bar---very nice and casual with a great view of the marina. There are local restaurants you can walk to less than 1 mile away.
Parking is $10 a day which is standard at most hotels in San Diego these days.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room with a view of either the marina or harbor is the best
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sunnycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,663)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 3,664 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

From start to finish this was a very pleasant experience. The staff was great, the price was right and the location was prime. Fitness room wasnt really, more like a closet, but there was lots of coast to run on so I worked it out. Special shout out to Alison at the front desk, she did a great job and was most hospitable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Skibum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I loved our stay at this hotel, we were upgraded to a huge suite room with a spectacular view of the marina. The food and service in the restaurant was brilliant the staff were helpful and attentive without being "in your face". I thought that the location was great and easy to get to and if you want to you can go for a stroll by the sea from the hotel. Parking was not a problem you can either pay to park in the hotel grounds or park in a lot across the road. We are already planning to come back.

Room Tip: We had a Marina side second floor room which I felt was excellent
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff upgraded our room to a suite room on the marina side. We loved it! . Huge room with a large bedroom and then separate living room/ kitchen. Nice walkways along the marina to the 2 different pool areas. Great stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice and the location overlooking the marina is great. The marina itself is ok, so overall this in itself probably doesn't justify the price of the hotel. It may be suitable for some but with a family, I think there are other alternatives at that price, which are least as good..

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nishalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have always stayed on Pacific/Mission Beach in the past so staying on Shelter Island was a gamble...that paid off. The area was centrally located, a short drive to Old Town, Balboa Park and Point Loma. The room was large with a balcony on the second floor overlooking the fishing pier, park and harbor. We spent 3 nights and enjoyed watching the fishing boats, naval destroyers, container ships and sailboats come and go. It was very relaxing and very laid back compared to the beaches. We were able to walk to restaurants and the marina. We sat outside overlooking the marina and had 2 good breakfats at the hotel's restaurant. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were very informative and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a balcony. Don't think the view on the bottom floor would...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95Letsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very spacious rooms with a garden with seating. View of the marina from the garden. The hotel has two swimmingpools. The city and the airport are nearby. Hotel is suitable for longer stays. Free bikes are available for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Louwrens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,633 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,623 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,221 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $124 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing