We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful stay, we will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #21 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I loved our stay at this hotel, we were upgraded to a huge suite room with a spectacular view of the marina. The food and service in the restaurant was brilliant the staff were helpful and attentive without being "in your face". I thought that the location was great and easy to get to and if you want to you can go for a stroll by the sea from the hotel. Parking was not a problem you can either pay to park in the hotel grounds or park in a lot across the road. We are already planning to come back.

Room Tip: We had a Marina side second floor room which I felt was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    1,021
    225
    61
    31
See reviews for
1,184
1,321
93
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff upgraded our room to a suite room on the marina side. We loved it! . Huge room with a large bedroom and then separate living room/ kitchen. Nice walkways along the marina to the 2 different pool areas. Great stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice and the location overlooking the marina is great. The marina itself is ok, so overall this in itself probably doesn't justify the price of the hotel. It may be suitable for some but with a family, I think there are other alternatives at that price, which are least as good..

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nishalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have always stayed on Pacific/Mission Beach in the past so staying on Shelter Island was a gamble...that paid off. The area was centrally located, a short drive to Old Town, Balboa Park and Point Loma. The room was large with a balcony on the second floor overlooking the fishing pier, park and harbor. We spent 3 nights and enjoyed watching the fishing boats, naval destroyers, container ships and sailboats come and go. It was very relaxing and very laid back compared to the beaches. We were able to walk to restaurants and the marina. We sat outside overlooking the marina and had 2 good breakfats at the hotel's restaurant. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were very informative and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a balcony. Don't think the view on the bottom floor would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95Letsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very spacious rooms with a garden with seating. View of the marina from the garden. The hotel has two swimmingpools. The city and the airport are nearby. Hotel is suitable for longer stays. Free bikes are available for guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louwrens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed on the harbor side of this hotel, which was nice to be able to watch all of the activity on the bay while sitting on the balcony. The marina side is also lovely, which is where the pools are located. The room was clean and comfortable. I ate a lunch and dinner at the hotel during my week stay and both were good meals at reasonable prices
I found the location of this hotel very convenient to the major attractions in San Diego. The hotel staff, especially Dan, were helpful in suggesting restaurants, obtaining a taxi and just general questions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited San Diego for 4 days mid August to celebrate my birthday and enjoy some family time. The room was clean and beds were comfortable, the kitchenette was handy and there was lots of room for my family of 4. The staff was attentive and polite. The view of the marina was lovely and the hotel was situated in a central area of Shelter Island. My kids enjoyed the bikes available for use by the hotel and we all enjoyed going for walks along the pier. We rented a car and the parking was handy. The pools were a little small, but clean we enjoyed the bar and restaurant almost daily, the happy hour menu was great!

Room Tip: Marina view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImacanuckCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#46 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#36 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing