We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

i booked a birthday get away for my man. what a great weekend, the hotel had a great view, the staff was helpful and caring, the room was modern and clean ,the bed was so comfortable, and the location was relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,665)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,743 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great experience at this hotel! Would stay again. All of the staff was very welcoming and friendly. The front desk staff went out of their way to help us out when our plans were postponed. We were checking out when we found out we had no where to go for about 4 hours. They offered to store our luggage and invited us to stay and enjoy the pool area until we could head to our next destination. Thank You

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

It took over 13k in points for a weeks stay in a 1 bedroom unit which is a lot, in the points realm. A usual trade is about half of that or less, so given the amount of points I had high expectations.

The location is great, bay on one side and marina on the other, so the views are nice and it's a great space for walking. Some good restaurants are close by, some within walking distances, another perk and bikes are also available from the resort to get around. The on-site restaurant is OK, not as good as some others but great if you want to stay on property. The resort is well maintained and the pool and hot tub are nice albeit on the smallish side.

The timeshare portion / rooms appear to be two hotel rooms converted into one large. Esthetically the room was nothing special, fairly average with nothing to make it seem homey at all. Everything was very plain and blah. The kitchen is galley type with no oven, only a cook top, which was dirty and only functioning partially. There was no dishwasher either. The management quickly sent over maintenance to fix the cook top and housekeeping to clean it. They also sent a fruit basket along with a letter of apology and a coupon for a complementary lunch for our inconvenience.

There was no dining table, only bar stools at a counter in the kitchen which is another aspect that make the room feel very transient. The balcony looked at the next building so all the ambiance that could be from the location just wasn't.

I would not recommend this place for a stay of any longer than a few days. It was not worth the points it took too stay there. A few days, with a good rate, highly recommend. A week, no way, not again.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a marina/urban view or a water view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Guest Services at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations.

I am sorry that the cooktop in your room was dirty and not functioning properly prior to your check-in. It is our duty to ensure that your room is properly cleaned and all amenities are functioning properly prior to your arrival. Our maintenance team has recently started replacing the old electric coil cooktops with new flat glass ones in all of our rooms that feature a kitchenette.

As we are a full-service resort hotel and are not affiliated with any timeshare we do not typically feature ourselves as an extended stay property. Our suites feature a kitchenette so that guests are able to heat-up and store food during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotels & Marina a few nights ago and had a wonderful experience. From the front desk check in to the beautifully remodeled rooms and then the exquisite food for dinner. We were so nicely surprised to find such a gem in our backyard! The location is great too. Easy access to all restaurants and venues in the area - easy walk to most. Easy access to Point Loma and downtown and Coronado. We had great views of the marina and downtown from our easy access 2nd floor room. The pools and grounds were kept nice too. Looking forward to making this one of our regular getaways locally! Thanks - we loved our stay. P.S. I'd personally like to have a cooking class with the Chef. Our dinner was outstanding and was disappointed he/she didn't have a cookbook for sale! Amazing food. Thanks everyone - A+!

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room - no elevators on property. It was very quiet. We were a few buildings awa...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,014,951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

For the second time in three years, I have stayed at the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel and Marina in a 2 bed room. Each time 3 people stayed in the room and we were very comfortable. The rooms have a small kitchen (oven, sink, coffee maker, full refrigerator). The beds are very comfortable and if you enjoy fresh air, open the windows and door to your patio. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel this time (had to get back on the road) but last trip we did have breakfast. It was a good breakfast.
The purpose of our trip was a concert at Humphries on the Bay and the walk from this hotel to the venue was less than 10 minutes. We also had dinner at Bali Hai and the restaurant is a short 15 minute walk from the hotel. Very convenient location and very nice staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spa_Lady212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I needed a much deserved break, but only had 3 nights and 4 days. We are from San Diego and decided to try a Stay-cation. San Diego is very pricey in the summer. I wanted a good value and relaxing and quiet environment. BW- Island Palms was perfect on all fronts. It is located on Shelter Island. It is only about 15 min. from downtown, but tucked in the western corner of Point Loma and San Diego bay. This is a very quiet area. The Room with Bay View was perfect. We were happy from the moment we opened the door to the room. A small microwave and fridge are provided (a big plus for us). The view from the room, and balcony were awesome. The Staff was great. The landscaping is beautifully tropical. We stayed in the Casa Del Mar building on the 2nd floor which is newer with a balcony (great place to have coffee and a muffin in the morning). We brought camp chairs and walked across the quiet 2 lane street to the grassy area on the edge of the bay. It was very relaxing to be able to read and watch boats (I suggest bringing binoculars) and ships pass by. All the staff, from front desk to maid service were very friendly. Bicycles are provided for free with locks and helmets. This was perfect for an outing to Liberty Station (Old Naval Training Center) for lunch. There is free WiFi that worked great every time we wanted to use it. Parking is $10 a night, but they let you know that you can park across the street for free if you like. It is safe as the Harbor Police station is at the end of the street. Humphrey’s concerts on the bay is a very short walk from here if you come to town for a concert. We did not eat at the restaurant and only used the pool and Jacuzzi one morning. Very nice pool areas, but they get crowded in summer. A/C worked well and the ceiling fan was a big plus. My wife and I look forward to coming back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Request a Marina or Bay view. Bay view provides a chance to see Navel ships and boats pass by at ful...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank watchthelambinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Nice staff, nice view, nice room. Could use a more robust air conditioner but we were not in the room that much. Would stay here again. Plenty of room for the 5 of us and the kids had fun at the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,634 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,628 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,221 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $124 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing