We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$261
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$345
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$167
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$310
$290
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,918)
Filter reviews
3,918 results
Traveler rating
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa del mar buildingblue wavefishing piernavy shipspoint lomawalking pathjunior suitewater viewhotel restauranttennis courtshot tubfull kitchenshort driveclose to the airportsea worldthe san diego areacoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,112 - 2,117 of 3,918 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

very nice room, friendly staff.
Nice location. Great view. 2 Swimming pools + 2 hot tubs. Free bicycle rental.
Tennis court. Excellent stay.

Con: close to the marina entrance. We stay close to the marina entrance. Lots of people walking in and out of the marina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Run do not hide as this place is filthy The staff is terrible & there is no free shuttle to SD airport, as promised We used our personal G.P.S. & rental car to deliver us in time to flight The hotel did not care nor deliver promise!! No breakfast in lieu of transportation! Rooms are a joke and put us in a wheel chair space ...a total insult as I did not request!. PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY AWAY...UNLESS YOU NEED A VIEW OF YACHT CLUB!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank marksI9836LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lovely accommodations with a tropical feel just 15 minutes from San Diego airport. Ive stayed here three times and each room a little different and all very nice. The grounds are beautiful with the San Diego bay on one side and a marina full of boats on the other (water view rooms face the marina with Point Loma in the distance). Bikes are available to borrow and ride along Shelter Island Drive. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank alawton523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a beautiful 4-night stay in the hotel's Junior Suite, very clean, very modern & spacious. Fantastic desk staff welcomed us with open arms, since we had stayed there and hosted our son's wedding there in Spring 2006. We can recommend Island Palms to all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank jrcoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We just didn't expect a Best Western to be like this. It was much more upscale. Met some friends here for a few days of golf. We were in the Del Mar building. Could not believe every room had plantation shutters and crown moulding. Big comfy bed, lots of room, microwave, coffee pot, little refrigerator. And a huge LG TV!! We looked right out on San Diego Bay. Swimming pool and hot tub just steps away and the marina with all the sailboats. And then the restaurant!! Wow. It was gourmet food and the service was superior. Because we were on a Southwest Vacation package, we got 25% off our meals there for our entire 4 night stay. And a free shuttle back to the airport. This was just THE BEST, and we already want to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Del Mar building facing the Bay are great, but another person said she preferred the suites in the other building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKP62942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews