We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS HOTEL AND STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOTEL AND STAFF”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I love this hotel. It is beautifully situated on Shelter Island and conveniently located near Point Loma. Lots of great restaurants nearby. The rooms, especially the suites, are lovely and very comfortable. The management and staff are unsurpassed. This is the ONLY place I stay when in San Diego. A+

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,126
    1,122
    252
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,346
1,458
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Small Town Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Islan Palms Hotel exceeded all expectations for a luxury suite and view of the beautiful SanDiego Bay on Fisher Island. The walk along the Bay was beautiful in the mornings - about 62% in March. The Wood Shutters over the windows that really open to the Bay weather were both beautiful and functional. The maid and front desk staff were the best! I was here for a business trip and will definitely be back for pleasure soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, CT, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you're a water lover but don't want to be right on the beach, this is the place. Quiet, relaxing location, easy access to most San Diego attractions. Extremely clean rooms and accomodating staff. The view of the marina was enjoyable and across the bay the veiws even better. Free parking (which is unheard of elsewhere in the city). Each room has a refrigerator and a microwave which is a plus and the bed was extremely comfortable. If you're outdoor people, this is great as each room has a patio or deck and beautiful views. You don't get that closed in feeling like you would at a downtown hotel. Well manicured grounds and plenty of places to relax outdoors. Great walking area as well. Will definitely come back here. Prices were very fair.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I loved this hotel because of the views - It really is beautiful on either side! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful for the most part.. there was one issue with one of the front desk girls. I had called and asked before my trip if they could bring me to the airport on Saturday (I checked in on Friday) to pick up my rental car..they assured me it would be no problem and I watched her put down my reservation for 8:30 am on Saturday to go to the airport. At 7:40am on saturday, she called me from the front desk and said the shuttle driver was leaving to go to the aiport and asked if I was ready to go "right now" to the airport since he was bringing someone else and wouldn't be on time. I was not ready to go since I wasn't expecting to leave for about another 45 minutes. She then told me "Oh, well I don't know that he will be back in time to take you to airport and really, we don't bring people just to pick up rental cars." In the end, it all worked out. The shuttle drivers were the friendliest and most helpful people in the whole hotel! But I don't appreciate the attitude the front desk person gave me, when she was the one who said my request was no problem!
My only other complaint was that for as much money as this room cost, the room was pretty small. I wish the bathroom was a little smaller so the room could be bigger. It was a little tight for 2 people moving around in the room but really the view was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The staff is great, the marina view is incredable. Make sure you book a room in the newer section of the Palms. The older side was dated. Over all Island Palms is incredable because of the Marina view and the laid back pace of Shelter Island . We would recomend it to all ages young and old. We wil be back some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank geraldeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend get away. Front desk staff was welcoming and Kyle was very helpful in suggesting some excellent restaurants within walking distance.
Shelter Bay is a great quiet location close to many attractions zoo, Balboa Park, Rock church and downtown.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank freezer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMarque, Tx.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and great location. We stayed in the Casa DeMar Bldg. Our room had a balcony overlooking the marina (great place to watch the sunset). Across the street from our hotel was the bay, where you could watch naval ships and sailboats. Great place to walk or take a bike ride (provided by hotel). The rooms were very nice and clean. Our suite had living area, large bedroom and two bathrooms. The bedroom and living area had large windows opening to the marina. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_Guy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#30 of 278 in San Diego
2,166 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing