We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been staying here for 3 years now. the staff is outstanding! Propert and location is a gem! Clean, quiet and a hidden treasure. 2 pools, next to the Marina. You can see coronado and San diego. Good happy hour and many regulars come to the bar for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    1,108
    246
    63
    36
See reviews for
1,319
1,444
107
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Quiet little gem. Great views. Convenient for downtown San Diego. Value for money. We were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the dinners in the restaurant. The room was comfortable and the staff at the front desk were most helpful booking our tickets for the symphony, giving us directions and suggesting attractions. We took the ferry to Coronado Island, spent a day in the old town, drove up to La Jolla and Torrey Pines National Park. An amazing week!

Room Tip: The higher the rooms the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The name Island Palms describes the feel at this hotel. We wanted a getaway from the rain and cool weather and got the sun and room facing the marina. The staff was excellent all around, very helpful when called for.The room was very clean, relaxing, comfortable bed and nicely decorated.We stayed 4 nights and could have stayed longer. I recommend this hotel for business and couples looking for a place to unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From check-in to departure this hotel has it all !! Enjoyed our happy hour on our private patio overlooking the yacht harbor. Sooooo relaxing !! Nice guy named Danny (I think) very helpful at the front desk. Only 1 negative.....got 2 queen beds and requested a king. But know those things happen They tried to help us out but they were near sold out. . Thanks for a great stay Island Palms. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I missed making a reservation for whale watching with Sail San Diego (Our mistake - you cannot book the same day you want to go, only in advance, but it's not obvious on their reservations page), but the front desk folks at the Best Western Island Palms made a call for us and Sail San Diego actually agreed to take us whale watching on last minute notice. Just the two of us. At a time arranged to fit our schedule. That was tremendous. Kudos to Best Western Island Palms (and Sail San Diego).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnb22055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in the Corona Del Mar building facing the bay it was glorious. Our 2nd floor room had ample space for a family of 4 (two small children) and the balcony doubled as an entertainment experience. Everyone from the concierge to the cleaning staff were very friendly. Special shout out to the front desk who provided a free upgrade because we had kids and they had extra room. The restaurant was above average however it would have been nice to have more healthier options. We are currently eating a modified paleo/gluten-free diet and would have liked to have more fresh fruit and vegetable options. Our kids ate a lot of french fries on this trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Clean and nicely appointed room. Friendly, helpful staff. I forgot to tell them my wife and I could not climb stairs and we were placed in a second floor room with stairs. I called and they immediately came to assist us to a building with an elevator. The room had beautiful views of the harbor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,127 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
4,831 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#116 of 278 in San Diego
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing