We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in The Market”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Deal in The Market”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Reserved a 2 bed deluxe room through Southwest airlines web site.
Check in was a breeze, The room 525 in the Casa Del Mar building was huge,
We were there for my sons graduation from MCRD. So with my two daughters and my wife the bathroom was even a bigger surprise with the commode and shower having privacy from the vanity area was very convenient with 4 people always rushed to get ready.
Not to mention the room has 2 lounge chairs, a dinner table and 4 chairs a Frig Microwave and a 20 ft balcony with chairs that overlooked the bay. We were sorry that we were so busy with events at the MCRD that we couldn't explore the rest of the properties amenities.
We will stay again. I highly recommend this property especially for families,

Room Tip: Casa Del Mar building on the bayside is my only experience and its great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    1,122
    253
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,346
1,460
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If I have to write a review every time I stay at a BW, I may think twice about staying there. This is wasting a lot of my time. If I have to answer anything else it will be just to please trip advisor and will have nothing to do with the Hotel. Or blah blah blah. Is that enough characters now?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is great! The rooms are very nice and extra large and extremely clean. After staying here, I am now going to consider having a retirement party at this hotel. The staff was very nice, cheerful and polite. The harbor view is beautiful. The price is very reasonable for this location and it is close to all the major attractions in San Diego - plenty to do nearby. I almost hate to let the secret out about how wonderful this hotel is.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was one of the nicest BW Hotels we've ever stayed at. Scenic views of the marina and tropical décor in the lobby area was a hi-lite of our stay here! Very good breakfast in the on-site restaurant. Staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank terriwithani2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed there one night in January. At check in, I was greeted by the staff and thankfully acknowledged as a Diamond member. The desk agent told me that he had already upgraded us to a Marina view suite. The room was very nice, quiet, and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank EBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I really enjoyed watching the bay all week . I had my 8 year old nephew to entertain without a car and having a view of the base was exciting for us. I liked that we had bikes to ride. The beach down the way was nice not too many people so it was like having our own beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

USCRI just finished our annual meeting at the Island Palms. As I said to the Director of Sales I have absolutely no complaints nor did I receive any from the 35 people attending the meeting for a week, which is quite astounding!! Everything about this meeting went smoothly - from the initial contract to the last invoice. Some of the things I particularly appreciated as a meeting organizer, was getting a response to every email I sent within 30 minutes, even with the different time zones, as well as genuine helpfulness on late registrants, room choice and menu planning. Everything was well above our expectations. All staff were friendly, had been briefed about the group and went out of their way to assist with any question. I suddenly asked for a microphone five minutes before meeting start and it was provided, tested and functioning within minutes.
Instead of complaints I received compliments on the food and rooms. I highly recommend this treasure of a hotel for your next corporate meeting!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#121 of 278 in San Diego
2,552 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#30 of 278 in San Diego
2,171 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#33 of 278 in San Diego
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing