We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Stay in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Stay in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Gorgeous location on Shelter Island - great views of the bay and the marina. Quiet and peaceful. Can't be beat for the customer pleasing orientation of the staff. Excellently maintained. Our favorite hotel anywhere. (We've been in many countries and have been traveling for over 50 years.)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    1,067
    235
    62
    35
See reviews for
1,244
1,385
104
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location and the room service staff are the best in the biz. I stayed here for business because I wanted to be close to the water to exercise in the mornings. Walking with views of Coronado Island and the San Diego Skyline was the perfect way to start the day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel has an impressive waterfront view of San Diego harbor. Park across the street is great for a walk or run. Hotel service was above average and worth the price. Only downside was unlike many Best Westerns you do not get the complimentary breakfast but a discounted meal in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My other half stays at a lot of hotels and Best Westerns are not high on his list of places to stay, however this hotel restored his faith. The view was awesome right from our room, and Shelter Island is quiet and relaxing with a path all the way around to walk/run/bike on. There is also a fair number of restaurants in close proximity.
We were doing the tourist thing, so it was great to be able to come back to a quite, relaxing spot after the busy places we were during the day (The Zoo, USS Midway etc). We did have to drive to most of the real tourist hot spots but it was worth it in our opinion.
Safe Travels - :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SceenIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Shelter Island marina area in January when it was peaceful and quiet...few boats going in or out and no one using the pool. It was a pre-cruise stay and we rented a car to visit family in the area. The hotel is located in a beautiful area and we were able to take morning walks along the marina and bay. As Best Western Club members we chose this hotel for free shuttle to and from airport and cruise terminal (car rental also will pick up and drop off at hotel) and free parking. Upon our arrival we were immediately upgraded to a Marina View room in the Casa del Mar building. There is no elevator so you if you want a second floor you need to carry your bags or get some help. We had a first floor and did hear some early morning footsteps but overall not a big problem. Others have mentioned a "worn" carpet...it could use replacing,

The front desk staff is FABULOUS and amazingly helpful! Wish I had written down all the names of those who helped us. Everyone was excellent! Particularly Allison who was able to arrange car transportation on Sunday when the Enterprise we had booked thru was closed. Well-trained and courteous staff!!

The restaurant..the Blue Wave is very good....breakfast (not included in room charge :( has many choices. We had 2 breakfasts there and one dinner. There are other restaurants within the Shelter Island area.

Would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Join the Best Western Membership Club, ask if upgrade available, ask for Marina view away from pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbnj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

On the water, view of boats and waterfront - across from park and fishing dock and boat drop - restaurants close and very good, free wifi, free beach bikes, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN, and fresh. We brought my cousin from Munich, Germany with us and rented the small suite - has 2 bathrooms, small kitchen, dining room, sofa bed, patio, 2 TV monitors, and looks brand new! Free parking. 2 pools and 2 jacuzzis. Bar, gym, restaurant. Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank danusia621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is our 2nd stay here and we really enjoy the quiet and the marina, (which is not for everyone) I grew up on the bay and visiting family and friends is a repose of some sort. Everyone was very friendly and helpful for anything I needed. The restaurant can at times be slow but the food is vey good, the pools are pools, We stayed on the marina side, last time was on the bay side. The noise is either the navy base helicopters that seem to be running 24x7 or the marina side where the jets taking off from Lindbergh field can be heard but softly. We never experienced parking problems however during summer there is some congestion. San Diego has something for everyone, from Segway tours to Balboa park to baseball to foot ball to zoo to safari park sea world on and on. We highly recommend going to Cabrillo lighthouse (monument) and looking out for miles on a clear day. It is a spectacular view, and to get there you pass through Fort Rosecrans and the military cemetery, observe respectfully.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing