We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was a nice hotel location. There seems to be a newer side and older side. We stayed in the older side. We had a suite with kitchenette.
Kitchen was very limited with what it had.
Cleaning of the kitchen and floor was poor.
Difficult at night with noisy fan (like dripping water), Metal plate in road outside was disturbing every time someone drove over it (like someone knocking on the door), very loud air system in room.
Staff was very friendly.
Great running/walking path just steps away. Beautiful view of downtown.

Room Tip: Would be quieter if we had a room that faced the Marina. There is a newer part of the resort and an...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deBoysPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,667)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,111 - 2,117 of 3,667 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This Best Western has free parking, the hotel is really nice and in a great location. There are harbor views and you can also see downtown San Diego from right outside. The pool area looks nice but I did not get a chance to use it. The rooms are clean and the bed was really comphortable. The chairs in the room were a little hard but no big deal. I would recomend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you are visiting San Diego for more than 2 or 3 days this is a great place to stay.
(If only staying for a day or two you may want to stay directly in down town). It is located directly
on the water( marina) on a man made island just across the bay from down town. Its about a 7 minute taxi ride to city center about $20 one way. The hotel offers free bike rentals to explore the area. Shelter Island does not have a lot to do, fishing boats, marinas and a couple restaurants. The Old World Trolley bus has a free pick up service from the hotel that brings you to a stop on the main loop of the trolley. This is great, however, the trolley does not run late, only until about 5 or 6pm depending on the season. So if you want to stay out for dinner, a taxi ride home will be needed. The hotel itself has some parts that are a bit dated and some completely redone.There are two hotels linked together. We stayed in the Island Palms side. Our room was looking directly to the Marina which was very cool. One day and evening it was very foggy. The fog horn tooted every 20 seconds or so for the entire night. (such is life beside a marina!) Our unit was a one bedroom, full kitchen and very large bathroom Great layout for a family. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The setting of this hotel is very relaxing, it's more like a resort than a hotel. The place is generally clean. It has two buildings, one older and one newer. The front desk lady (forgot her name) was very friendly and helpful. The back of this property is a marina which makes it very calm and relaxing. We've previously stayed at the Humphrey's Half Moon Bay but this place is superior. The only thing missing in this hotel is there's no water/coffee station at the front desk. We are generally happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cailyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stay here at least twice a year in the Casa Del Mar and we have never been disappointed! The views are awesome, love to sit on our balcony and enjoy our coffee each morning. The rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great value with attractive rooms and ocean/marina views. Excellent restaurant on the marina. Housekeepers need to follow environmental policies and not change towels unnecessarily (we left our towels on the rack and they were changed anyway). Need recycle cans. Need to have patio lights OFF during the day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have lived next to this (about 3 miles) Hotel for the last 35 years. I never stayed when it was the Kona Kai. When the hotel remodled to the Islands, My Beautiful Bride Kimberly stay in the islands hotel every chance we can. The suites are beautiful with the San Diego downtown skyline over the bay view or you can have a marina view that is fantastic this time of year with the boats all Holiday Decor for the boat parade. This hotel should be on every ones bucket list. San Diegos best hidden Gem. Thank you Islands Best Western for keeping our life robust.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,635 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,633 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,225 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $124 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing