We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shelter Island Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shelter Island Best Western”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The setting of this hotel is very relaxing, it's more like a resort than a hotel. The place is generally clean. It has two buildings, one older and one newer. The front desk lady (forgot her name) was very friendly and helpful. The back of this property is a marina which makes it very calm and relaxing. We've previously stayed at the Humphrey's Half Moon Bay but this place is superior. The only thing missing in this hotel is there's no water/coffee station at the front desk. We are generally happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cailyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    1,080
    241
    63
    35
See reviews for
1,270
1,426
106
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stay here at least twice a year in the Casa Del Mar and we have never been disappointed! The views are awesome, love to sit on our balcony and enjoy our coffee each morning. The rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great value with attractive rooms and ocean/marina views. Excellent restaurant on the marina. Housekeepers need to follow environmental policies and not change towels unnecessarily (we left our towels on the rack and they were changed anyway). Need recycle cans. Need to have patio lights OFF during the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have lived next to this (about 3 miles) Hotel for the last 35 years. I never stayed when it was the Kona Kai. When the hotel remodled to the Islands, My Beautiful Bride Kimberly stay in the islands hotel every chance we can. The suites are beautiful with the San Diego downtown skyline over the bay view or you can have a marina view that is fantastic this time of year with the boats all Holiday Decor for the boat parade. This hotel should be on every ones bucket list. San Diegos best hidden Gem. Thank you Islands Best Western for keeping our life robust.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived here we knew it would be a fab stay. Allison on check in was so helpful and friendly. She gave us lots of tips for things to do which were great. San Diego is a wonderful place. The hotel has a great feel to it. Our room was lovely. Comfy bed and spotlessly clean. The pools and hot tub were so relaxing and nice and warm. The views of the bay and marina where gorgeous. Every staff member we came into contact with was so friendly and always spoke even though they were also working on thanksgiving! Danny at the front desk helped me out with my phone calling card and it was very much appreciated. The restaurant is also very nice with reasonable prices. I would return here. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I traveled to San Diego from Phoenix with 2 kids because my daughter had an appt @ the Children's Hospital. Decided to go a day early and do something fun. The hotel is located in a beautiful area and we really enjoyed a view of the bay (we were upgraded upon arrival) - really nice treat for us all to see the boats on the water, etc.). Room was very nice with extra features like the plantation shutter sliding doors - gave it an island feel. I knew there was an on-site restaurant (Blue Wave?) and certainly planned to have one meal there - ended up having three! With a long drive and late arrival we ordered room service Sunday night. Monday morning enjoyed a beautiful outside breakfast with a view of the marina, and ate in the restaurant Monday night. All of us enjoyed our meals! The hotel is well situated - short drive to LaJolla where we spent the day Monday, and the Children's Hospital where we commuted Tuesday. We also enoyed the heated main pool and hot tub late Monday afternoon. Only negatives: discovered they need to vacuum under furniture more often (looking for my son's earphones). This was my first visit to San Diego and I plan to return - and I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Maryellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Had a nice 3 night stay in a waterview 2Q room--though I view of water was across a parking lot.--if you want marina view be sure to ask for it. The rooms were basic, clean, nothing special. But the beds were adjustable firmness which was great! We were in the Casa marina bldg. which is quite far from the lobby/check in/restaurant area but we didn't mind walking but beware if you do. The marina front sidewalk is nice and you pass one of two pool/hot tun areas along the way. They are well maintained with plenty of towels and good hours of operation. Parking was limited in the hotel lot so we often ended up parking on the street. Some of the hotel bldgs looked a little dated, if you can go for a suite do it, they look nice. You are in a nice marina setting but a bit isolated from places within walking distance. The onsite restaurant was good.

Room Tip: ask for a marina view if you get waterview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#62 of 279 in San Diego
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,738 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing