We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked after from start to finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looked after from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was our 40th anniversary and the staff there couldn't have looked after us better. A bowl of fruit was waiting for us on arrival. Our room had a brilliant view of the Marina and had every convenience one could expect from a hotel. I would definitely recommend its location for any traveller wanting a peaceful and relaxed location yet convenient for all the sights and sounds of San Diego. Lovely experience and would certainly stay there again. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Just ask for a view of the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose_lander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,967
    1,062
    235
    62
    33
See reviews for
1,228
1,379
102
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My experience at the Best Western Island Palms, San Diego was enjoyable and relaxing. This is definalely my choice of hotels in the San Diego area. The staff doesn't simply show good service, they appear to "live" good service. I have stayed a number of times and look forward to many more stays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review!

Your feedback has been shared with our staff with the "live good service" line highlighted for all to see. We really appreciate the compliment and we'll work hard to provide this to all of our guests.

Thank you for your continued business and we look forward seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Bill Orman
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed four nights with twelve-year old son and baby. What a great place! I read many reviews and you can trust them. We stayed at Casa Marina on the third floor bay side. I thought at first I would prefer marina side, which is lovely, but all the action to watch is on the bay side. I loved seeing the navy ships. One night a cruise ship passed by. I also enjoyed seeing all the walkers, navy helicopters and sail boats. The sound proofing is great because when I closed the balcony sliding door no noise could be heard. I could also see the downtown SD skyline from nice size balcony. The room size is nice. The beds are super comfortable with good linens! Better than my king size at home. Bath towels were plentiful and thick. Parking was good and secure. We had free breakfast each day with our reservation. Food was delicious and plentiful, coffee and orange juice very good. Hugo, our server was excellent. Loved walking around Shelter Island. The views are great and the island is quiet. Nice playground right across the street with a baby swing. I would definitely recommend Casa Marina building of Island Palms. Casa Del Mar building looks good too. All the facilities on property were as seen on Trip Advisor pictures. Close to many things in SD also. We drove about 15 to 20 minutes for Coronado Island and La jolla beaches. If you want a comfortable place to sleep and quality of location is important to you, beautiful and peaceful surroundings with the ability to get out and walk, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: highest floors for the view. bay side is great for a lot to watch and san diego skyline. marina sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It sounds like you had a great time and we're happy to hear that everything went so well.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff was most polite and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We really enjoyed our stay there. It was the first time in San Diego and we will definately come back for a second visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Extremely helpful and courteous front desk staff and ancillary staff. Stayed in the original, older part which was very clean, updated. Nostalgic. Although the rooms are "dated", they are clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. I was upgraded to a mini suite as I am Diamond with Best Western and was very pleased and gracious that it was given to me. I really do not have any complaints. I was there for a 2 day conference. There was a complimentary shuttle service to the airport, and I arrived after the driver's shift ended and was reimbursed by the hotel for the taxi ride over to the hotel without even asking for this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very beautiful hotel, great views of both harbor and marina. Casa Del Mar rooms were beautiful décor and very quiet. Highly recommend for the price and for the quaint area of Shelter Island. The beach across from the hotel was nice and a fishing pier available. Bikes were available and a sidewalk for walking along the beach. We didn't stay in the older portion of the hotel so we can't comment to their décor. The hotel staff were very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arrived late to check-in & was greeted by Kyle, who was cheerful & friendly. Our shuttle driver also provided valet service to our room, which was very helpful as our room was on the 2nd floor with no elevator. We were provided Room 534 in the Casa del Mar building & it was roomy, impeccably clean & when I stepped onto the balcony - wow! This room overlooks the marina & the view at night was beautiful with the lights reflecting in the water from the docks & Point Loma homes on the hillside. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was very good, but a bit pricey for the convenience of eating on-site. My only concern was that I requested the airport shuttle for 11 am the following morning, confirmed it with the receptionist after breakfast with the driver present, & waited until 11:20 am for the shuttle to arrive. The driver apparently forgot & went to pick up clients at the airport. We made airport check-in just under the 90-minute limit. Apart from this, I would have liked to have stayed longer to explore the marina, walk along the boardwalk & enjoy the pool/hot tub. All staff we met (housekeeping, maintenance, restaurant, etc) smiled & were especially friendly & courteous. Kudos to the B/W Island Palms for their warm service!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, marine view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilacLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing