We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very pleasant experience from check in to checkout. Was there for our anniversary. Were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. Also received a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries from Front Desk Staff to help celebrate our anniversary., Waitress at breakfast, excellent service and a nice smile to boot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,294 of 3,797 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was great but we would have liked to have had the shuttle available to take us to the airport early in the morning. We had to take a taxi. The staff was very helpful in arranging a taxi for us. The restaurant was great--heaters were available so eating outside was available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the BWIsland Palms for 3 nights in October, it was a clean hotel located on Shelter Island. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite when we arrived and loved all the extra room with a mini kitchen. We really loved the patio with two chairs so we could watch boats coming and going in the marina or the boats in San Diego Harbor, as well as what was happening across the water at the Naval air station. Hotel was close driving distance to Ocean Beach and Mission Beach. Humphreys Half Moon Bar has great happy hour nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff at the Best Western Island Palms were a cut above ! We enjoyed the rooms with views of the SD bay. The rooms were a little expensive, but after our stay.....it was worth it. The location, being close to the airport was a plus. We'll be back !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband & I have not taken a "real" vacation in years so we were really looking forward to this. The Island Palms was THE perfect place. We had an accessible room with roll-in shower for hubby which he loved. The bed was very comfortable, the grounds were beautiful with long walking paths for exercise. Pool and spa were wonderful. Even though we did do some sightseeing, this was the perfect place to relax, relax, relax. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Roni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Okay, so this hotel is not new. It's not shiny. But that's part of the charm. It's a "tiki hut" style property with heavy dark wood and a definite "Trader Vic" feel. Our room had a soaring beamed ceiling (we did not have a water view) and it had been recently remodeled with a modern tiled bathroom and king bed with plush bedding. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The only negative is the on-site restaurant seemed to be understaffed one night and we sat outside on the wonderful patio waiting to order a drink and we never attracted the attention of a server. But it was nine p.m., well past the normal dinner hour. If we go back again (we love San Diego so it's a definite possibility) we'll ask for a water view (I'm sure it's more expensive but it would be worth it). I appreciate older properties that have been lovingly restored and I really appreciate cheerful staff, so this hotel fills the bill. Also, if you're going to a concert at Humphrey's this is a great place to stay because it's only a short walk away so you don't have to hassle with parking at Humphrey's.

Room Tip: The marina view is spectacular. Ask for a water view room (expect to pay more) if you like to gaze a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband & I were greatly disappointed in this hotel. We love the location (Shelter Island) and have stayed at other hotels in the area. We did not feel like we got our money's worth at this hotel. It was way over-priced.
Our room had a damp, musty smell to it. The carpet was constantly damp by the entrance, inside the room. We had requested a crib for our 13 month old when we made the reservation. It wasn't in the room when we arrived. We had to request it again. The crib was very old, white metal frame that wobbled & creaked. The crib sheet was stained. The bottom of the crib was plywood. The room was tiny! There was no room for the crib with 2 full sized beds in the room. We had to squeeze past the crib in order to get to the bathroom.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peanutsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us and I’m so sorry that we did not provide you with a more enjoyable experience during your stay with us in March. Your satisfaction is our number one concern and we should have handled things better.

The damp carpet may have been from condensation from the air conditioning unit which should have been reported by the room attendant during the room cleaning.

We have also replaced our cribs with newer models and I’m sorry that the crib that was delivered was in such poor condition. We’ll make sure that all of our cribs are in working order with clean linen.

Our standard rooms with 2 double beds do present a challenge for cribs and roll-away beds due to space limitations. We should have advised you of this when the original crib request was made and allowed you to choose a different room option that would have accommodated your needs.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Kindly,
Bill Orman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 278 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,318 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing