We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Room with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arrived late to check-in & was greeted by Kyle, who was cheerful & friendly. Our shuttle driver also provided valet service to our room, which was very helpful as our room was on the 2nd floor with no elevator. We were provided Room 534 in the Casa del Mar building & it was roomy, impeccably clean & when I stepped onto the balcony - wow! This room overlooks the marina & the view at night was beautiful with the lights reflecting in the water from the docks & Point Loma homes on the hillside. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was very good, but a bit pricey for the convenience of eating on-site. My only concern was that I requested the airport shuttle for 11 am the following morning, confirmed it with the receptionist after breakfast with the driver present, & waited until 11:20 am for the shuttle to arrive. The driver apparently forgot & went to pick up clients at the airport. We made airport check-in just under the 90-minute limit. Apart from this, I would have liked to have stayed longer to explore the marina, walk along the boardwalk & enjoy the pool/hot tub. All staff we met (housekeeping, maintenance, restaurant, etc) smiled & were especially friendly & courteous. Kudos to the B/W Island Palms for their warm service!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, marine view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilacLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    976
    215
    59
    30
See reviews for
1,131
1,258
90
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is our 4th trip to San Diego in 2 years. We have stayed at the Island Palms all 4 times. This place is wonderful from the service to the price to the room. This is one of the most reasonably priced hotels in the area and there is no extra costs like parking or internet fees or resort fees. The staff is wonderful throughout the hotel from maid service to restaurant staff to check in staff. The rooms are quiet and have gorgeous views. The bed is very comfortable. I enjoyed having the balcony for a wonderful view of the marina. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just completed another stay with at the Best Western Island of the Palms hotel in San Diego, CA! As usual the accomodations were great, the hotel cleanliness great...everything was just wonderful. It's been two years since I have been to San Diego and stayed here. It was great to see the same people working in which says to me it's a great place to be. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who may be staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very pleasant experience from check in to checkout. Was there for our anniversary. Were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. Also received a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries from Front Desk Staff to help celebrate our anniversary., Waitress at breakfast, excellent service and a nice smile to boot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was great but we would have liked to have had the shuttle available to take us to the airport early in the morning. We had to take a taxi. The staff was very helpful in arranging a taxi for us. The restaurant was great--heaters were available so eating outside was available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the BWIsland Palms for 3 nights in October, it was a clean hotel located on Shelter Island. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite when we arrived and loved all the extra room with a mini kitchen. We really loved the patio with two chairs so we could watch boats coming and going in the marina or the boats in San Diego Harbor, as well as what was happening across the water at the Naval air station. Hotel was close driving distance to Ocean Beach and Mission Beach. Humphreys Half Moon Bar has great happy hour nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indpls, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff at the Best Western Island Palms were a cut above ! We enjoyed the rooms with views of the SD bay. The rooms were a little expensive, but after our stay.....it was worth it. The location, being close to the airport was a plus. We'll be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#68 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,146 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing