We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean hotel with great pools and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean hotel with great pools and views”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hotel! So clean and comfortable. Two pools, each with a spa! Free bikes for guest use (although we didn't use them because there was no bike with training wheels or trailer). Great views of the waterfront and boats. Good location near the airport, although not close to the beach. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milesandcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,125
    1,122
    252
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,346
1,458
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for six nights. The first two nights we had a room with two double beds. We had booked a deluxe room with waterview. The room was clean with nice furniture but the view was not what we expected. You could see the San Diego Bay but in front of that there was a big parking lot so you saw more cars an asphalt than water. The last four nights we spent in a suite with a view towards the harbour on the other side of the building. The suite was very nice and it was comfortable to have a small kitchen to be able to make your own meals. I could really recommend the suites though they are a bit more epensive. I do also recommend a view towards the harbour since it is nicer and calmer. Shelter Island is a nice place for a relaxing vacation. You have nice views of the waters of San Diego and its skyline. It is quite calm, clean and well taken care of. You are also not very far away from the city. If you have a car you reach downtown, gas lamp quarter or old town in 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joakim_Gustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We used this hotel as a last stop before flying home due to its location to the airport (5 mins)
The hotel is well positioned and also has free parking
The staff were friendly and the pool with has lovely views of the marina

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you and I'm glad to everything went well. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has outdone itself with friendly, helpful staff. From the front desk to the gardeners, everyone is happy and accommodating. Our room was beautiful and the views were outstanding. We loved watching the large naval ships coming into port from our balcony. I loved the fact that we could choose what time housekeeping came. It made the day hassle free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It's so nice to hear such great feedback and I know our staff will be happy to hear your very kind words.

We hope to see you again soon!

Bill Orman
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband, almost 3 year-old son and I stayed here over the weekend along with our friends and their 2 year-old and it was perfect. I've been to San Diego many times over the years but never knew about Shelter Island and am so glad we discovered it. The hotel is wonderful and is definitely well suited for families with children. The two pool areas are nice and the restaurant serves a variety of food. We stayed in the Casa Marina building and the rooms were really nice, especiallly considering we only paid $132/night plus tax, and that's during peak season. The area the hotel is in is great as well. It's in the marina so there are tons of boats to look at and many restaurants within a mile or so. We grabbed the strollers and walked to a local restaurant one night and were really happy with the experience. Overall, this is a great hotel and we'd defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,549 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,163 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing