We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, nice staff, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is not your regular city hotel. It is located on Shelter Island, still central and close to amenities. Beautiful view from private balcony with cafe table and chairs. Two queen beds with new decor and huge bathroom. Mattress was comfy, linens were nice and I loved the pillows. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I was able to upgrade my room over the phone for minimal charge, so we could stay in the newer building. Only stayed one night, but had a very nice stay. I would recommend this to someone who wants to stay at a more unique location like Shelter Island. Sea World and SD Zoo were close by. I booked using my Air Miles, had good service there also.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank piment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    953
    209
    59
    28
See reviews for
1,096
1,231
89
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erith, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We intended to stay for 3 nights in April 2013 as part of a touring holiday, but had such a wonderful experience we changed our plans and stayed for an additional night!

Great location and a good base for seeing the sights of San Diego. Had a very well appointed and quiet room on the third floor (Casa Marina) which has a great balcony view of the Marina and hills in the background (great sunset).

Customer service was excellent throughout (especially Kriss on the Customer Reception).
Would love to have the opportunity to stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved this hotel. Had booked it for two nights the week before we went and was over the moon. Fantastic location although not central but great for harbour, beach and prom. We had transport so was OK. The room was pristine. Clean, fresh up to date no faults at all. (why aren't all rooms like this one). The restaurant was great with a good menu great view of all the boats in the marina and the staff were so welcoming, friendly, courteous and charming. Delightful lady on reception, chatty server in the restaurant for dinner and the lady who did breakfast was very entertaining with her tales of the Royal Family and her devotion to them. Would recommend this little gem to everyone. Thank you to all staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Just go for it, you wont be disappointed, if you are your too fussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neville1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Delightful BW Plus away from city noise and traffic located on peaceful Shelter Island, with views of either the bay or the marina. From booking to departure, our experience at this hotel was stellar. We were able to book a AAA rate that gave us a healthy percentage off a 2 story suite in the newer Casa del Mar building, with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs and a kitchenette, living room, bathroom downstairs, with a patio facing the pool, spa, and marina. (Breakfast can be negotiated when booking but rate will be higher). Excellent location for our visits to Old Town, Balboa Park, Point Loma, and the beach communities. Close to Sea World and the airport, with airport shuttle available every half hour. Only down side is that the beds creaked a bit, but the mattresses were comfortable. We had one dinner at the restaurant and it was decent and reasonable. Definitely look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Suites in the Casa del Mar wing are newer and overlook the pool, sauna, and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location being close to everything but still not being in high traffic area. We liked our room with two queen beds, kitchen and small living area with a flat screen TV that over looked the boats in the harbor including a small patio, grass and walking path next to the harbor. The staff is very nice, and the bar has specials for Happy Hour such as a great margarita and fish tacos. The bartender was excellent with a friendly personality and reported that they recently have a new chef.

Room Tip: Ask for the Casa Del Mar Building which is a newer building but smaller rooms unless you request a j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy14545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix,az.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

great hotel in great location. reasonably priced. food at conference was superior. staff was very nice and accomodating.room was spacious. has shuttle to airport and around city.had great view of marina and ocean. very quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie78Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

San Diego Hotels have become very pricey from several years ago when there was no convention center and Gaslamp was not popular.

we like staying on Shelter Island because the marina of boats is so peaceful and close to where we want to be and go.

The Junior suites are the best value for size of room, kitchenette and views. Some remarkable activity right in the Bay with all the Navy action, cruise boats, and recreational boats.

Room Tip: Best rooms face the marina as opposed to the street and Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimPFairOaksCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#49 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing