We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 4 night stay at the Island Palms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice 4 night stay at the Island Palms!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned home after 4 nice nights at the Island Palms. Nice staff, clean rooms and above all, a great location. We found it really easy to get around San Diego from Shelter Island. There were also many dining options very close to the hotel. We plan on returning. One morning there were some noisy trucks right outside of our room. We heard their backup alerts going off before 7AM. That was really the only downside I can think of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    1,122
    252
    64
    37
See reviews for
1,345
1,457
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in best western, excellent stay, our room was small. We requested the staff to upgrade us to a junior suite which they accepted for a little charge. We also included the breakfast package. The breakfast is not buffet style and you have to order it which depends upon mood of chef and waiter. We stayed at casa del mar.
Chris was a big help as we lost our charger and he found it and returned to us.
The location is excellent next to marina on shelter island. The hotel has two pools and two hot tubs.
The walls are paper thin, the best way to go around the noise is to turn the ac or fan on. I also had problem in parking at night. Most of the spots are gone and if you come after midnight you will probably get parking very far from your room
Casa del mar does not have elevators. There is a children's park just in front of the hotel and they have complimentary bicycles.
Overall our stay was excellent, every staff member is very friendly and cooperative
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay in San Diego, and we always try to get a water view room with a balcony. It is close to the airport, and the hotel offers a free shuttle to and from, and offers free parking. The staff are top notch, and always very helpful. We especially like the water view so we can watch the navy ships come and go, but the marina on the other side is a peaceful spot too. Two excellent restaurants are the Blue Wave at the Best Western and Humphrey's just down the street. Both have great happy hours too. There are also a couple nice coffee/bakeries a short walk away. There is a grocery store and Panara a short drive away. The rooms are very comfortable with a small refrigerator and a coffee maker in the room. It is very relaxing to just to go for a walk along the bay and around the island and enjoy people-watching, boat-watching, downtown views and a relaxing pace in the middle of a busy city.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinahLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved our room in the new section. My sister and daughter each stayed in a single in the old section. The rooms were nice but the sounds from the other rooms were awful- They each had to change rooms which the staff did very nicely. I would stay in the new section again but I think my husband would not- He gets up very early and there was no coffee or TV in the lobby . The restaurant was limited in what they offered and you would need a car to go to other restaurants. The staff was accommodating but they lost our reservations for the second night- I guess miscommunication.

Room Tip: stay in the newer section unless you like thin walls. I like the Marina view-
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a 3 week trip in California, and it was the perfect way to end our stay. The hotel is in a great location on Shelter Island - surrounded by the marina on one side and the beach on the other other. It is only a short drive to the centre of San Diego, and car seemed to be the best option here. I did find it hard to sleep on the first night - the shutters do let in quite a bit of light, and there was a lot of noise from aircraft, but I got used to it. Our room was spacious and comfortable - it was newly refurbished too, and was really lovely. The blue wave restaurant here was good - we had dinner one night and breakfast on our final day, both were very good. There is also a guest laundry on site, which I found very useful. I did find that the housekeepers woke me up every morning shouting "housekeeping". They were persistent too - if you asked them to come back later, they were back in 20 mins.They even did this on our final day, when we had a late departure of 1pm. One day we wanted a lie-in so put the do not disturb sign on the door and our room was not cleaned at all that day. Apart from this, the hotel was a real gem - and I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: I think I would have preferred to face the marina, as facing the carpark/beach I did find it quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week while attending sailing academy next door. Friendly welcome at reception. Room was clean and well-maintained throughout the week. Bath tub enclosure showed some signs of black mold. Room was inadequately soundproofed. Most noise transmitted through the door included doors slamming, voices, children running in the halls, etc. Our balcony faced the marina, so we were not bothered by the noise from air traffic at the Naval Air Station across the bay. On the last afternoon of our stay, we returned to the room about 3:30 p.m. and found the room had not been made up. Decided to skip having the room serviced in favor of a nap. Put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign and were awakened by a phone call from housekeeping asking if we wanted the room serviced. Unbelievable! Lots of restaurants nearby and a good view of downtown San Diego on the bay side.

Room Tip: Stay in the Casa del Mar Building with the marina view or the Marina Building, as these buildings ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,549 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,163 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#32 of 278 in San Diego
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing