We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank VenturaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,583 - 2,589 of 3,797 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel came as a breeze of fresh air after we spent a nightmarish night at a creepy hotel in La Jolla...(previous review)
The only negative point related to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina is the fact that we spent only 4 nights there... :) wish it was more!
The room that we got was located in the Casa del Mar building which underwent a major renovation and this can be clearly seen in the rooms and the grounds of the hotel.
Despite being located on the ground floor, the room was airy and had enough natural light. The suite itself has plenty of space and has a very nice decor and amenities (2 lcd tv's, kitchen area, dinning & sitting area and separate sleeping area with very nice bed)
Another plus is the fact that you have a small patio in front of the room with a sitting area... Nice! The back of the compound is facing the marina which looks marvelous and also there are located the swimming pool and heated jacuzzi.
The general location of the hotel is very nice on Shelter Island drive, a well kept and clean spot with a small park and beach area facing NAS Coronado.
Being without a car, we used bus 28 to get into downtown San Diego, its stop being located about 1mile walking distance from the hotel which makes for a nice walk. Also, in the area of Scott st/Rosecrans st you can find some nice dinning options like Miguel's or Hector mexican food, the Wine pub or the Point Loma seafoods.
The staff was extremely helpful and efficient. Great!
Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed here two years ago and were happy to return.

Arriving early every attempt was made to have our room ready.

As requested we were on the marina side which we find quieter.
The weather was cooler than our last visit but the heating system worked well.
The bed is so comfortable and the pillows perfect.

The staff is very friendly,the room was great,the food in the restraunt fabulous.
Room service was quick and reasonable.

The location is fantastic with near by great food and close to down town.

We also ventured to the zoo and Mission beach this time,lots of fun.

Thanks for another greAt stay island palms,the repeat discount was good too.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank austin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is on the Shelter Island part of San Diego. It's an upscale Best Western. There are three buildings. Go for the Casa Marina building, which was built in 2009. It offers large, comfortable rooms with a very nice view of the marina right outside your balcony. Try to get the second floor for best view. Parking is right behind the building. There is an elevator. The furnishings were good, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The room is about 300+ square feet, and the prices are very reasonable. Nice to sit on the balcony with coffee in the morning. There is a park on the other side of the building, across the street, which is not crowded. It's a nice place to walk or run.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina have a nice view, especially on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I picked this hotel because the trip advisor reviews were so favorable and boy, were they correct! Quiet location, beautiful views, great breakfast, excellent staff... from the front desk down to the pool caretakers and maintenance staff. Great bikes to borrow to cruise around. Clean rooms.warm pools...what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for Valentine's Day and our room was very nice. Though the walls are paper thin, we were able to drown out the other rooms by having our AC on. The room was furnished very nicely and the bathroom was really nice!! Lots of counter space both in the room and bathroom which is always a plus! Bed was harder than I like but it was still comfortable. We were in the main hotel, not the other buildings on the premises. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a bad experience at another hotel, I was treated much better at the Best Western Island Palms hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. They helped me find a discount to keep the cost of the stay within my budget. Even though it was a standard room, the area was spacious and inviting. The food at the restaurant was excellent and affordable. All staff had smiles on their faces. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 278 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,317 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing