We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When we arrived they refused to credt us our Bestern Western Loyalty Card Points. They kept telling us that they needed to give us an upgrade. There were no rooms to upgrade us to, but didn't "think outside the box". They couldn't comp our room one drink or a few $$ off at breakfast? We made sure that we didn't spend another dime there. Our room was just "okay" even though we paid a lot for it, but the worst part was finding women's dirty panties behind a chair in plain sight!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatelover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and we’re sorry for the miscommunication concerning the Best Western Rewards points. Our staff should have explained that third party reservations (Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, etc.) do not qualify to receive Best Western Rewards points and benefits. We’ll be more careful and explain things a little better next time.

We’ve also shared your housekeeping feedback with our team and we will surely be more careful with our cleaning in the future.

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    1,000
    224
    61
    30
See reviews for
1,163
1,287
90
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Island Palms Hotel located on Shelter Island, was an in an ideal location for us, away from the hum drum of San Diego.
We were met by bright and cheery reception, to be directed to our room which at first appeared to be a long way from the reception, restaurant and pool.
However, though it was a fair trek back to get something to eat, the room was nice. It was large, clean and quiet at the back of the hotel and had a wonderful view overlooking the marina.
We went sailing with Sail San Diego who are based in the marina behind the hotel, and had a great half day on the water.
Each evening we ate at the hotels own restaurant, and though the food wasn't Michelin star standard, it was perfectly adequate.
All in all we enjoyed the Island Palms and would recommend it whole heartedly to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We’re really happy to hear that everything went well during your stay and that you enjoyed all the great activities here at the hotel. The Sail San Diego cruise is definitely a great way to get out and see all the great marine activity on the bay.

We enjoyed having you and hope that you’ll choose Island Palms the next time you’re in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a great stay here - the room and the grounds were very nice - very tropical. Half-price appetizers in the bar are a deal for dinner! We spent under $20 on dinner for three.
My son had a fun time fishing off the near-by pier.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We hope you come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a suite at the hotel which was perfect for our visit. We go to San Diego often and have stayed at the hotel before and have always enjoyed our visit. The view of the bay was wonderful, the location perfect and lunch at the hotel restaurant was great. The suite was comfortable and allowed us to visit with family and friends. The front desk staff was excellent at check in but service at check out was almost rude. I'm sure the lady was just having a bad day and we will not let that one experience prevent future visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate that you continue to choose us as your place to stay in San Diego and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have been going to this hotel for a number of years. It has great rooms, good staff, a beautiful view, great location on the bay, close to most attractions and FREE parking. We keep coming back two to three times a year. I always bring my road bike and enjoy local scenery and bike routes.

Room Tip: We frequently stay in the Del Mar, however, we have enjoyed all our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We're so happy that you continue to stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have told all our friends to check this establishment out if they plan to stay in the SD area!
Service in all aspects was great, everyone on the staff was friendly and polite! Our room was very clean and smelled good, not like some cleaning supplies used. Really liked the non-smoking hotel. And, the bed was very comfortable! Our view of the marina was outstanding and relaxing. We hope to return again in the coming year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We sincerely appreciate that you chose to stay with us on your anniversary. Our staff really enjoys making these occasions a special experience and I'm glad that your room met your needs. Please let us know if we can ever be of service and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierceland Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We honeymooned here for a week in October 2012 and will definitely be back. We stayed in the Del Mar building with a marina view and it was perfect. Quite, beautiful view, and very convenient. The room was very up to date with a large plasma, very large washroom and super comfy bed. We were on the upper floor and took full use of the balcony. The hotel employees were very helpful when we needed them, and the property is extremely well maintained as well. We are already planning our next trip to SD and this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karbar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We're so happy that you chose to stay with us on your honeymoon! The view over the marina is so amazing and, judging by the great pictures, very tranquil. We will definitely look forward to having you back and please contact us directly so we can reserve the same room for you!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing